Otter Products OtterBox for iPod nano | iLounge

Reviews

1

Once again, I feel forced to mention something no reviewer ever does (and really, probably couldn't as they don't have four months to spend in a pool before reviewing the product!): The jack on all Otterbox cases will NOT hold up under regular use in a pool. I paid a fortune for my Otterbox for my mini, and within 4 months the jack was corroded by exposure to the pool water and stopped working.

H2O Audio's waterproof case has a protected jack. Much smarter design than having the exposed metal the way Otterbox does.

Posted by stark23x on December 30, 2005 at 7:30 AM (PDT)

2

The decision to have the otterbox hang right side up instead of the user-centric upside down as intended by Apple is dumb and will keep me from buying this.

Posted by Dinosaurius on December 31, 2005 at 7:13 PM (PDT)

3

I can't wait till my video case is shiped! I loved the review guys!

Posted by Lordsbassman in Corn Fields of Illinois on January 8, 2006 at 1:48 AM (PDT)

4

My main use for my Nano is skiing (actually telemarking), and this is THE case for skiing. It protects the Nano against impact for those of us who take falls from time to time and keeps the Nano dry. My third generation 15GB iPod lived in my pocket while skiing and always got covered in condensation (I tend to sweat a bit), making the unit even colder than it should have been and further draining the battery life more quickly than should have been the case (no pun intended). The OtterBox keeps it dry, keeping it warmer, and protects against impact. It does all it needs to do and more. $40 to protect a $250 investment is money well spent.

Posted by mhaas on January 12, 2006 at 4:16 PM (PDT)

5

I've had one of these for a couple weeks. Most people who buy a nano do so because it's small. This case brings the overall size of your nano to about the size of a regular ipod. It's also heavy and hard, so if you use this for a workout it bangs against your chest and doesn't feel that good. What Dinosaurius said about it being configured "upside-down" is true. I hung it backwards with the back facing forward and this way when I picked it up I could have the nano facing right side up. I replaced it with a Marware Extreme Sport case which comes with a more comfortable lanyard AND a carabiner, and it looks like a nano again, but unfortunately leaves the window exposed. I'll save this for summers at the river, skiing, and running on rain days (and I'll let you know if the exposed jack gets corroded).

Posted by mpawong1968 on January 13, 2006 at 10:54 AM (PDT)

6

@ stark23x:

If you claim to have "paid a fortune" for your $30 otterbox, I don't think you'll like h2o's $150 price tag!

Posted by topper24hours on February 10, 2006 at 12:36 AM (PDT)

7

I just started using this case. I agree that it adds bulk and weight to the Nano. It's a little heavy to wear around my neck. But it can't be beat for total Nano protection. Nothing can get inside the case- not dust, sand, water, etc. That being said, you still have to take the Nano in and out of the case to charge it and sync with iTunes. So it is possible to scratch it as you are taking it in and out of the case. I wish there were a way to synch and charge while in the case. It is also not very easy to take in and out of this case, as the case doesn't open very wide, and it's hard to get some leverage on the Nano without marring it. Finally, be sure to seat the Nano well in the case. At first I didn't have it completely connected to the headphone jack. And be sure to press down hard on the external headphone jack for a good connection with your headphones. So all in all, great case, but bulky and cumbersome to remove the Nano in and out of it.

Posted by Thorndike on February 28, 2006 at 8:03 PM (PDT)

8

I bought an OtterBox to use for lap swimming and I LOVE it. The only thing I would add that hasn't been mentioned is that sometimes as I'm going underwater the water splashes just right and turns the volume all the way down. Not a deal breaker, but kind of annoying.

Posted by KarenElissa on August 1, 2006 at 10:08 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.