Apple Computer iPod Radio Remote | iLounge

Reviews

21

Jeremy
Can you answer my question as to whether this device was designed to play in old fashioned MONO rather than stereo??
Mine sure seems NOT to play in stereo which makes listening to music stations worthless!!
Let me know - maybe my unit is defective.

Jeff

Posted by jeffrose on January 17, 2006 at 3:33 AM (PDT)

22

So even if you don't use the Radio function there is quite a big hit to Battery life? Do you know if Apple has any tips to reduce the hit to battery life? I can't imagine that a remote should use so much power if it's only functioning as a remote?

Posted by sxcc on January 17, 2006 at 8:53 AM (PDT)

23

If anyone has the remote, and the Apple Universal Dock, can you let us know if the radio will work while plugged into Apple's dock.

Posted by Gordy. in Atlanta, GA on January 18, 2006 at 8:47 AM (PDT)

24

Does anyone know how the signal strength compares to the Kensington car charger/transmitter? I used to have one until someone decided that they wanted on badly enough to break my car window to get one. The unit sounded great though, especially after using (or rather trying to use) the iTrip from Griffin...

Thanks!

Posted by justonepost on January 18, 2006 at 1:42 PM (PDT)

25

Gordy: Just checked and nope, the radio nor remote functions do not pass thru the Universal dock. But I did plug it into a 4G iPod photo and the remote does function with it - just no radio features.

Posted by Leo the 3rd in Georgia on January 18, 2006 at 4:55 PM (PDT)

26

I can confirm that for me too RDS does not display anything in the UK if you have it set to Europe mode, but it does if it's on US mode. Luckily most of the stations I listen to are on odd frequencies !

Posted by jdta09 on January 19, 2006 at 4:41 AM (PDT)

27

jeffrose,

The radio is stereo and includes auto-blend. This is a feature that blends the channels to mono as received signal strength decreases to reduce noise. In my opinion, the threshold is set too high (it takes a strong signal to hear stereo).

Dana, K4LK

Posted by k4lk on January 19, 2006 at 8:59 AM (PDT)

28

You can go and buy a $6 pair of mini ear bud headphones that have an FM reciever attached. I have a pair, they work great and are super small.
http://www.buy.com/retail/Product.asp?sku=90118923&SearchEngine=GoogleD&Type=GoogleD&Keyword=90118923&Category=Electronics&dcaid=17260

Why would I want to carry my iPod and this device? seems like a lot more to carry around. Not sure why the iPod is even necessary????

Posted by eR1c on January 19, 2006 at 2:13 PM (PDT)

29

oh, and this doesn't even have AM!!! seems ridiuclous to pay $50 for an FM radio!!

Posted by eR1c on January 19, 2006 at 2:15 PM (PDT)

30

K4LK

Thanks for the response. I wonder if you are correct? I can't get any info from Apple- the people at their help lines are clueless!
I have yet to pull in a STEREO station in NYC where the signals are all quite strong??!!

Posted by jeffrose on January 20, 2006 at 3:08 AM (PDT)

31

"Why would I want to carry my iPod and this device? seems like a lot more to carry around. Not sure why the iPod is even necessary????"

Let's see. Maybe some people like to alternate between listening to the radio and to their own personal music collection. See how simple that is, Einstein.

Posted by The Raven in USA on January 20, 2006 at 3:57 AM (PDT)

32

Jeremy,

Can you plug in headphones into the headphone port while the radio remote is plugged in?

I don't use apple earbuds, and while I appreciate Apple throwing in a shorter-cord version (though I am sure I pay for it in one way or another) I want to use my own heaphones; therefore I think I would want to blug them into the top so there isn't a long dangling cord (my Shures already have a long cord).

Posted by lekun on January 20, 2006 at 7:14 PM (PDT)

33

Since the headphones plug into the remote, does this mean that the usual headphone jack is now freed up to use as a secondary jack when not listening to radio? This would mean I could save money by not having to buy a splitter.

Also, I would like to note that while the Griffin device is larger than the Apple radio remote, it does have the tuner controls and volume control built right into the remote unit. After all, isn't the whole point of a remote to save you having to take your iPod out of your pocket? Sure, the Apple version is smaller, but does less of what it should. Sometimes less is *not* more.

Slightly off topic: perhaps Griffin removed the mic/recording ability from their remote because they plan on releasing a full-blown high quality mic to capitalize on the new, enhanced recording capability of the iPod V.

(BTW, I wonder if I'm the first to note that "V" can stand for both Video and is also the Roman numeral for 5. If Apple was clever enough to have it work out that way, then they were rather modest about it. It would have made for a great marketing angle. "iPod V" sounds rather catchy, like "OS X". "iPod with video" is pretty cumbersome by comparison. I think it was perhaps a coincidence that the fifth major iPod revision was the one to have video capabilities.)

Posted by Automaton on January 21, 2006 at 2:31 AM (PDT)

34

Automaton, thanks for the comparison you provided between the Griffin iFM vs. the Apple remote. I have a black iPod w/video, and I'm still on the fence trying to decide between the two. Right now, I'm wavering on waiting to see what the next generation Griffin might be (or if Apple caves in and makes a black remote, which isn't likely).

I keep thinking if I could only be patient enough, a better version will be out in a few months. Of course, this kind of thinking is what still has me without a case for the damn thing, since I can't seem to find one that fits what I'm looking for...

Posted by Ava66 on January 22, 2006 at 4:01 PM (PDT)

35

Can anyone tell me of a retailer that has them in stock immediately?? All the Apple retail stores in the SF Bay Area are sold out, and I can't find any online vendor that has them.

Posted by Cygnus X-1 on January 24, 2006 at 12:20 AM (PDT)

36

Does anyone know if they would ever make a Radio Remote with FM AND AM?

Posted by badones on January 30, 2006 at 5:20 AM (PDT)

37

Just got mine...SWEET!

Posted by Gordy. in Atlanta, GA on February 13, 2006 at 3:35 PM (PDT)

38

Honestly....

This is the worst radio reciever I ever have used! If I would have been a developer on Apple and taking me time to evaluate the product it never would had entered the market...the radio reciever is so bad that its awkward.

I'm living in central stockholm of sweden so there is no "radio shadow" I can listen to a lot of radiostation without having any problems when using other radio recievers but when using Apples radio reciever I cant listen to any station without having a lot of noise/disturbance.

I would give the radio reciever a 0 of 10.
The remote part (exept the radio reciever) is quite good a 7 of 10

Posted by mima on March 8, 2006 at 3:56 AM (PDT)

39

do u have to plug in the earphones through the remote? or could u still plug them in at the top? (5G video ipod)

Posted by dizzurt689 on March 9, 2006 at 6:10 PM (PDT)

40

Nice review!!!!!!

Just have a question is it possible to connect apple remote to
Altec Lansing im7 speaker??

Please answer me!

Thanks

phil

Posted by philou on March 29, 2006 at 4:11 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.