Apple Computer iPod nano In-Ear Lanyard Headphones | iLounge

Reviews

1

The Apple In-ear headphones are really terrible, I'm not sure why the reviewers like them but I think they sound worse than the Earbuds that come with the iPod, and I'm not alone see the forums.

Just be warned possible buyers, many people absolutly hate the Apple In-ears!

Posted by PimpyMicPimp on January 16, 2006 at 2:45 PM (PDT)

2

I have to admit....apple makes somethings better than anyone else (ipod), but then seems to ignore the competition on others and makes something like this. Although I wouldn't recommend them for working out, the Sony MDR-EX81's
http://ilounge.com/index.php/reviews/comments/sony-mdr-ex81-earphones-ipod/
sound amazing, and if you get them from Amazon.com you won't even have to deal with the annoying extension cable that is shown in the ilounge review. 49$ vs. 33$ and free shipping? can't beat the price, sound or comfort.

Posted by jonesmac on January 16, 2006 at 5:23 PM (PDT)

3

i too had the problem with the apple in-ears "seal".
This is easily cured by using the replacement rubbers from the sony ex-81. The gasket is the same size, and fits the apple buds like a charm. You dont need to buy the sony buds...you can buy the replacement set of 3 for about $5.

Posted by neotrooper in tokyo on January 16, 2006 at 6:44 PM (PDT)

4

From what I here there are a lot of options for replacing the seals. Some people report that the Shure E2C foams work really well.

Posted by Countach on January 19, 2006 at 8:41 PM (PDT)

5

I used a friend's in-ear apple headphone and i gotta tell you, it's really hard it get it to fit
Most of the time it'll just fall off...
I bought a sony MDR-EX71 and never looked back (unless apple realease another in-ear)

Posted by hoho on January 20, 2006 at 3:20 AM (PDT)

6

I've been using the standard In-Ear Headphones for about a month now, and once I found which size to use (medium now, even though I thought small was right), they're much better than any other sub-$100 headphones I've used.

Posted by EricS2008 on January 22, 2006 at 9:32 AM (PDT)

7

Had the same experience with bad fit and tiny sound - but after I read the guide on the Apple website and learned to fit them correctly they sound like a charm, are easy enough to fit and never fall out. A major improvement compared to the buds that come with the nano.

Posted by M.A.D. on May 3, 2006 at 11:28 AM (PDT)

8

I guess the reviewer got a different pair than I did from Apple. Aside from issues of fit in the ear, the pair I bought from Apple is HORRIBLE - the sound is muddy, tinny, and no real bass whatsover. Infact the Apple standard earbuds and lanyard earbuds have superior sound - far superior.

Me thinks iLoung has been fooled.

Posted by umijin on July 21, 2006 at 7:54 AM (PDT)

9

Umijin: Read the comments (and, uh, review text) above. If you have problems with fit in your ear, they're not going to sound right, so read the Apple website guide on fit, and you'll either get better results, or know to return them to the store.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on July 21, 2006 at 8:31 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.