Speck See-Thru Sexy Hard Cases for 5G iPods | iLounge

Reviews

1

I bought this three pack from CompUSA and was initially impressed. My iPod was snug in the cases with NO movement once inside. My only gripe about these cases is the size of the holes for the ports. The hold switch is only accesible if I use my pinky to slide the hold switch. The headphone hole wouldn't fit my monster iCable. And to make matters worst the port for the dock connector wouldn't fit my Monser iCarPlay Wireless cable. Since those two cables are my main source of listening to my iPod, I took the cases back.

But if you don't use these and just use the stock Apple accessories, this case is awesome!

Posted by Twinsbb17 on January 24, 2006 at 5:25 AM (PDT)

2

Does iLounge have issues with Agent18 as a company?

Their case is far better than these cases, and is definatly one of the most popular cases out there.

Whats the problem?

Posted by szsiddiq on January 24, 2006 at 11:14 AM (PDT)

3

We have nothing against Agent 18, but we have (literally) hundreds of other cases here for testing, and haven't seen anything from them in a while.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on January 24, 2006 at 9:20 PM (PDT)

4

Actually, i never saw a review for the VideoShield which they released back in november. thers always lots of talk about it on the forums, but still no official iLounge review. The case came out when the manufacturer said it wud, at the end of november. On the other hand, Speck originally said their cases wud be released mid-November, and didnt get them out until late december/early january.
If you ask me, it doesnt make sense that you've missed Agent18's VideoShield

Posted by szsiddiq on January 27, 2006 at 10:05 PM (PDT)

5

Sounds like you work for Agent 18 or have some beef with Speck - who else would care about both company's release dates so much?

Anyway, we're always happy to look at whatever companies want to show us, but Agent 18 hasn't shown us anything. There are hundreds of iPod cases out there now, so we're not necessarily going to cover every one of them, or chase down every company that decides to make iPod cases. We just don't have the time.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on January 30, 2006 at 12:22 AM (PDT)

6

When you say things about headphone openings being only the right size for Apple earbuds and similarly sized connectors, is this referring to the new earbuds or old (bigger connector) earbuds?

My stock earbuds that came with the iPod are coniderably smaller than the In-Ear that I bought.

Posted by EricS2008 on January 30, 2006 at 7:22 AM (PDT)

7

no i dont work for Agent18, nor do i have beef with speck.
i just find it hard to believe you havent had time to notice the agent18 case when its the one of the most talked about cases on your very own forums. perhaps you dont pay too much attention to the threads, but im sure someone at ilounge does.

Posted by szsiddiq on January 30, 2006 at 8:13 AM (PDT)

8

szsiddiq,
don't you get it?
Agent18 HAS NOT sent iLounge ANYTHING to be reviewed... Now, if I were running this site, I would probably only review products that are sent to me instead of chasing down every product and paying for it myself!
So, if you would like to send iLounge the case you are talking about, I am sure Jeremy would consider reviewing it.
Thank you.

Posted by starperformer in Fort Worth, TX on January 30, 2006 at 8:32 AM (PDT)

9

I got this pack of cases... their pretty much exactly as ilounge has described them. They look good and i split them with my roommates so we each got a case for about 10 bucks. The headphone jack is pretty annoying with larger plug-ins but thats my only gripe. You get 3 cases and they do what they're supposed to... rock on. i have no regrets.

Posted by Travis Barrett on February 4, 2006 at 5:07 AM (PDT)

10

I got the 3 pack from CompUSA as well. I have a B.S.E skin on my 5G 30GB and the fit of this case was mighty tight. Big bummer is that the dock connector hole is not big enough to fit my Monster Car Charger. Headphone port barely fits the tape adapter and regular speaker cable I normally use. I will be returning these this weekend and getting an Agent18 Video Shield instead. I had an Agent 18 for my 4G 20GB Click Wheel and that worked fine for everything I needed.

Posted by peterphan in Belmar, NJ on April 14, 2006 at 9:41 AM (PDT)

11

warning do not buy this product the smallest amount of room left in between the plastic and the ipod wil collect small dirt particles and when the ipod moves inside the case it will scuff up the screen. i made the mistake of buying one of these and my ipod has a blurry screen now because of the scuffs.

Posted by drx5155 on July 27, 2006 at 12:47 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.