Vaja iVod video for 5G iPods | iLounge

Reviews

1

I have bought several of the Vaja cases. I bought one of each for the new iPods with video. My 60G works just fine. However, my 30G model scratched my iPod to the point that it looks like it has never had any protection. After having scratch problems on my Nano, I didn't take the protective coating off my Video iPods until I had cases. I reported this to Vaja, but they have failed to respond to my complaint. I won't be buying another case from Vaja until they can assure me that they've fixed the problem. That said, I have had no problems with my 60G model. It appears to me that they rushed them into market and the 30G is just too tight.

Posted by jas17 on January 27, 2006 at 5:49 PM (PDT)

2

I just got my ivod case, 30gb, and I really enjoy it. Some top protection would be nice, but for my purposes, keeping my iPod in my pocket almost 80% of the time, it works just fine. High price, but if you like the look I would say it's worth it.

Posted by PimpyMicPimp on January 27, 2006 at 11:28 PM (PDT)

3

I for one don't want to see the click-wheel protector standard - I want the click wheel exposed, because I find any kind of barrier to it to make it work worse, plus it makes it hideously ugly IMHO, and I'm not terribly concerned about getting scratches on the click wheel anyway. However, the price of the case is just too high. If I hit the lotto I'll get one. Otherwise probably not.

Also, I don't recommend their plastic belt clip. I have a leather Vaja case for my Palm, and the belt clip, which is the same, is basically a piece of junk. It stretches and eventually won't hold. If you're going to get it, budget for multiple extra clips as you'll need to replace it repeatedly. Moreover, eventually the nub on the back of the case ripped right through the leather, leaving a rather ugly hole and some plastic inside that I can't get out. Not impressive.

Moreover, now that I'm writing this, I have to say that the case has never really held my PDA well except when the case was brand new. Leather stretches, and so eventually my Palm would easily fall out the case was tipped over (which happened easily with the non-ratcheting belt clip!) I eventually resorted to putting double-sided sticky tape on the back of my PDA and then putting it in the case, and that way the case holds it securely. I would like to hear of whether or not the ivod case is any better in this regard - the top is open - will the iPod slip out? Seems like they should have incorporated a snap closure to ensure that it doesn't fall out, especially for the price.

I think I've talked myself out of another Vaja case, even if I had the money.

Posted by sjonke in Maryland, US on January 31, 2006 at 9:20 AM (PDT)

4

I have this case for my 60GB iPod video. I have had several vaja cases since owning my very first 15GB 3rd generation iPod.

This latest batch from vaja is outrageously expensive. It's the most amount I have ever paid for any ipod case and also the most amount I have ever paid for a vaja case.

Right out of the box, the screen protector had a smudge on it (the smudge was underneath the protective film it shipped with). In trying to gently wipe the smudge off I made it worse - as so many times happens with this type of exercise. While this is not a show stopper, I really notice it while watching videos and it bugs me to no end.

This is the tightest fitting vaja case I have ever used. I am accustomed to taking my ipod out of the case while driving. I use the belkin isqueeze cup holder which will only accomodate a 'naked' ipod. The case is so tight that I feel like I m risking damage to my ipod trying to take it out of the case.

I ordered the click wheel protector with this latest case and I like it. It seems to provide just the right amount of insulation between the click wheel and my fingers which gives me the right amount of accuracy (I'm forever scrolling past menu items with my ipod).

While the vaja is one of the nicest cases you can get for the ipod in both looks and craftmanship I have to be honest here and tell everyone that I ended up buying a Contour Designs iSee. There is something about the iPod video that makes me not want to cover up any part of it. I want to see all of this iPod when I'm using it - so with price, protection and appearance, I have been using the iSee. Which means my vaja will probably go up on eBay just so I can redeem some of the $80.00 I spent on it.

Posted by dferrell on January 31, 2006 at 10:46 AM (PDT)

5

After seeing what Apple just announced, I feel even happier about my Vaja purchase.

The Vaja offers much more flexibility and customization at a lower price.

Posted by TahoeJR on March 1, 2006 at 3:57 PM (PDT)

6

just received my 5g ivod. is sent the order on feb 1st. i have to say, i'm disappointed that it DID NOT come with a screen protector. its screen is entirely unprotected, while, of course, the click wheel is, as i paid the extra dollars for the click wheeel protector. the review indicates that ilounge's review product had a screen protector, but mine did not come with one. i am very disappointed with this, and though i love vaja cases, i don't think i will buy one from them again. they seem to be getting greedy, charging more while cutting costs at the expense of ipod protection. i hope ilounge makes an attempt to contact vaja and confirm if this is indeed a change in production, and what their rationale for this is. i am just as scared now about taking my ipod with me than i was when i was waiting for the ivod to finally arrive. there's no bigger let down than when you realize you just scratched the screen face. the ivod doesn't seem to see this as a concern any longer.

Posted by acostaa on March 18, 2006 at 8:23 PM (PDT)

7

We have contacted Vaja to determine what the story is with this, and will follow up here once we have a response.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on March 19, 2006 at 1:48 AM (PDT)

8

Regarding my complaint to Vaja about failing to include a screen protector on their 5g ivod is their email reply received today:
"Hi ____,
Our iVolution cases for iPod video do not have a screen protector.
Since, the screen on the iPod is the main feature on the device, the screen protector option has been removed from this model. As all plastics, the protector is bond to get minimal scratches that would interfere with iPod's screen itself.
At no time during the processing of the request was it specified the case had the screen protector as it did with previous versions of the iPod.
We can, however, as a one time exception we can offer you to have the screen protector added to your case at no cost. You would have to ship your case to our Miami office so that it can be sent to our production facilities in Buenos Aires, Argentina. This may take some time since the case has to be reassemble in order to have the screen protector.
We would use Fedex International Express to send the case back, directly to your address. The cost of return shipping would be at your own expense.

Kind regards,"

so to get this straight, as a favor to me, they're willing to add the screen protector if i mail my case to them, in which case i must pay for shipping both ways!
this is absolutely ridiculous, not only did they remove it from the design, they don't even include it as an option that you can pay extra for. my click wheel protector looks so stupid seeing that i have a fully exposed ipod screen. i will never buy another vaja case again!
i am still curious about whether the review model they sent ilounge had a screen protector or not. that would be very misleading...

anyway, there you go, if your stil waiting for yours to arrive, go ahead and tell your ipod's precious screen "vaja con dios".

Posted by acostaa on March 20, 2006 at 12:04 PM (PDT)

9

I vastly prefer Vaja's customization approach to the iVod. It means everyone gets what they want, and there's not a bunch of stuff sent out to everyone, half of which will simply be wasted when people don't want them. Personally, I wouldn't use a belt clip and don't want screen or click wheel protection.

But I'm just one person, and that's how I want it. You can have it however you want it, too.

I have had Vaja and competitor cases for PDA's in the past, and the quality on the Vaja's simply cannot be beat. It's a fairly steep price, and a desperately long wait, but when the quality is this good...

The pricing strategy they are using is a necessary one, I suspect. If demand for your products goes up, but you don't have the capacity to meet that demand, you raise the price to capture more profit over fewer units of product. Sadly, this is the way the market economy works.

Posted by zentient on March 21, 2006 at 6:05 AM (PDT)

10

I'm just glad I got mine before these 'tests'. That's a horrible thing to do and after hearing this I will certainly think twice about buying one of their products again.

Posted by PimpyMicPimp on March 21, 2006 at 9:07 PM (PDT)

11

update...
simultaneous to ilounge's publishing of the updated 5g ivod review today, i get an email from vaja.
"We have reviewed your situation with our Customer Service Manager.
Since it was decided to offer the screen protector again, this time as an option at vajacases, we can offer you to issue a replacement procedure.
This is how to proceed to get the replacement:"

it seems that ilounge did a lot to get this turned around. vaja now seems to be a least a little more supportive than in their original response.

thanks ilounge! way to support ipod consumers when it really counts.

Posted by acostaa on March 21, 2006 at 10:33 PM (PDT)

12

Final Update...
after waiting ten days for my replacement vaja case, i finally received it. it only took them seven days to make the case, and two to deliver it! and guess what?...this time it has a screen protector.

thanks ilounge.

Posted by acostaa on March 31, 2006 at 8:48 PM (PDT)

13

Interesting -- I just went to order a Vaja today and I saw the option for the wheel protector but still no option for the screen protector. Either I'm missing something or they haven't updated their site yet. I'll try again in a few days. I can't see spending upwards of $80 on something that doesn't offer complete protection!

Posted by cantw82getaway on April 2, 2006 at 12:44 PM (PDT)

14

I'm glad I read the review and comments here, as I thought that I was alone in my growing disatisfaction with Vaja. I have been a customer of theirs since about 2000, and In that time I have probably purchased a dozen different products....My recent experience with them is that prices have gone up, quality has gone way down, and the customer service is dreadful.

Prices...well they speak for themselves!
Quality...I've contacted them about the quality of fit on at least 3 seperate occasions.....I keep having the same problems that Dferrel refers to. The cases don't fir properly as they are far too tight, to the point where they scratch the ipod!!! Which is EXACTLY why one gets a case in the first place....to prevent scratches!

I've also had the same problem with the screen protector; namely it arrives pre-scratched. The plastic they use makes the ipod nano look scratch resistant....Finally customer service.....Given the high cost of these items (after all it's just a case & it's easy to spend $100+)I find Vaja one of the most ungracious company's I've dealt with. They use the shipping trick (customer to pay both ways) a lot...it's a good way to 'filter' all but the most resilient customers...along with 'genuine leather has natural imperfections...it's part of the uniqueness'....and 'the fit will loosen as the product gets used'....It didn't, the plastic screen broke!!

It's a real shame, as one of my favorite thaings used to be getting a hot new gadget & then finding a Vaja case for it....In future I'm going to look elsewhere for my cases.....Oh, and in case Vaja even bother to read about what their customers think anymore...My name is Jason Fraser (feel free to look up all the stuff I've bought from you....nice way to treat loyal customers!!)

Posted by JasFra on April 16, 2006 at 9:22 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.