Altec Lansing inMotion iM11 Mobile Speaker System for iPod | iLounge

Reviews

1

Not perfect (a little quiet) but fairly cheap speakers however you CAN dock a 60GB 4G iPod with an Agent18 case with no problems.

And as I have some Velcro on the back of my Agent18 case (to stick it in my iPod STM Cocoon case) I put two small Velcro dots onto the front of the iM11 and the ipod sticks in place nicely.

Posted by MadBob on February 2, 2006 at 1:17 PM (PDT)

2

Thanks for the review -- I have also beeing looking into this one as a docking speaker that will accomodate an iPod with a case that makes it wider than the standard width, like an evo3 or some such. I really like the looks of the Logitech mm50, but the docking setup is too narrow for an ipod with a case to fit.

Posted by mef613 on February 2, 2006 at 3:27 PM (PDT)

3

Sooooo..., for my mini: iM11, or iMmini? I can get an iMmini of ebay for cheap, and you gave it an A-, is there any reason to buy this one instead?

Posted by Special_K on February 2, 2006 at 4:44 PM (PDT)

4

One huge drawback with these speakers is they do not power on with the iPod so setting the alarm to play music is pointless as no sound comes out, surely it would not have been too hard to add an auto on function to the iM11?

Posted by MadBob on February 3, 2006 at 3:24 PM (PDT)

5

does this work with the iskin evo3?

Posted by boston_alba2000 on February 19, 2006 at 3:51 PM (PDT)

6

Another issue I have with these speakers, there is a constant popping sound while listening to audiobooks ripped to m4b in itunes directly from original cd.

This popping only happens when connected to the speakers (through either the dock or 3.5mm jack) and never when using headphones or FM transmitter in my car.

Posted by MadBob on September 14, 2006 at 1:51 PM (PDT)

7

I just got an im11 to use eg. in the kitchen where you want to listen your iPod but audiophile standard sound isn't really crucial. For that kind of thing they're ideal and the sound quality is perfectly acceptable, though of course it's not perfect, but hey what do you expect for £70? The pack ins are good, particularly the case. Definitely worth considering.

Posted by ukdave on November 13, 2006 at 4:26 AM (PDT)

8

do not, i repeat, do not buy this speaker. this is probably the worst speaker i have ever heard. i just purchased one yesterday and i'm exchanging it for an onStage tomorrow. you can hardly hear anything from three feet, and when you do have to turn up the volume more than 50%, there is cracking and popping all over the place, even when your iPod's EQ is set to "none". the speaker on my phone sounds better than this.

Posted by chriswebber4 on July 6, 2007 at 2:24 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.