Agent 18 Shield 4 Nano and VideoShield | iLounge

Reviews

1

Jeremy-
Would you reccomend this over the Contour Design Showcase video 30/60 (which you also reviewed; A-)?
I'm trying to decide between the two and I can't see that many differences.

Great review as always, keep it up.

Posted by cantlivewithout on March 29, 2006 at 3:22 PM (PDT)

2

I've owned one for my video ipod 30gb black since ive had the ipod.
it's the best thing, and two friends have bought the exact same one and feel the same way.
would recommend it over any case, in fierce competition with the iSkin.

Posted by Noah Gomberg on March 29, 2006 at 6:09 PM (PDT)

3

forgot to mention- i even rolled onto this with my desk chair, and this protected itself and the ipod without fault.
shows SOME scratches on its screen, but better than those scratches being on the ipod.
only cons are the need to pry it open with a coin (whatever, use what you want, but a coin is what it suggests) and the said scratches- but again, better than on the ipod.

Posted by Noah Gomberg on March 29, 2006 at 6:12 PM (PDT)

4

Jeremy, after doing much research i decided on getting this sleek case for my nano. My question to you is will the case prohibit use of the Belkin FM Transmitter for the nano...the best i can do is look at a bunch of internet pictures and try to figure out if it'll make a solid fit, i'm pretty neurotic mind you i have a Invisible Shield on my nano but would like more protection without hindering the useage of a FM transmitter

Posted by Spiderman001 on March 29, 2006 at 10:26 PM (PDT)

5

I am looking to buy one of these cases for my 2GB nano, but looking at all the online stores, I can only find the three-part version of the 'shield for nano' case. Does anyone know where I can purchase the newer, 2-part case from? I would really appreciate it.

Posted by Turino on May 13, 2006 at 3:12 PM (PDT)

6

it sux balls, didn't save my ipod from a half meter drop out of my pocket. Now my poor 5G pod is off at fixing as a i type this. Don't buy it

Posted by silvadragon on June 24, 2006 at 6:22 AM (PDT)

7

The agent 18 shield 4 nano is most likely the two piece version unless the reseller has very old stock. It is a very popular case

Posted by eoutlet on July 7, 2006 at 12:51 AM (PDT)

8

Bought one when I got my iPod, was recommended to me at the Apple store. I rather like it, every now and then just take out your iPod, give the case a little Windex or some sort of cleaner/a good wipedown, and you're good to go. I'd recommend it to anyone.

Posted by DaniellaBella in NJ on July 18, 2006 at 6:47 AM (PDT)

9

My son had one on his 4g iPod and if it can hack his destructive tendency then it should be more than alright for my 5g 30gb.

Its simple and cheap to buy (am I allowed to say amazon UK?).

I made the right choice and am really happy with it

Posted by Bigmouth on July 18, 2006 at 1:07 PM (PDT)

10

Well I bought one of these for my 30gig ipod about 4 months ago and its been great. It got its true test though the other day as I dropped my ipod from about 5 feet up. It landed hard on my wood floors in the house, and the case opened up as it hit. Well, the bottom side of the case stayed on the ipod and the top flew off. I picked my ipod up and noticed it was still in perfect shape, the case was left uncracked and no scratches that I could see. I simply popped the top back on, still fitting tight, and the ipod plays on.

Thumbs up.

Posted by underdog on August 12, 2006 at 11:24 AM (PDT)

11

To revise my previouse comment, the top portion of the case stayed tight to the ipod, the bottom piece fell off. This is important as the front portion of your ipod is the part you want protected more then anything.

Posted by underdog on August 12, 2006 at 11:32 AM (PDT)

12

Can a video ipod in the agent 18 case fit into the Kensington Entertainment 500 dock (once the universal-style adapter has been removed)?

Posted by Minor115 on August 13, 2006 at 8:10 PM (PDT)

13

I was leery at first, but my nano fits in my JBL On Stage with this wonderful case on it!

Posted by Galley in Greenville, SC on August 20, 2006 at 1:45 PM (PDT)

14

Normally, Agent 18 cases please me. The one I bought at Target recently, however, is WAY too tight. It distorts the iPod screen and leaves "wet marks" all over the iPod.

I'm awaiting Agent 18's response to my customer service question. I hope it's just a defective unit, and not a reflection of a change in manufacturing.

Posted by Wilder_K_Wight on October 3, 2006 at 1:43 PM (PDT)

15

Agent Shield is OK for the new nano pink?

Thanks

Posted by Camille Mirabel-Chambaud on October 31, 2006 at 6:30 PM (PDT)

16

I purchased this case for my g4 iPod two years ago and my iPod is still in pristine condition! In fact the only scratch on it was caused by the Vaja case I stupidly bought after seeing it so highly recommended. No, the Agent18 case doesn't enhance the looks of the iPod...it's much sexier without the case. But it doesn't get in the way and it protects beautifully. I am ordering one for my brand new g5 iPod Video!

Posted by Aristillus in Maryland on November 7, 2006 at 10:22 PM (PDT)

17

Just thought I'd post a few comments about the Agent18 case now that I have one. I love it!!! The case fits my 80GB Video iPod perfectly. The fit and finish are outstanding with careful attention to detail but the real deal breaker for me is the little snap-on view stand it came with as part of an extra "accessories pack." This is a real stroke of genius which allows me to view a video with the iPod sitting on my desk, leaving my hands free. The view angle is adjustable and the stand folds up neatly against the case so I can slip it into my bag with very little added bulk. Even with the stand the attention to detail is clearly a step above the crowd as Agent18 has built in two tiny rubber grip strips to help prevent sliding, keeping the iPod stable and less likely to slide off my desk. The accessories pack also includes a very nice looking one piece metal belt clip which I have no use for but it clips onto the case in the same way the viewing stand does. My opinion is that this case is well deserving of an "A" rating.

Posted by Aristillus in Maryland on November 14, 2006 at 9:46 AM (PDT)

18

Just got the Agent 18 Kit for my 80gb Ipod. I bought it as it is supposed to be compatable with the Docking Accessories and I wanted to use it with my SoundDock. While Bose does not use the "Apple Universal Dock Standard", I found that the Agent 18 adapter fits in the slot over the Universal Connector on the SoundDock and I can then just put the Ipod into it. It's not perfect but at least I don't have to take the case off every time!

I did notice that this case scratches easily, but overall the fit and finish are excellent and it serves my need of being able to Dock the Ipod into the SoundDock without removing the Ipod from the case.

Posted by upsidedn on December 28, 2006 at 12:44 PM (PDT)

19

"I found that the Agent 18 adapter fits in the slot over the Universal Connector on the SoundDock and I can then just put the Ipod into it."
Man, I'm having a hard time following this. Somehow, the Agent18 universal adapter allows you to connect your iPod to your dock while still in the case? Would it work with a 5G 60gb and the InMotion im3c dock?

Posted by hihosilver2007 on January 4, 2007 at 4:29 PM (PDT)

20

buy it it is a great ipod case the only downside is it doesn't fit in my sonic impact's i-f2's dock i have to take the cover off for it to fit but besides that the case fits perfect and works great definitely a case for someone who wants to carry their ipod in their pocket. because their is no belt clip (the belt clip is a option) it will slid in your pocket perfectly! great case overall buy it and you won't be dissapointed.

Posted by Im420 on February 13, 2007 at 2:59 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.