Core Cases Aluminum Case for 5G iPod | iLounge

Reviews

1

So, is this case too tight to safely and easily put on and take off on a daily basis? (I have the Logitech mm50s and can't find a case that fits them).

Posted by ipodnooob on February 14, 2006 at 8:57 PM (PDT)

2

How bad is the headphone opening size?
Does it only take the iPod pack-ins?
Or is it ok for most anything, just not any honking huge jack?

This is the only thing staying my hand.

Posted by iBode on February 14, 2006 at 11:50 PM (PDT)

3

This case scatches the front of the ipod when you slide the case on and off. I have emailed core cases twice now abut returning the case and they have yet to respond. I would not recommend this case.

Posted by adiosjefe on February 15, 2006 at 7:02 AM (PDT)

4

Does this fit into the universal dock (without the dock adapters), if I use it on my 30GB video iPOD and don't take the case off?

Posted by johnboob on February 15, 2006 at 10:45 PM (PDT)

5

iBode: I have used three different brands of headphones w/ this case and all have fit through the opening (which I just measured as 5/16 of an inch in diameter).

adiojefe: The case produced minor impressions on my invisible shield when I tried to remove it, too. I e-mailed Corey about it and he offered to replace the shield. I e-mailed him back saying that the damage was minimal and that replacement was unnecessary; however, he has been having trouble with his server and wasn't able to respond to my second e-mail (telling him NOT to send a replacement) until yesterday. Has he replied yet?

Posted by luciole on February 18, 2006 at 1:22 AM (PDT)

6

I've been looking for a low profile metal case that fits the 30GB model correctly and also fits the large connector on the docking cable of my Honda iPod MusicLink (my Rating: C-). If you own this 30GB case, could you please list the outside dimensions and the dimensions of the docking port cutout? Thank you!

Posted by Darrenq on February 19, 2006 at 9:12 AM (PDT)

7

Please tell me what case is best to protect the LCD on the 30GB. I'm more interested in durability so the LCD won't crack than the scratching issue. Thanks

Posted by Dianne on February 21, 2006 at 1:34 PM (PDT)

8

I just received this black CoreCase for the 5G iPod. I'm very happy that it fits the 30GB model perfectly like the review said, and is not just shipped with an extra piece of padding. I appreciate that it has a very low profile so it doesn't add much weight or bulk to the sleek iPod. Best of all, the thick docking cable connector on the Honda iPod Musiclink fits without a problem. The matte black finish matches my Razr, so I'm a happy camper.

Overall, the build quality is quite good for such a slim case. It fits together well, covers the important surfaces and everything lines up correctly. I prefer to have open access to the click wheel, docking, headphone and hold ports, so that's ideal for me, too.

The screen protector on mine looks fine, no obvious scratches or distortion. The price was right at $25 plus shipping, too. The only disadvantage I've found is that the protrusion for the belt clip doesn't allow it to be flat on a table. Not a big deal to me, since I mostly use it in the car, but it may be to someone else. It may not be perfect for everyone, but so far it works great for me. Thanks for tipping me off to this product, iLounge!

Posted by Darrenq on February 24, 2006 at 1:50 PM (PDT)

9

This case is very good. I was looking for a case to meet the following prioritized requirements: very sturdy, small size, good looking, and access to dock connector. Overall, this case meets exactly all of these needs and for only $20 is a deal. I would buy it for more money. I will definitely buy another when i purchase my second nano.
Grade: A

pros/cons:
Pros: small size - it doesnt add much size to the nano, sturdy - i feel comfortable putting the nano in my pocket

cons: no plug to put in the dock connector when not being charged, if you are going to put it in your back pocket you might want one that uses thicker metal

Posted by functionality on February 25, 2006 at 8:04 PM (PDT)

10

does this case really scratch up the ipod when you take the case off?

Posted by Parker Biehn on March 13, 2006 at 7:59 PM (PDT)

11

These cases really are ones to avoid.

Thin metal that is easily bent, look cheap, they scratched my iPod when I put it in.
The attachement for the neck strap (a pointless thing on a case anyway!) provides a perfect fulcrum to bed you iPod on if you accidently squashed it (eg. bottom of a bag with something heavy above it).

Look cheap

In fact, I'd say this case PROMOTED damage to the iPod rather than protected it!

Was swiftly returned to the shop.

Posted by squelch41 on March 29, 2006 at 4:10 AM (PDT)

12

Does anyone know if this case, in the 5G 60 GB model, is compatible with Griffin Airclick?

Posted by hucknbid on March 30, 2006 at 5:19 PM (PDT)

13

To answer my own question, the airclick connects to the ipod and works fine until the ipod is moved very much, so for sitting on a desk connected to speakers the airclick is compatible, but for portable listening in a pocket, the airclick will disconnect. Another small downside to this case is that the screen protector deos leave small indentations in my invisblesheild. This may be due stricly to the fact that the invisibleshild makes the ipod slighly thicker and would not be a problem for an unmodified ipod. Overall a good metal case with a thin profile and excellent customer service from core cases.

Posted by hucknbid on April 25, 2006 at 11:59 PM (PDT)

14

I got one of these cases right before Thanksgiving and I love it. I've always wanted Apple to make the video iPods in color and aluminum, like the mini's were. So until they do, this was the next best thing for me. People have stopped me thinking Apple did start making the video in color, so I don't think it looks cheap. Also, I'll admit I am careful when taking it in and out of the case, but my Ipod has not been scratched by it, and I take it out of the case almost everyday to put it in my speaker system. I've used several headphone with it and all have fit, and it fits my monster cable for the car. Overall, I think it's a great aluminum case.

Posted by cdmac on February 10, 2007 at 11:10 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.