Belkin TuneBase FM for iPod and iPod nano | iLounge

Reviews

1

Question: Can you take the TuneBaseFM out of the car and use it briefly as a portable FM transmitter? i.e. can it pull power from the iPod if needed for this?

Cheers, got my eye on this so been waiting for this good review

Posted by garethw on February 14, 2006 at 3:49 PM (PDT)

2

Would the TuneBase FM nano work with the Agent 18 case (which has a detachable bottom piece)?

Posted by micvog on February 14, 2006 at 9:03 PM (PDT)

3

I have 3G ipod, can I see ehat channel am i broadcasting on?
how can i use the FM transmitor with my ipod?

Posted by asafr on February 15, 2006 at 4:58 AM (PDT)

4

Which cases did you test to see if they fit?

Posted by spreidel23 on February 15, 2006 at 5:25 PM (PDT)

5

You sure this thing is compatible with ipod video 60GB?

Posted by hdave85 on June 2, 2006 at 10:48 AM (PDT)

6

Heya....

Like some others, I made the mistake assuming that the nano version of the TuneBase will fit the new (2nd generation) nano. Well, it does not! Just thought, I'd let you know. I ordered it from Amazon just to find out, that the plug can not fit the nano's connector because it is placed a fraction out. As the socket is supposed to hold the ipod tightly, there's so no way of getting it in there. Hope the guys at Belkin soon come up with an updated version.

Posted by CMYK on October 18, 2006 at 10:02 AM (PDT)

7

CMYK:

Belkin does provide free adapters for the 2nd Nano at http://belkin.com/ipodadapter/.

Have fun!

Posted by ccindyderek on November 8, 2006 at 12:27 AM (PDT)

8

Thanks ccindyderek, that's a good hint grin Didn't see that on the Belkin site. Not sure how it will work due to the small measurements of the case, but I'll give it a shot....

Would you - or anyone else - happen to know, if the TuneBase FM for iPod really fits the 5.5 Gen ipod w/ 30 GB? Just to be on the safe side....

Cheers!

Posted by CMYK on November 15, 2006 at 10:25 AM (PDT)

9

The statement that the Belkin TuneBase FM for iPod cannot tune down to 87.9 FM is wrong. This is how it works: Press the buttons 1 & 4 simultanously, now you can switch from US to JAP setting. Once you changed to JAP the frequency range changes to much lower, I set it to 87.5 as this is the lowest frequency of my car stereo. I stored 87,5 under preset "1", the good this is you don 't have to change back to US settings, if you stored let 's say 106.9 earlier on let 's say "2", you can switch in between both settings without changing the regional setting. Or do I have an asian version of the Belkin TuneBase FM for iPod and others only have an US version where you can 't switch to JAP?

Posted by Autumnlounge on July 27, 2007 at 4:14 AM (PDT)

10

I finally broke down and spent 80 bucks on this, and to my dismay all it did was charge. The Transmitter screen never appeared, despite my attempts. I did everything the book said, and even changed vehicles and still nothing. Luckily, belkin and target have warranties. But nevertheless, a major inconvenience.

If not a faulty transmitter, does someone know how to fix?

Posted by lukeh327 on August 24, 2007 at 8:59 PM (PDT)

11

I bought the new iPod Classic (80GB) and whenever I plug the ipod in it won't let me change presets and I can't hear the volume as it only broadcasts on one channel. anyone know why? or is it belkin doesn't support it??? Thanks

Posted by hangtyte68 on September 13, 2007 at 11:05 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.