Capdase Crystal Clear Cases for iPod nano and 5G | iLounge

Reviews

1

Can't access the nano's dock connector? This is useless.

Posted by bonetoe on February 24, 2006 at 11:20 AM (PDT)

2

What do you mean by "you can easily pop the lock and lift the nano up inside the case to use the [dock connector] port?" Is the dock connector easily accessible or not? Can you show a picture of the bottom of the nano case?

This is a show stopper for those using a car FM transmitter/charger that uses the dock connector.

Posted by steve_eddy on February 24, 2006 at 3:21 PM (PDT)

3

So where can I get the 5G case? When you go to both the Capdase and Vinko sites they are not listed. Where did you guys find them?

Posted by bigarlo609 on February 24, 2006 at 4:07 PM (PDT)

4

This is pretty much what I'm looking for. Can someone answer the following questions please:

1) Which way is the belt clip oriented? What I'm looking for is, can I have it so when I clip on my belt the ipod is sideways instead of up and down?

2) I have headphones with an L-shape plug, will that fit, or is the hole still too small?

Thank you.

Posted by chiefnet on February 25, 2006 at 10:59 PM (PDT)

5

I haven't bought this yet, but to bigarlo609, if you go to the vinko site link taht is posted in this review, all you do is scroll down and there will be a bunch of products listed. As for the capdase site, I didn't see it there either. There are no pictures available at the vinko site however, but the listed price is $11.82 USD for both the 30GB and the 60GB models. This does not include S&H

Posted by Inferno323 on March 5, 2006 at 10:51 AM (PDT)

6

I was wondering from the people who have this case whether it is bulky or not. I've had my 30GB video ipod for two months now, and I've been looking for affordable and durable cases. Most were either twwo pricey, or didnt have the look I wanted. This is the best hard case I've found, but I'm also leaning toward the capdase silicon soft cases, which are appealing to the eye, but may not offer as good a protection as this case. Both are priced at about 11 USD (20 if you include S&H) and both have good reviews. I cant decide which one I want. Any comments or opinions on this case. There are a lot of good comments about the other case, but not many here other that the review. Thanks!

Posted by Inferno323 on March 5, 2006 at 11:22 AM (PDT)

7

Sorry for triple posting! One more question. The colored inserts have no effect on the color of the case right? The case is clear (black or white depending on the ipod) and you can choose the white/green or the black/purple inserts right? Cuz I've only seen the green used with the white ipod and the purple used with the black one. Thanks again!

Posted by Inferno323 on March 5, 2006 at 11:38 AM (PDT)

8

Can't remove the power cord (5G) while the iPod is in the case. It's east to get in, but not to unplug it. Otherwise great!

Posted by Doctor T. on March 27, 2006 at 7:49 PM (PDT)

9

Oops...I meant "easY".

Posted by Doctor T. on March 27, 2006 at 7:49 PM (PDT)

10

I got my case a week ago, and its pretty good. Since I use the Apple head phones, the small head phone hole isnt a problem, but like doctor t said, the power cord is hard to get out. The service is great if you buy from vinko! I got a lot of feedback when i emailed them about my order and the package did arrive a 5-6 days after the payments posted as promised.

Posted by Inferno323 on April 2, 2006 at 4:31 PM (PDT)

11

How iLounge can give this case an A- I don't know. I got one of these cases and found it to be the biggest load of rubbish... You can't access all the ports and buttons, the headphone jack hole is to small, HUGE external hinges that catch on everything and its just the UGLYEST thing I have ever seen. Truly people, If your going to buy a case, I'd buy the funny enough lesser rated B+ CoreCase. It makes me wonder how big the kickback was from Capdase for iLounge to sell there soul and make this (and I say this very loosely) review!

Posted by msc1974 on April 15, 2006 at 10:59 PM (PDT)

12

The rating is calculated automatically based on the summary of points received across all five categories. We have never - and I repeat never - received a dollar from Capdase, and I'd seriously wonder why you'd buy a case that's "just the UGLYEST thing" you have ever seen. Do you typically order things without even looking at them first?

The review provides enough detail on port (including the too-small headphone port) access that, assuming you read it before buying the case, you would have known its limitations beforehand.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on April 16, 2006 at 4:29 PM (PDT)

13

I received one of these cases last week and am wondering about the locking feature. I'm able to pull the case open with little effort while the lock is engaged, both while empty and with my 30GB iPod inside. Is this normal? If so, I won't even consider using the belt clip without a rubber band around the case to make sure the case doesn't open - hardly the protection I was expecting.

Posted by maximus2 on May 29, 2006 at 7:09 AM (PDT)

14

Received my Capdase case today expecting to love it. No such luck. Here are the problems:
1) Gotta have fingernails to work the clasp.
2) Click wheel membrane falls out every time case is opened.
... and the clincher ...
3) Standard iPod earbud RCA mini-jack doesn't fit through the whole in the case! (This is true on BOTH of the included color frames.)
Alas, my Capdase case is useless, and "Vinko's Treasure" has become my trash.

Posted by tuckerh on July 7, 2006 at 11:04 PM (PDT)

15

... And one more problem:
4) The section of clear plastic case that lies over the iPod's screen creates interference fringes. (These are light and dark wavy lines that distract one from viewing the screen content.)
UPDATE on problem #3 in previous message:
By removing the color frame, I can insert the earbud jack. But then the case does not close tightly. I GIVE UP! If shipping back to Hong Kong wouldn't cost $9, I'd ask for a refund.

Posted by tuckerh on July 8, 2006 at 12:03 AM (PDT)

16

I have a pair of KOSS headphones and a bunch of earphones (probably something that would fit). My faves are my gummi's that I got at wal-mart. Anyone know if either of these fit?

Posted by Swimgal711 on September 30, 2006 at 7:11 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.