Apple Computer iPod Hi-Fi Speaker System | iLounge

Reviews

1

I'm pretty disappointed with this...

I can't believe that there is no video out on this thing. No matter how good this thing sounds, it is going to bomb. It seems as if holding an event today was for the most part pointless... a mac mini (no dvr) that costs more, ipod case and speakers.

If Apple doesn't come up with something major next month (which I'm sure they will), their stock will plummit even further.

Posted by ALCH3MIST in florida on February 28, 2006 at 4:44 PM (PDT)

2

So basically they have created a modern version of the iPod Ghetto Blaster. I better start downloading my old school Fat Boys !!!! This is only disappointing because this did not need an event. They could have just added these to the Apple Store and left it at that. Now give me a bigger iPod with 120 gigs. An iTunes Movie Store. More vintage TV Shows and Blue tooth ear buds

Posted by Shorty Mack on February 28, 2006 at 6:44 PM (PDT)

3

Well first things first, you can get a pair of 2.1 speakers from your local futureshop for about $100 and a dock for about $50, so why would you waste $350 on something as stupid as a "hi-fi" speaker system done up by apple. The music comming out of those speakers is only as good as your encoding of mp3's. If you buy from the apple store, you get a song at 128kbs. So the only way to get the full "hi-fi" experience is by importing all your original cd's with lossless encoding. Steve Job's keynote was a waste of time, new mac mini (with no dvr like stated above), a $100 case and a $350 speaker system.

Posted by MitchMitch on February 28, 2006 at 10:58 PM (PDT)

4

i'm more disppointed that there are no pics from the back here. How difficult is that to do a full 5-sides shot?

Posted by digi9 on March 1, 2006 at 12:58 AM (PDT)

5

oops... i blame my adsl and windows firefox for the unfinished page loading job. Happens all the time. my mistake.

*twisting my own ear now*

Posted by digi9 on March 1, 2006 at 1:00 AM (PDT)

6

Whoop de do, it's just another speaker system, big deal. Overpriced too. The only thing this has over other speakers is firmware support built in and I'm sure it's only a matter of time before other manufacturers figure out how to access those features.

I like that boom box where the iPod is loaded into it like a casette tape a lot better.

Posted by phennphawcks on March 1, 2006 at 2:02 AM (PDT)

7

Anyone hear of the ZVOX?
Add the dock of your choice and you have sound .

Posted by Macburt on March 1, 2006 at 2:43 AM (PDT)

8

OK one thing... if they really wanna grab "audiophile" attention maybe they should start selling or offering somthing better than AAC format from the iTunes store... You can't even convert themto high quality in iTunes if you want because of "protection". But I guess it's a good thing to sell compresed audio and then offer a speaker system that brings out the flaws best.

Posted by JeremytheIndian on March 1, 2006 at 6:44 AM (PDT)

9

Like what Simon Cowe would say on American Idol, "...it's a 'safe' product, but we're not going to go 'WOW' here..."

Posted by howwow in Singapore on March 1, 2006 at 8:25 AM (PDT)

10

Where are you Jeremy? I have never been so shocked by the Apple community. I am not saying you have to like or approve of everything a company creates, your opinion is your opinion. Apple releases a perfect 3 step, out of box solution to the iPod stereo. The iPod is simple, it was designed to play music. The iPod Hi-Fi is simple: 1) Take Out of Box, 2) Plug into Wall Socket, 3) Plug in iPod and enjoy. I have been through a number of forums and just the sheer volume of negative angry comments is appalling. All these complaints because a product (any of the products Apple releases) does not do enough. Please. hold your angry biting comments until you have heard one, or have read a decent review. I cannot begin to tell you the number of comments left by people who already KNOW it sounds terrible and cannot be stereo and so on. Quit having a cow, take a vallum; its just a well designed speaker that accomplishes one simple task, a mantra at Apple, to play the music on your iPod really well. I cannot be the ONLY person who can appreciate this speaker, can I?

Posted by MikeTCool on March 1, 2006 at 8:44 AM (PDT)

11

Anyone find the ipod software update that was supposedly released yesterday? I only find the iPod Updater 2006-01-10 at the Apple site. Do you only get the speaker settings when you plug into the hi-fi or will it affect the sound of any speaker when playing through the dock interface? Same question about the black background album art setting...does it only activate when connected to the hi-fi? I know there are many ipod settings that only activate when a specific accessory is connected (like the voice recorder) and wondered if this would be the same issue. I watched the edited video from Inside Mac and was surprised that Jobs debuted the speaker system and didn't play it for the audience (unless that part was edited out of the video).

Posted by rgs2 on March 1, 2006 at 9:16 AM (PDT)

12

My wife and I had the same first question: Why do they have the carrying handles and then have the iPod standing upright on top? Not very
"portable" - the iPod should sit flush with one of the sides. The you could move it around without fear of the iPod falling off.

Posted by Blue Rondo a la Turk on March 1, 2006 at 10:47 AM (PDT)

13

Let's play a game called "who can spot the corporate shill?" I'll start:

"Where are you Jeremy? I have never been so shocked by the Apple community...All these complaints because a product (any of the products Apple releases) does not do enough. Please. hold your angry biting comments until you have heard one, or have read a decent review. I cannot begin to tell you the number of comments left by people who already KNOW it sounds terrible and cannot be stereo and so on. Quit having a cow, take a vallum; its just a well designed speaker that accomplishes one simple task, a mantra at Apple, to play the music on your iPod really well. I cannot be the ONLY person who can appreciate this speaker, can I?"

Posted by mr.facts on March 1, 2006 at 12:35 PM (PDT)

14

As someone who has used a Bose SoundDock, I see this as a good thing. I can take it to the beach and play it on my tailgate, etc. Quit your ######## about compression formats. Assuming it sounds as good as they say, this is a nice, simple product to compete with Bose for a room-filling sound.

I also went looking for the iPod updater, and found no reference to it on Apple's site, but I see from the review above it's only for 5G or Nano's, so I'm SOL on that.

Posted by yakk on March 1, 2006 at 12:41 PM (PDT)

15

Does the following quote from the article mean that there will be a new version of the iPod software, and that these features are available when the iPod is in any dock, or do you have to buy the 'Hi-Fi' to get these options? If it only works with the 'Hi-Fi', then I'm a bit bothered, as these are options that could be easily implemented for any docked or powered setup:

A new Speakers option, added to the iPod’s main menu with firmware...access “Large Album Art? through the iPod interface...Speakers menu’s Tone Control option...A speaker-specific Backlight option lets you keep the backlight on at all times.

Posted by Voyageir2 on March 1, 2006 at 12:55 PM (PDT)

16

I'll take that as a personal attack. If you are insinuating that I was paid to post on here, then you prove my point. You do not get any facts, you draw quick conclusions based on nothing and then you attack. How do you know what I do? How do you know what my age is? You don't. Same rule applies to those who are so upset over lousy sounding speakers that must be like Bose, that they already hate. Apple is being very wary of stepping into a realm outside of Macs. This speaker represents them well. All I am saying is don't judge a book by its cover. I cannot help but think, if this is the solid core of Apple fanatics, we need more switchers, fast.

Posted by MikeTCool on March 1, 2006 at 3:15 PM (PDT)

17

I think many people are missing the point here. The iPod HiFi is a great competitor to the Bose SoundDock, which is quite popular. Looking at the speaker lay-out on the iPod HiFi and the additional software options on the iPod, I wonder how much better it will sound compared to the SoundDock. One quick question to Jeremy though; How does the Line-In work? Does the Line-In only work, when there is no iPod in the dock? What about using the remote; can it control the volume of the Line-In feed? I think the iPod HiFi makes an excellent addition to my living room in combination with AirTunes. I was quite disappointed that there was no built-in AirTunes, that would have made this product perfect!

Posted by thijs on March 1, 2006 at 6:05 PM (PDT)

18

I used to know a guy with a 1978 Monte Carlo that had one of these things in the trunk.....
I can't believe Apple announced something that looks this ridiculous. I would be embarassed to have it anywhere in my home.

Posted by Topmounter on March 1, 2006 at 9:49 PM (PDT)

19

I LOVE how it looks ... it's pretty cool.

Some people like neon lights in their PCs, I don't.
Some people like alien inspired gadgets, I don't.

* The iM7 looks OK in pictures, but in-person, I think it is tacky.

Just MHO.

Posted by uc79stu on March 1, 2006 at 10:03 PM (PDT)

20

I agree with MikeTCool on this subject, so much so that I ususally dont even bother reading posts because of the rampant prejudgement on products, or features, or rumors, or whatever. The fact of the matter is most people will blast this until they actually get a taste of it. It happened with the iPod and it will happen with most apple products. If you want a product that does everything, go join the windows crowd. And please dont reply with "I dont want it to do everything, I just want it to do X". Stop before you post that and think what you would have to exchange for X. Price.. Performance.. Sometimes I just wish you people would think before you critisize. But then again, Im sure I will soon see you in the apple store bopping your head to this new product.

Posted by mOck on March 1, 2006 at 10:32 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 5 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.