Contour Design Showcase video 30/60 | iLounge

Reviews

21

Please note, I had the invisible shield on my ipod, and when I installed this case, the fit was so tight that it almost doesnt fit. It is so tight that there is a tiny little crack/opening all the way around the contour case. i am debating sending it back. Any thoughts?

Posted by kaj7979 on July 12, 2006 at 9:07 AM (PDT)

22

it is definitely a tight fit. Mine has a slight opening all the way around also. My main problem with this case is that the clear plastic is scratched all to hell. i know that the case is there to keep the scratches off the device, but this case has such a beautiful design that it is a shame that it looks so beat up so quickly. I'm thinking about switching to the sidewinder.

Posted by Don Livingston in Tulsa, OK on July 16, 2006 at 2:50 PM (PDT)

23

Seems to me that if the case gets too scratched, it would detract from the video watching experience.

How would placing a clear shield on top of the case over just the video screen work?

Posted by rjk55425 on August 18, 2006 at 8:11 PM (PDT)

24

Just owning a Showcase 4G for my 4th gen iPod was enough for me to order the Showcase for Video. The Showcase 4G did it's job so well I just had to get the Showcase video when I decided that I'll be getting a new video iPod. I work in a factory setting where it's easy to bang around your iPod easily scratching it. Needless to say my 4G case looked like it had been through a war zone. However my iPod was just as pristine inside as the day I bought it over half a year ago! Granted I know even the Showcase video will get scratched, I know my new investment will be protected to the hilt. If you work in a manufacturing setting, you owe it to yourself to get a Showcase!

Posted by Phoenixfury in Elkhart, IN on September 22, 2006 at 5:23 AM (PDT)

25

I was happy with mine at first, but these cases tend to get scratched pretty easily, making video-watching less of an enjoyable experience. Also, they don't fit very tightly, and particles of dust and lint get under the case easily.

I took it back. I really loved the look, but the practical features were limited by the weak plastic they used in the design.

Posted by Wilder_K_Wight on October 3, 2006 at 1:47 PM (PDT)

26

I recently bought this case after Christmas for my new video ipod. Mostly, I purchased it because of the reviews from this website. Nearly a month later and regular usage around school and home, it has done its job valiantly, taking some hits for the team in the process. It does show scratches easily, but better a $30 case than the beautiful ipod.
The case looks gorgeous on the black ipod and only minimally increases the size of it. Also, the rubber on the edges (which is great) does not make it hard to take the ipod out of your pants, so don't worry.

Posted by gsueagle715 on January 28, 2007 at 8:49 PM (PDT)

27

I bought this case for my 30GB last week, and there are a lot of things I like about it, a few I'd change, and some that I think are just unacceptable. I understand that no case does it all, there are compromises to be made in any choice. Still, the Contour Showcase had the most features that I liked, at the price I wanted to pay.

Fit is about perfect; the iPod nestles snugly inside with no movement at all. I like the latch mechanism, since you can easily pop the player out if necessary to use with different accessories or to clean it. Since the click wheel is unprotected (not a deal breaker for my needs) dirt and grit can eventually work its way in through that opening, making the ability to easily clean it periodically a nice feature.

I'd like to see the hold button opening chamfered some for easier access; as it is, the thickness of the case makes it hard to access that function, even though the opening is generously sized.

The clear plastic cover isn't quite optically clear, making viewing movies somewhat fuzzier than viewing them directly on the screen. There's also one spot where the cover touches the screen, creating an annoying "wet spot" too. Still, I find that since it's so easy to just open the case, that's not a huge issue either.

The whole point of the case is to absorb abuse so that the iPod doesn't, and I expect that the case will become scratched with use. However, I don't understand why the product needs to come with scratches "pre-installed by the manufacturer." Mine was scratched in multiple places, although luckily none were on the screen area.

Posted by Zrexxer on January 31, 2007 at 10:25 AM (PDT)

28

Thorough protection, and the case is comparatively light and attractive. One of the potential annoyances is the potential of your case potentially getting nicked and worn; I found the perfect traveling case - the canvas case (10900U) for the Palm Ultra-Thin Keyboard. It turns out to be less expensive than most cases (even if you toss the keyboard), and it's great for knockaround use to keep your case and iPod in top-notch shape. FIts to a tee, and pretty hot (if you don't mind the small "Palmone: insignia).

Posted by poikkeus on April 8, 2007 at 7:42 AM (PDT)

29

Can I use this case with the iJet Wireless Remote with Bottom Dock?

Posted by abercrombie1892 on June 30, 2007 at 8:00 PM (PDT)

30

Hi all,

Just bought this case for my 5G iPod 30g. The case will be delivered tomorrow, but I have a question that needs answering today! :0
Does anyone know if this case will be okay to use with the ABT iJet Wireless Remote with Bottom Dock? I'm in the UK but will buy the remote from the USA (far cheaper).
The sooner I know the answer, the sooner I can get my order in.
I'm keen to get a remote asap as I have to travel thru some of the seedier parts of London to get to work, and I certainly don't want to be flashing my nice, new, shiny iPod around!
TIA,
Cheers,
Anne

Posted by anukas on July 19, 2007 at 10:54 AM (PDT)

31

Looking at the ABT iJet review sample I doubt if it will fit on the iPod if it is in this case.

See the iLounge review of the ABT iJet

Posted by Bob Levens in UK on July 19, 2007 at 11:19 AM (PDT)

32

Thanks for reply, Bob. I think you're right.
Pity. Looks like I'll have to go for a wired remote :(
Grrr - more wires to get tangled!
Cheers,
Anne

Posted by anukas on July 20, 2007 at 5:53 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 2 pages  <  1 2

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.