Marware Sidewinder for iPod video and nano | iLounge

Reviews

1

But can you use them with Ultimate Ears style headphone jacks that go at a right angle?

Posted by Countach on April 2, 2006 at 6:49 PM (PDT)

2

Yes, you can use them with UE's and the Grados fit as well. I have this case and it is nice and has a nice feel to it. It does add bulk to the iPod but if you want your iPod protected when using in a backpack or handbag with other items that might damage the iPod then this case will work. It's also good when using on a desktop.

Posted by Audrey McGirt on April 3, 2006 at 11:01 AM (PDT)

3

How big is that headphone port opening? Doesn't look like the bigger jacks will fit (i.e. monster cables and the like).

Posted by morpheus.com on April 3, 2006 at 5:00 PM (PDT)

4

These are some of the bulkiest case I've ever had for my video iPod 30GB. I don't like them and do not recommend these cases to other people.

Posted by 3canada on April 4, 2006 at 4:52 PM (PDT)

5

I bought the nano version for my girlfriend's new iPod. While we were initially excited about the case, this turned to disappointed as soon as we installed it. The case adds substantial bulk and weight to the nano, partially defeating the purpose of having such a small and light unit. The screen opening is also slightly too small and, as a result, the edges of the screen protector introduce distortion. Finally, and probably most signficantly, the cord-wrapper slider is quite tight. My girlfriend had a lot of trouble opening it by herself.

Posted by DavidG on April 6, 2006 at 9:59 AM (PDT)

6

Can anyone tell me how to hook up the belt clip? Perhaps there is a defect with mine, but I just can't seem to get it hooked on. Help!

Posted by pcw on April 14, 2006 at 5:26 PM (PDT)

7

I've been trying to buy the white version of the Sidewinder but no luck. Does anyone know where I can find one?

Posted by tekhnogod on April 28, 2006 at 2:38 PM (PDT)

8

Hi. I bought this case and it seems great, although I don't have much experience with iPod gear yet. What I want to know, and what I can't find in any reviews out there, nor the scant instructions that come with the case, is: How the heck are you supposed to get the nano inside? I pried the case in two, put the nano inside and then pressed it back together. I assumed at first I was supposed to slide it in front the top, but this was impossible and, in fact, scratched the lower right corner because the fit was so tight. That's why I stopped and tried to get it inside another way. But, on the other hand, the case didn't pull apart easy, which makes me wonder how it's supposed to work... The case seems secure now, but I don't trust it on a belt if there's even a small chance it could pop apart. Do other people have this case? What do they think? Did they use it this way? Does it come apart easy?

Posted by kevind81 on May 25, 2006 at 5:13 PM (PDT)

9

Can you use the case with the larger plugs on the Sony MDR-V300s??

Posted by Caffiene Addict on June 1, 2006 at 8:43 PM (PDT)

10

In terms of aesthetics, this case looks great. However, like all hard cases, I'm doubtful that it would offer much protection from a fall onto a hard surface - the Number One iPod killer. I mean, who cares if an iPod is scratch-free if it doesn't even work? A rubber case offers much more shock absorbtion.

Posted by Automaton on June 2, 2006 at 8:08 PM (PDT)

11

In response to teknogod: you can purchase the white case at Marware's site (wasn't anymore expensive than elsewhere)

Functionality wise, this case deserves top prize for industrial design. The ingenious cord control & dock port protection frankly floor me. The workmanship is also top-notch.

I'm personally not wild about the case's aesthetics ( I bought it for practicality for times like travel) A different finish? color? material could improve it's look significantly. (The pics above are pretty good renditions- so decide for yourself.
Appearance- wise: I also have Contour Design's Showcase Video (while not as protective or practical, must say it's simply gorgeous)

HUH: was so TOTALLY baffled on how to attach the cable clip - I simply gave up - I rarely use the things anyway. But think Marware could've included some better directions.

One Caveat:
I have a 60gb iPod video. But if I had the 30g I'd be pretty displeased both with the additional bulkiness & what appears to be a nasty process for removing the filler & iPod. (Marware really needs to make seperate models)

HTH,
xandra

Posted by xandraC on July 12, 2006 at 9:08 AM (PDT)

12

I have had the case for a while now and there is just one problem. I hate apple's headphones. And there isn't really an acceptable replacement. Most all jacks are too large. I can squeeze a sony short cord in but they aren't the greatest quality.

Posted by tothetracks on August 31, 2006 at 11:30 PM (PDT)

13

In order to get the clip on, you have to press hard enough to straighten the curved part of the clip a bit.

Posted by SethTisue on October 31, 2006 at 11:21 AM (PDT)

14

contrary to other comments here, i have a black one for my 80gig and really like it. yes it adds extra bulk, and if you're a nano user i can see how you'd freak about it. but it feels solid, i love the kickstand in the back and even though there's no wheel protection i'm not usually that slobby with my gadgets. my ipod fits comfortably inside even with an acetate screen/wheel protector in place. i've had several people ask about it and my coworker got one for his 30 gig. i think this is a well designed case, well deserving of a good rating. the style's not for everyone, YMMV.

Posted by Toxic Boy on July 10, 2007 at 8:08 AM (PDT)

15

I agree with kevind's review about the SCANT instructions. I could not believe how there was virtually no direction as to how to open the case in order to get the iPod inside -- incredible lack of instruction. I had to get help as I was too frustrated to continue -- it took 30 minutes to get that thing together. Then because of principle I no longer trusted it and didn't want to apply the "permanent" clip because it seemed as though it could break so easily and then what? I wondered how durable the plastic really would be if it dropped. I packaged it back up to return and am now reading the reviews -- which are good, but then it's always interesting to read the actual user reviews. I don't know about iPod cases -- the best one I had was for the iPod Mini which was a white durable plastic "clip holder" that the iPod slipped into very snugly -- it was perfect for me at the carpeted gym. I have never seen one like this for the Nano. The verdict is still out as to whether I'll keep the Sidewinder; I'm not using my new red 4 mg Nano until I get a case -- so-o-o-

Posted by Starlet on September 3, 2007 at 8:58 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.