DLO HomeDock Deluxe Home Entertainment Dock for iPod with On-Screen Navigation | iLounge

Reviews

1

Look at that square on the left-hand side that says "HomeDock Deluxe". That area is just screaming to have the album art displayed there!

This thing looks promising, but until Apple changes the firmware to allow direct control of the video menus, I'll pass. But man, this is sooo close to being totally cool.

Posted by Stymyx on April 11, 2006 at 1:11 PM (PDT)

2

This thing looks great! I'd buy one right now if it weren't for the lame restrictions Apple has on the video and photo controls! What gives? I love my 5G iPod and would love this product too, but make it fully functional - please!

Good job DLO!

Posted by mikkimann on April 11, 2006 at 2:33 PM (PDT)

3

It will be interesting to see a comparison between this and the similar Griffin product. I'm not sure I understand the supposed firmware issue with video navigation. How can that possible be? The HDD could do the video while choosing a video, then switch to showing the video output from the iPod when starting playback. Why couldn't this be done and what does it have to do with firmware?

Posted by sjonke in Maryland, US on April 12, 2006 at 6:20 AM (PDT)

4

If I understand it correctly, the current iPod firmware only allows parsing the music menus to outside sources through the dock connector. It does not do the same with the video menus (think about it, only since the 5G has the iPod even had a video menu). I believe thats the reason why the music menus can be displayed on your TV screen, but not the video menus.

Still, to DLO's credit, their HomeDock remote WILL let you control the iPod's video menus from their remote. You just can't see the video menus on the TV.

Like Jeremy said, it's an Apple firmware limitation. Kinda makes you wonder what's making Apple hold it back....

Posted by Stymyx on April 12, 2006 at 8:17 AM (PDT)

5

What happens when you cut power to the dock while it's playing music? Does it pause the music like some of the in-car adapaters?

Posted by hd54321 on April 12, 2006 at 3:23 PM (PDT)

6

i'd love to get it, but why did they not make it in PURE WHITE for white video iPod owners!!!!!!

Posted by 3canada on April 13, 2006 at 11:04 AM (PDT)

7

I too will be waiting to see how Griffin's TuneCenter stacks up before buying. One question for Jeremy or anyone else who's had a chance to play with the HomeDock: will I be able to dock my iPod while it's inside a Contour Showcase? Thanks.

Posted by Rock-Ola 443 on April 13, 2006 at 10:21 PM (PDT)

8

I recieved mine last night and used it all night with some friend's hanging out. It does work great. 2 problems with it that I have come across and they are more like annoyances than problems.

1) Unless you have a direct line of sight the remote will not work. You can go pretty far away from the dock and still recieve commands from the remote as long as there is a clean line of sight.

2) Scrolling is kind of slow. I have a ton of artists on my iPod and to get to R's and V's it does take awhile. If you do hold down the down arrow while scrolling, it will eventually speed up but it goes as such a fast pace once it does speed up that you miss what you were searching for.

Even with those annoyances it is a great product and looks great. I enjoyed using it all last night to skip songs and playlists as I sat on the couch while playing cards so I didn't have to get up and go to the pod. I do recommend it.

Posted by smp351 on April 14, 2006 at 10:08 AM (PDT)

9

Hey smp351...I just received mine today and noticed that, after waking the unit from the screen saver mode, the Artists and Albums listings are blank. Have you (or anyone else) noticed that?

Posted by rss1999 on April 17, 2006 at 6:20 PM (PDT)

10

I got mine a couple days ago. here are my issues and I haven't called yet to find out if it is upgradable via computer.

1. I use the univeral remote Harmony 880. I had their (Harmony) tech support for hours to figure out why the fast forward and rewind were not working properly. They fixed the codes at their end as they determined it was a very technical difference and now it works fine.
Note: this universal remote is more useful than the remote because with one press I have it turn the TV on and go to the correct video input, turns on the stereo and turns on the Homedock AND it can bounce the IR off the walls to hit the Homedock - line of site is not necessary.

2. If an audio book is in process on the ipod outside the Homedock and then you start the Homedock, the TV screen will not reflect the current time of the audio book - it will continue at the correct place, just not display the correct elaspsed time. Elapsed time will display starting at 0:00. Might not be the Homedock's fault as I believe this is also happening on the box I setup in my car to display my ipod on my cars navigation screen.

3. WHen scrolling songs in a playlist, the highlighted song has a right point arrow on its right. Pressing the direction right button skips to the next song that would be played - so this arrow only serves to annoy.

4. The repeat doesn't seem to work, while shuffle does.

5. After inactivty from pause, the screen saver starts but then going from pause to play, displays the main screen versus continuing to display the playlist that was on display prior to pause.

In spite of the above I can deal with the Homedock as I learn its quirks. My wife, however, is the type that wouldn't put up with it.

I do like the style, the method for holding multiple size ipods and the fact I can display the info ont he TV.

Side note: Per described in the review regarding video playback, once you get the video started on the ipod manually, you can control the pause and play and ff/rw with the remote. I have a widescreen plasma and watched the pilot of Conviction (free from iTunes) on a mode that fills the TV screen and I was very very surprised that the video quality was watchable. I was not disappointed at all.

Posted by Keith Cannataro on April 20, 2006 at 7:50 AM (PDT)

11

I got mine setup 2 days ago, and all in all I LOVE it. Yeah, there are some annoyances w/ the on-screen video capability (thanks APPLE!), but just the fact that I can kick back in my command chair and drive through my favorite playlists ON SCREEN is too sweet. This is something we've all wanted for years! Great comments + crits from all the other users, too; It's not perfect, but damn close!

Posted by worldwide on April 20, 2006 at 9:12 AM (PDT)

12

Perfect?? Wow...good for you. I think I'm more like the other poster's wife. I cannot accept a $150 unit that has glitches. Has anyone ancountered the problem when waking the unit from the screen saver mode, the Artists and Albums listings are blank? That's something that I just cannot tolerate. I am already thinking of sending it back for a refund.

Posted by rss1999 on April 20, 2006 at 2:33 PM (PDT)

13

Mine had scratches all oevr the remote right out of the box and plastic packaging. Still waiting on DLO to reply on my complain and request for RMA... bummer.

Posted by rastAsia on April 21, 2006 at 1:23 PM (PDT)

14

I bought one assuming it works with any dock connector iPod. I have 10g 3G model and, alas, it does NOT work with mine. After thinking it was my iPods fault (finally time for a new battery?), I was told by them that it does not, in fact, work with 3G models. I was planning on purchasing a new 5G model in the next couple of months so I'm going to hold on to it, but I think their packaging is very misleading.

Posted by jaimemulemas on April 22, 2006 at 10:06 PM (PDT)

15

Got mine last night & I'm encountering those same glitches-- blank Artists and Albums listings. Selecting left/right arrows can bring them back, but it's non-intuitive and I haven't determined if it's systematic or random.

Haven't decided whether or not to keep it. If glitch-free, I'd really like it-- I'd go wild over it if it had the album art...

Posted by Drinker Nisti on April 25, 2006 at 1:21 PM (PDT)

16

This product is a major disappointment. For its price-tag, there shouldn't be any glitches whatsoever. Within 5 minutes of use, I discovered several:

1) The Playlist, Genre, Artist, and Album drill-downs frequently appear blank. One has to keep hitting the forward arrow until one reaches the song-level listings, and then back out one menu at a time before any of these lists populate.

2) In cases where an artist has more albums than can fit on a screen, when I scroll down to see the the next screen the correct album names don't appear... as in 1), you have to proceed to the song level menu and back out of it to correct the problem.

2) Sometimes, the HomeDock performs the wrong function when a button on the remote is pressed. At one point, every time I pressed the down, left, or right arrow it was responding as if I'd pressed the up-arrow.

3) The repeat function simply does not work. I guess the button is included on the remote for show.


In addition, there are some thoughtless design details

1). There is a giant icon of an iPod that consumes the entire left hand of the screen, leaving limited room to display the full names of artists, albums, and songs. This is, for lack of a better term, idiotic.

2). The "power on light" on the SoundDock base is an ultra bright white LED. It's not subtle, and is in fact quite annoying if one is inclined to listen to their iPod with the lights dimmed or off.


Given that the SoundDock's firmware cannot be upgraded, I don't see how any of these problems/flaws/bugs can be addressed once a unit is manufactured. I'm returning mine for a refund, and encourage people to wait until other manufacturers introduce similar products to the market before committing themselves to purchasing this one.

Posted by Florestan on April 26, 2006 at 11:19 AM (PDT)

17

I got mine a few days ago. I wanted to use it for a few days before to post my comments. First of all I used to have a DLO Homedock (not Deluxe Model) and I was so annoyed by the horrible sound coming out of it, that issue is solved and it makes me so happy because for me, sound quality is the most important point.
The TV navigation, works well, not perfect, but good enough to make it a very nice feature.
Yes, there are some glitches, but nothing really annoying, at least not for me. Sometimes it gets a bit slow to react, but it works well. About the music and artists list disappearing, I experienced that only once in about 5 days, so at least for me it's not such a big deal.
I think the major issue for me, it's the remote, sometimes you press a button and it performs some other function, also you need to be quite close to the dock to make it work right.
The video quality coming out of it is really nice, if you use a high quality resolution to encode your videos, you'll get a very impressive quality on your TV.
Overall, it’s a nice unit, like I said, for me the most important feature is the quality of the sound coming out of it. I'm happy to see they fixed that from their previous dock, and also having more features on the remote is quite nice.
I would recommend this unit, just be aware that, Yes there are a few glitches, not bad enough to annoy me, but I understand that they could annoy others.
I hope this will be helpful.
Regards from Mexico.

Posted by Laminar Panda on May 2, 2006 at 7:22 AM (PDT)

18

I too am unable to see the artist listing in on the TV interface. Genres are also blank. Albums are blank, but can be coaxed into being displayed by going to the song list and backing out.

This does not seem to be an isolated issue. I wonder if it is related to the number of songs loaded on the ipod it is interfaced with? At any rate, DLO needs to address it soon or mine's going back.

Posted by PerryH on May 24, 2006 at 11:57 AM (PDT)

19

Well, I just got this because the Griffin's review was no better. It has a rather apalling variety of glitches, many of them already listed above. Mine:

remote is very weak and inconsistent in getting the signal to the iPod. You have to point it RIGHT AT the dock or forget it, even from a few feet away.

somtimes hitting the scroll down button causes the menu to scroll up!

sometime artist or album menus just do not populate.

A few other weird, but intermittent navigation issues.

For $150, NO WAY. I'm sending this hunk back. These issues will drive me crazy trying to enjoy my tunes. Its really shameful that these things are shipped like this. Disgusting, DLO. Really sad.

Posted by icantpod on September 6, 2006 at 10:08 AM (PDT)

20

Florestan - regarding the issue you describe:

"Sometimes, the HomeDock performs the wrong function when a button on the remote is pressed. At one point, every time I pressed the down, left, or right arrow it was responding as if I'd pressed the up-arrow."

Here is what I have discovered - the remote apparently has one code for each arrow, and another code, common to all the arrow keys, for repeat. So the down arrow button, for example, sends the down command, then the repeat command. The remote doesn't appear to send a strong signal, so if it misses the down command and just gets the repeat command, it will simply repeat the last direction command it DID get, which may be up, left or right.

This has made programming my Harmony remote a pain (because I don't know a way to tell a Harmony remote to behave like that). Which is a shame, because otherwise it's much nicer using the Hamony remote because it seems to send out a much stronger signal (I can control the HomeDock from about twice the distance away with the Harmony remote versus the HomeDock remote). Everything else works great with the Harmony remote.

Posted by DingoJunior on September 7, 2006 at 6:53 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.