Geneva Lab Model L and Model XL Sound Systems | iLounge

Reviews

21

I've been wondering wether or not anyone here has got some experience as to how hard it is to obtain these speakers in Europe????

Posted by DaWickedBird on August 11, 2006 at 3:38 PM (PDT)

22

Just to follow up on several comments - if you consider this (or ANY other hi end unit, why use anything less than a lossless format, especially if the sound is close to hi-end B&W's? Whether its the L or XL, this is a portable device, weight not withstanding, becuase there is minimal set up time, so I can easily set one up on the deck or sun room and still enjoy hi end sound. I am considering the L or XL and will stream music thru to it thru airport express instead of an iPod. To that end, or to input DVD sound, I agree that an toslink in would be nice.

Posted by bndtracey on August 18, 2006 at 2:59 AM (PDT)

23

I understand that with portable speakers (boomboxes if you will) need to be in a single enclosure for convenience and praticallity, but these are in no way portable. I realize that Geneva Labs makes no claims to portability, but if having two speakers for stereo is 'clumsy', then what is one large cabinet? Where will you place it in correlation to a TV? On top? No...too heavy. Mabey the TV can go on top, if its a small TV or light wieght plasma or something like that.

In the FAQ section of Geneva Labs webpage for these speakers, the spokesperson mentions that while the stereo pairs share on enclosure, they are indeed seperates; two enclosures within one larger one (seperate enclosures would be essential for true stereo). I'm not trying to be a jerk or anything but what's to prevent someone from simply pushing their home stereo speakers together to simulate either the L or XL series.

But given the fact that we're dealing with one enclosure, most of us would have to re-think many fascets of living room decore; since most entertainment nooks and TV cabinets are built with at least a two-speakers in mind. Oh, I suppose one could build a cabinet to house say, an XL with a TV on top, but to my knowledge, the speakers in question aren't sheilded. And who isn't going to want their TV to be in proximety to the speaker?

I could see using this as a studio monitor and even as a small PA system, if there are auxilary inputs for external sources for such things. But for the asking price, I need something a lot more versatile.

Posted by 3LockBox on August 21, 2006 at 12:53 PM (PDT)

24

I am writing an update. it has been six months since my last post (comment 15). i am just checking back to let you know the LX has changed the way i feel about music. my ipod is essential for walking the west village, but the LX is critical to "hearing" that same music. i actually look forward to coming home so i can listen to that track "for real". i have rediscovered old favs and new music that i over looked, but now love having heard all the sonic details the mixing engineer worked in that ear buds can't touch. lastly, i mounted a 42 inch plasma above the LX. i have two words for you - STAR WARS!

yes, i am a dork!

Posted by moosammy on November 13, 2006 at 12:47 PM (PDT)

25

Geez i'm mad!!!!! Just spent over an hour reading about the Geneva XL, here and on the Geneva website, went to order and then find out that they are only sold in the US and Canada.

Wakey, wakey Geneva, there is a whole world out there!!!!! Why not put the ordering restriction on the front page of your website and save everyone some time.

Posted by Woollie on November 17, 2006 at 12:14 PM (PDT)

26

I'm considering purchase Geneva L model and wonder about optimal speaker placement. Geneva sales knew nothing and referred me to their tech support which so far has only indicated that height off the ground for L should be 2 to 3 feet. Original reviewer indicates that listening position upto 10 feet away is fine and at the other being close is fine as well. But what about distance from wall behind the speaker - any optimal distance that speaker should be in front of that back wall?

I'm used to high quality separate speakers and Mfg. often has quite specific recommendations about speaker placement and room geometry. Of course if I purchase I will experiment with placement, but wanted to hear about the experience of owners. All speakers will interact with the surfaces in the room and how they are treated or not.

I listen to primarily classical music (orchestral to quartets) and jazz. Imaging and sound stage are important elements to me. Thanks for sharing your experiences.

I'm not expecting miracles from the Geneva and it will be a secondary system for me in the bedroom and I expect that critical listening will still be done on my dedicated sound system.

Posted by edor on June 1, 2007 at 11:56 PM (PDT)

27

I did much research before ordering the Geneva Lab Model L with stand. It seemed a perfect solution. An all in one unit with iPod connection, CD player and FM tuner thrown in. It also looked great. Of course you just have to believe the reviews that it has amazing sound because there is no place to hear or see one. It is a bit pricey as the reviews say but it fit my need.

I wanted a black one and with credit card in hand I go to order it. No luck they are backordered. So I decided to wait until they are in stock. On there website it said they would be available the end of May. Okay, no problem be patient. I keep checking and finally get to order one on June 14th. I did change my mind an ordered a white one instead of black.

BUT WAIT. In that time of the unit being backordered, (2+ weeks), the price went from $599 to $699 for the speaker and from $99 to $119 for the stand. I email them and they explain that because of currency fluctuations they had to raise the price or cheapen quality. They are based in Sweden I believe. That seems like a huge increase.

Okay stuff happens so I go ahead and order a white Model L with stand which the total cost is $818 rather then the original $698. I noticed they put a temporary charge on my credit card for the amount. It says on there website that they ship within 8 to 10 days and then it takes a number of days for the shipper to get it to you.

It shows on there site that they have order tracking but they don't have it working. I check my credit card activity today and noticed that there was no charge from Geneva Lab temporary or otherwise on my account. WHAT HAPPENED?

I call and am told that they are backordered for 4 weeks. I was never emailed to say the units are backordered and it does not show any backorder on their website.

I decide to cancel my order and they seemed not to care. I am really patient but there is a limit. I ask if I will be receiving an email to confirm my cancellation and even the supervisor said probably not. So it could be a great unit but I will never know. Unless my order isn't really cancelled. Geneva Lab at this point does not seem like a competent company.

Does any one have a suggestion for a similar speaker system with a company that wants to do business?
Thanks

Posted by photoworks on June 22, 2007 at 12:10 PM (PDT)

28

I just received my XL stereo this morning which I purchased 2 weeks ago. I was told I had to wait till next month for the new shipment but was surprised to receive a call from my concierge that a big red box is waiting for me downstairs.

It was bigger than I thought. Took me an hour or so to assemble the stand onto the unit all by myself.

After the hard work - and a couple of knocks on my neighbours door to warn them I be testing my new stereo, I finally had the chance to listen what the fuss is all about regarding this Genevalab stereo. It exceeds my expectation - plus with the price .. it better be.

Suffice to say, my ipod wont be sitting on my Bose or ipod Hi-Fi no more. And as for the looks, it blends in with Roche Bobois perfectly well.

Posted by One8Eight1 on June 27, 2007 at 12:58 PM (PDT)

29

I found that Geneva Lab has extremely poor customer service. Simply put, they don't seem to care about their customers at all. I place an order in May. Waited 2 weeks without any response. When I Emailed, I was told that the item was on backorder and that it would be another 2 to 3 weeks. 3 weeks later when I Emailed again, I was told that it would be another 2 to 4 weeks. They never sent me a backorder notice, and I had to send 2 or 3 Email each time before receiving a response.

Posted by Gnafron on June 28, 2007 at 3:51 AM (PDT)

30

I bought Geneva Sound Systems Model M at Amazon Germany few days ago and today I got it. After I unpacked it and connected it, I got really disappointed. After few seconds the sound disappears. It still has power, it’s on, but there’s no sound anymore. I am not sure if there’s a problem with amplifier or with speaker, or…

I tried to contact Web suport "CustomerService@genevalab.com" but my e-mail could not be delivered. I tried from 3 different e-mail adresses to send it, but without success.
I bought it, because I read a lot good stuff in the comments, but I would not recommend it at all.
Not working, no support.

I didn't have the possibilty to hear it and can not write anything about sound quality.
It looks nice, but that's all that I can describe.

Posted by puzzifingo on August 25, 2007 at 7:34 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 2 pages  <  1 2

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.