v-moda Bass Freq Earphones | iLounge

Reviews

1

We ordinary mortals beat power user and site super hero Jeremy to it, posting a review of these two days before the first look, on 04-24-2006, at 07:15 PM.

It's in the headphones forum

I did re-post these great pix, though!

Posted by Jackonicko in UK on April 29, 2006 at 5:10 PM (PDT)

2

We've had these headphones since March - the same time that we reviewed Remix M-Class - but were abiding by an embargo on coverage. Glad you've had a chance to try them out.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on May 3, 2006 at 11:56 PM (PDT)

3

I don't know where the bass is, but it isn't in these ear phones. Compared to the stock Apple ear buds that came with my 30gb iPod, the V-Moda Bass ear plugs are much more comfortable. That's all I can recommend. The stock Apple ear buds give me more bass than the V-Moda, but the V-Moda gives me much, much more treble. Did I get a bad set? Damned if I know. The fine folks at the local MacStore won't take them back. (Well, I guess when your ear wax is all over them, they don't want anything to do with them.) At any rate, I cannot recommend this product. Compared to the Apple ear buds: Comfort: Excellent. Treble: Excellent. Mid-range: Good. Bass: Poor. Overall rating: Spend your money on something else, or stick with the original Apple ear buds.

Posted by Oregonguy on July 17, 2006 at 8:42 PM (PDT)

4

Posted on behalf of v-moda:

Oregonguy – the Bass Freq is designed to have a lot of bass – the most common cause of “lack of bass” is the fitting is not creating a seal in your ear to isolate the bass levels and it is not put on properly. Please try the medium/large fittings and make sure they are properly inserted all the way in the ear-canal. Contact us @ .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) to assist in proper use or immediately replacing a product that that may be defective. We are fanatical about our quality control and customer service - we work our absolute hardest ensuring that EVERYBODY has a pinnacle sound experience.

val kolton
ceo v-moda

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on August 16, 2006 at 9:30 AM (PDT)

5

I have to agree about the bass response...once you find the proper size silicon fitting and seat it in your ear correctly, the bass really thumps.

I also agree with the review that for the product being named what it is the bass is FAR from overwhelming. To me it sounds solid and meaty, not exaggerated. Turning up Depeche Mode "World In My Eyes" sounds awesome and not at all muddy, with clear "hi hat" on top.

I have been looking for a good in-canal, light weight headphone to wear while working out (biking) and had yet to find one. The stock Apple model allows too much wind in (besides hurting like an SOB within 30 minutes), and my Shure E2c's would not stay in place. These V-Moda's not only fit exceptionally well, but they are comfortable, don't fall out, and fill in the bass missing from the Shure's.

Granted, these are not reference level headphones you would use in a mixing studio. But if you want an exceptional pair of 'phones for a very reasonable price, I would strongly suggest you get a pair of Bass Freq's.

One last note...I submitted two comments directly to V-Moda's site, and Val Kolton answered BOTH within 30 minutes. Now I know it may only have been a "slow day" around their offices, but I am still DAMNED impressed with that response time!!!

Posted by longVEU on November 4, 2006 at 1:23 PM (PDT)

6

How do these compare to Headbanger Ear Subs?

Posted by Fancy Toughskins on December 2, 2006 at 2:35 PM (PDT)

7

I just took back the Reference 220s, because they had next to no bass compared with the Vibes. Also, the highs on the reference 220s sounded tinny. I would be curious to know how the Bass Freqs stand up to the Vibes.

Posted by Mike R on January 8, 2007 at 2:25 PM (PDT)

8

The EQ setting plus some 'burn in' time (and the correct choice of earplug size(s)) make all the difference. I use the acoustic setting on my second generation Nano, and find a wonderful warm and truly 'enjoyable' audio experience with these V Moda Bass frequency headphones. In truth, for me these headphones provide all that I want/need and at a price that is very reasonable. The bass is truly deep without sacrificing mid range and treble clarity and response. I cannot praise these V Modas enough.

Posted by jimr1 on May 27, 2007 at 5:27 AM (PDT)

9

what is burn-in time??

Posted by IngridG on June 25, 2007 at 8:59 AM (PDT)

10

I bought my first pair yesterday along with 3 others (for testing) - sony High performace, Shures & Panasonic turbos. These Moda's are far better than any of those...bass is rich on certain songs. It depends on the type of music you are listening to. I tested the bass on all three four pairs on the song "Grillz" and Moda's had the richest sound. I will be returning the others.

Posted by IngridG on June 25, 2007 at 9:02 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.