Memorex iWake Dual Alarm Clock with Remote Control | iLounge

Reviews

1

I hope that a full review is coming soon!

Posted by egross on May 18, 2006 at 10:10 AM (PDT)

2

iWake seems to better buy than iHome iH5

-- has SRS WOW technology
-- comes with a remote
-- is cheaper

I would like to hear what other people have to say?

Posted by rishi75 on May 22, 2006 at 10:29 AM (PDT)

3

Jeremy -- could you comment on how the iWake fares on the ability to set the wake volume when used with an iPod? The iHome does not include any user controllable volume settings for the alarm, and was preset to be way too loud. Their "gentle" wake feature also left a lot to be desired.

Also, can we expect a full review of the iLuv alarm clock? How about the recently released TEAC model?

many thanks
michael

Posted by mike in boston or toronto on May 22, 2006 at 1:08 PM (PDT)

4

How does the iWake compare to the iLuv i177 clock radio?

Posted by egross on May 22, 2006 at 1:22 PM (PDT)

5

Does this unit have a sleep timer for the iPod similar to the iLuv? If so, this thing rocks and I may just have to get it.

Posted by timmo on May 22, 2006 at 9:24 PM (PDT)

6

Well, as far as sleep timers go, the iPod has one built in, so if the iWake doesn't support it, it can't be considered a missing feature.

It seems to have the features I'm looking for, but, I'll have tio see it first hand (Fool me once...).

Posted by Gordy. in Atlanta, GA on May 23, 2006 at 7:33 AM (PDT)

7

I bought the iWake this weekend and here are my impressions...

- Sleep timer works by repeatedly pressing the Snooze button to set it from 10 to 60 minutes.

- The LCD is still too bright at night at the low setting.

- No Play/Pause button on the unit for iPod control. You have to either use the remote or press the button on the iPod.

- I noticed a few times when the remote control button does different thing than what it is supposed to do (increase volume when I press Skip, for example). I couldn't repeat this but it happened several times already.

- The volume has 12 steps. iPod mode always starts at 6th step regardless of previous setting. As a player, it's a bit loud for my taste but is acceptable. But as an alarm, it is way too loud. Worse, the volume quickly increases to step 10 or so in less than 10 seconds.

I like the design but will have to return it for the unusable iPod alarm feature.

Posted by wusen on May 23, 2006 at 11:14 AM (PDT)

8

hi, does anybody know where you can go buy/order this?

Posted by imdaShiy on May 23, 2006 at 12:03 PM (PDT)

9

Thanks for the info wusen. Hate loud alarms. (rhetorical) Why can't it just use the radio/iPod volume setting?

Posted by Gordy. in Atlanta, GA on May 24, 2006 at 5:56 AM (PDT)

10

Gordy -- the iPod setting won't work because it is docked, and so the level is line out (i.e. fixed). Thus it is necessary that the volume be set on the unit. The iHome for some reason assumed that one loud wake level would suit all customers. For some reason Memorex seems to have assumed the same thing.

The iLuv has been reported to have a user adjustable wake volume. That is the one i will be buying. Amazon has them for relatively cheap.

I would like to hear more reviews of the iLuv model, specifically one from this site.

Posted by mike in boston or toronto on May 24, 2006 at 9:34 AM (PDT)

11

It is nice but I prefer the iHome because i think it looks cooler and is alot easier to use

Posted by music-_-lover on May 31, 2006 at 7:39 AM (PDT)

12

Does the iWake has presets for radio stations? The iTone seems to have it. The Target store near me doesn't have the iWake on display so I couldn't test it out. Please help me out. This is very important to my purchase decision

Posted by dingudi on June 1, 2006 at 3:09 PM (PDT)

13

Another question, does the iWake generate a buzz/humming noise to accompany the music at low volume? I just bought the iTone, great unit but couldn't tolerate the stupid noise any longer, will have to return it. If the iWake has it also, the I'll probably look at higher price solutions

Posted by dingudi on June 1, 2006 at 9:15 PM (PDT)

14

Has anyone actually seen the iwake for sale anywhere? I haven't and I've searched the web a bunch of times. I know Memorex's site says it's available at Target, but I don't have one nearby me. Has anyone seen the iwake on sale at a Target (or anywhere else, for that matter)?

Posted by pfastfoot on June 15, 2006 at 9:33 AM (PDT)

15

linens n things has it, walmart is supposed to

as far as presets for radio stations ... the manual is at the memorex site. doesn't say anything about it having presets. bummer.

i'm thinking about finding some of that gangstah car window darkening film to put over the display

Posted by buzzy_ on July 26, 2006 at 8:30 AM (PDT)

16

A word or warning...the iWake will NOT charge the iPOD Nano! Tried two different ones spaced out over about a month from Linen N Things. Then called their tech support and after a while reluctantly revealed that they had problems with this model. They wanted us to return it to their facility. We're opting to return it and get another brand, iLuv perhaps. Too bad really as the unit seemed to fit the bill for us.

Posted by briandp on September 5, 2006 at 8:21 PM (PDT)

17

Just bought one today at Target, but it doesn't work very well. The iPod controls don't function correctly when docked in the iWake. At first the controls work, but every time you get to the point of trying to play a track or playlist and click, nothing happens. Other times the controls don't work at all.

So back to Target it goes. Can't decide if I want to try another one.

Posted by WelshDog on September 23, 2006 at 6:26 PM (PDT)

18

Try another one. This works great for me. Beats the iHomes and other large models that the editors here love so much - if I wanted another stereo, I'd get one. I just want a clock radio that fits on the nightstand and works well, this fits the bill.

Posted by buzzy__ on October 14, 2006 at 8:19 AM (PDT)

19

The sound quality is good and it looks nice. Sadly, there is a clicking or chirping noise that sounds a bit like Morse code. It only occurs when the iPod is playing in the dock. Using the line-in from the same iPod's headphone jack.

It is related to when the iPod screen updates. If the song name is long enough to scroll across the screen the sounds is constant. If there isn't any scrolling on the screen the chirps decrease in frequency to one or two every second. Changing songs, which causes a big screen refresh, causes the a flurry of chirps.

I do not have this problem in my im11 speaker dock with the same iPod. The radio is pretty weak as well. The sound is not overpowering, and is most audible when the volume is low.

Posted by Chrystopher on October 18, 2006 at 6:39 AM (PDT)

20

Im doing a bake-off between this and the iHome 5. I bought the iWake because iHome didnt have dual alarms.

Half the time when you're using a clock radio, it's in the dark! So either the controls need to light up or have a raised surface, so you can turn off the alarm. The iWake has neither (iHome has both). I'm switching back to iHome, but still looking for a better solution.

Posted by jdoggy on October 18, 2006 at 8:06 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.