XtremeMac MicroMemo High-Fidelity Digital Audio Recorder for iPod | iLounge

Reviews

1

If it's possible to include in the review, I'd like to know what the quality of a recording would be if I plugged in a decent stereo microphone (such as the Audio Technica AT822) to record a rock band. Thanks!

Posted by DiscountSounds on June 2, 2006 at 8:15 PM (PDT)

2

it's orrible! i really don't like this i prefer that's coming from griffin or belkin...

Posted by iNandoX on June 3, 2006 at 10:38 AM (PDT)

3

iNandoX, how can you say this product is "orrible" [sic] and that you "really don't like" it when it has yet to be released? Are you saying you've used it and have thoroughly tested it? In order to earn and display credibility, please qualify and back up your statements with the facts upon which they are based. Thanks.

Posted by Syncopator on June 4, 2006 at 8:24 AM (PDT)

4

now that there are 3 in the running it's a race to see who can finish first!

Posted by linedpaper on June 5, 2006 at 8:30 AM (PDT)

5

Hi Syncopator, my comments are referred only to this article so in pure observing side i thought i wouldn't buy that 'couse i think that external microphone won't fit the style of my ipod. Nothing More.

Posted by iNandoX on June 7, 2006 at 7:13 AM (PDT)

6

I realize this particular product has yet to be released, but since there have been other digital recorders for iPods, I'm wondering: How does iTunes behave with an iPod after you've created new "content" on the iPod itself?

This is different, obviously, from importing tracks into iTunes, which are then transferred to the iPod. Digital recorders create new files on the iPod that never existed on the Mac. Normally, iTunes does not "collect" tracks from iPods (which is why apps like Senuti, etc., were created -- to transfer tracks from one's iPod to one's computer). But since a recorder like this creates *brand new* files directly on the iPod, does iTunes handle them any differently?

In other words, does iTunes say, "Hey, for some reason, there's a file on the iPod that I don't have, so I'd better copy it"? Or does the user still have to use an app like Senuti to transfer those files into his/her computer?

No biggie, either way. I'm just curious how iTunes handles files it's never seen before.

Thanks.

Posted by Syncopator on June 7, 2006 at 4:00 PM (PDT)

7

iTunes auto-detects the presence of voice files and offers you the option to transfer them into its library immediately upon connection.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on June 8, 2006 at 4:12 PM (PDT)

8

I just ordered the MicroMemo Recorder. I'd like to order software that can convert the audio contents of the recorder into text on my G4 "MAC" laptop computer. Does such software exist for Mac users?

I'm totally impressed with the sound clip as well as the features listed. I can't wait to try it out.

Posted by Candy WA on July 10, 2006 at 2:15 PM (PDT)

9

How far can the voice be recorded from? Like if I wanted to record a lecture in a class or something will it pick it up clearly?

Posted by Littleville on August 9, 2006 at 8:49 AM (PDT)

10

Dear Mr. Horowitz -

Thanks for the comprehensive review. I'm wondering if it's possible to record in stereo from two microphones that jointly connect through the mini-plug? Also, I'm wondering what the sound quality is like recording from the line level outputs of a good audio preamp? I was thinking of using my iPod to transfer my vinyl collection to digital.

Posted by pirspilane on August 10, 2006 at 6:15 PM (PDT)

11

My question is similar to both Comments 9 and 10. I want to record a class where the students sit in a circle, and with the iPod in the center, they are up to 10-12 feet away from it. Will the MicroMemo alone pick up class discussion clearly? And if not, might I use a preamp with the MicroMemo and iPod?

Posted by jroad on August 13, 2006 at 7:34 PM (PDT)

12

I understand the Belkin recorder cannot record without a power source, this is absolutley useless, I really LIKE the idea the micro-memo can record without a power source and for my 60 gb Ipod video this will be 3 hours on full charge, that is certainly adequate for my use.
PLEASE this is not a negative, an I-pod is PORTABLE, so the voice recorder should be too.
Thank you Micro-memo I am looking forward to owning one soon!!

Posted by corry on August 14, 2006 at 9:33 PM (PDT)

13

When switched to "Mic", the MicroMemo only records in mono (single channel) even if you have an external stereo microphone plugged in. When switched to "Line" however, it records in stereo but at a much lower level that will be suitable only for very loud sound sources -- simple speech will be recorded *very* quietly.

Posted by LenMinNJ on August 30, 2006 at 10:57 AM (PDT)

14

Ref Comment #12: The Belkin TuneTalk Stereo does not require a power source to record. It will allow the iPod to record continuously for as long as the iPod's internal battery holds out.

Posted by LenMinNJ on August 30, 2006 at 11:01 AM (PDT)

15

By the way, when recording using an external stereo microphone with the MicroMemo switched to "Mic", the iPod records only the left microphone.

Posted by LenMinNJ on August 30, 2006 at 11:18 AM (PDT)

16

Not tested in the review is the quality of recording with an external mic. My mic (Sony ECMMS907) records very cleanly with MD and DV cameras. On the micromemo the line input is set so low for mic recording (even lower for line-in) that it simply can not record effectively. Definitly not 'CD-quality'.
I retuned mine.

Posted by cnny on September 2, 2006 at 2:22 PM (PDT)

17

The MicroMemo does not offer a power jack for an external battery. That makes the Belkin TuneTalk Stereo a better choice for extended recording concerts.

The TuneTalk's Line input provides enough gain so that you can use a set of reasonably sensitive mics to record concerts.

See the iLounge's review of the TuneTalk for more of our test comments:

http://www.ilounge.com/index.php/ipod/review/belkin-tunetalk-stereo-for-ipod-with-video/


Len Moskowitz

Posted by LenMinNJ on September 2, 2006 at 7:27 PM (PDT)

18

Just got my MicroMemo. The speaker's sound quality for music was better than I expected (I didn't expect much). The recordings produce WAV files which consume a lot of disk space (especially on high quality). I would recommend converting them to MP3 if you want to store long recordings.

The big disappointment, though, was that THE SPEAKERS DO NOT PLAY SOUND FROM VIDEOS. That was actually the main thing I wanted this for - so I could share cartoons with my daughter. Had I known this in advance I might not have purchased it.

Posted by John Cartan on September 8, 2006 at 11:56 PM (PDT)

19

Page 7 of the manual does indicate that plugging in a stereo microphone does record in stereo vs. the mono mic and line-in recordings are treated as completely seperate. This is clearly a warranty issue if your MicroMemo does not record in stereo via the Mic input. FYI, mine combines the L&R channels to mono. Clearly a production issue.

Posted by woodwynlane on September 19, 2006 at 8:28 AM (PDT)

20

John, I just checked my MicroMemo with several videos on different iPods. It plays the sound from videos, movies, etc. perfectly on my 5G iPods. Clearly a warranty issue. Try upgrading to iTunes 7 if you haven't or resetting the iPod first. Otherwise, you should return it.

Posted by woodwynlane on September 19, 2006 at 8:35 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.