Apple Computer Nike + iPod Sport Kit and Sensor | iLounge

Reviews

21

try putting the sensor in a small pouch or encase it in thin cloth of some kind, and then use safety pins to pin it to the tops of your laces. i haven't tried this, i'm just thinkin' out loud.

Posted by Steven Travers in Oakland, CA on July 14, 2006 at 10:02 AM (PDT)

22

>Just one question that no one seems to be asking:
>Can you change the units of measurement from Kilometres (for those of us who have changed to the
>metric system) to Miles??
>Posted by Salamander on July 14, 2006 at 3:11 AM (PDT)

The reason no one seems to be asking is because it was answered in TFA:
"You can also pick whether to use Miles or Kilometers for on-screen displays, and calibrate the Sport Kit to your personal body settings."

Posted by drehenkraft on July 14, 2006 at 10:04 AM (PDT)

23

Check out http://www.apple.com/support/nikeplus/

Posted by Daniel Carr on July 14, 2006 at 10:07 AM (PDT)

24

I did not purchase the Nike Plus shoes, so I used the Nike SDM clip to hold the pod in place. I had to calibrate the pod, but once I did that it worked great. I imagine before long, someone will sell a clip to hold the pod in place on your shoe.

Posted by sobo on July 14, 2006 at 10:26 AM (PDT)

25

I did a little review of my own last night, but of course your writeup blows mine away.

http://patrickhaney.com/thinktank/2006/07/14/ikicks-nike-ipod-review

Overall I'm extremely happy with the whole setup. I agree that the Nike site is superbly designed and makes the user experience that much better.

Posted by Patrick Haney on July 14, 2006 at 10:30 AM (PDT)

26

"A couple of questions...

1.)is the battery in the sensor user replaceable?
2.) Will the ipod + transmitter fit in the origial Nike Sport Armband(screen viewable)"

1. No
2. I don't know

"Does anyone know the dimensions of the sensor?"

A quick click on apple.com reveals:

Specifications
Sensor*

* • Size: 1.37 x 0.95 x 0.30 inches
* • Weight: 0.23 ounce
* • Broadcast frequency: 2.4GHz

Receiver

* • Size: 1.03 x 0.62 x 0.22 inches
* • Weight: 0.12 ounce

Posted by gibson10ma on July 14, 2006 at 10:47 AM (PDT)

27

I have two small pouches that velcro around your shoe laces, originally meant to hold your keys, etc. but it looks large enough to fit the sensor. When I get a chance, I'll have to pick one of these up.

Posted by colinloretz on July 14, 2006 at 11:15 AM (PDT)

28

I didn't see this mentioned in the article. Does anyone know if there's any reason why this setup wouldn't work on a treadmill?

Posted by waxdart on July 14, 2006 at 11:23 AM (PDT)

29

Will it work with the video iPod or any other iPod other than the nano? I don't have a nano, and don't wish to buy one just to use this. Rather, I'd be happy to buy one, but am short on money. smile

Posted by sjonke in Maryland, US on July 14, 2006 at 5:54 PM (PDT)

30

I have this feeling that we'll see lots of people staring at their nanos walking in circles to activate their sensors. I can't wait. smile

Posted by ShuffinatorJayne in Columbus, Ohio on July 14, 2006 at 8:34 PM (PDT)

31

I've posted a "shoe hack" at http://podophile.com for securing the transmitter under the laces of non-nike running shoes. It's quick and simple and works really well. Step-by-step guide with photos.

Posted by Podophile on July 14, 2006 at 11:59 PM (PDT)

32

Forgive me if this question was answered in the review, but could someone clarify how the sensor works to record distance? Is it like a pedometer in that you have to measure your stride first? According to the comments here, the sensor measures distance quite accurately, and I was just wondering how that was.

By the way, I read that in most runner's stores, they sell a shoe-lace pouch made for a key. Maybe this will work if one doesn't want to buy the shoes?

Also -- I second the question posed by "waxdart". Will it work on a treadmill? That's why I'm going to buy one, but it never occurred to me that it wouldn't work on a treadmill.

Posted by Islareina in Missouri on July 15, 2006 at 7:15 AM (PDT)

33

You could put the sensor in Road ID's shoe pouch, found here:
http://www.roadid.com/accessories.asp#shoepouch

I have it on my shoe for my apartment keys and it works great. I haven't bought the Nike+ sensor yet, but I believe it would fit nicely. The pouch is a bit big, but nobody is looking at your shoe laces while you run. If anyone does this, let me know how the sensor works.

Posted by oldseacaptain on July 15, 2006 at 9:15 AM (PDT)

34

i couldnt resist i went out and picked up one from the apple store today. setup went great, but couldnt figure out how to install it on my nike shox's.

http://img294.imageshack.us/my.php?image=nikecb4.jpg

hmm.. ducktape might work???!!!

Posted by fondoo in NYC on July 15, 2006 at 2:07 PM (PDT)

35

oops, my bad!
http://img225.imageshack.us/img225/3135/nikegq9.jpg

Posted by fondoo in NYC on July 15, 2006 at 5:04 PM (PDT)

36

I hacked my trail runner and modified the insoles of my road shoe... (i couldn't hack my $160 road shoe.. heheh)

here's a link..
http://web.mac.com/gshock75/iWeb/Site/NSK mod.html

Posted by bnb7575 on July 15, 2006 at 8:42 PM (PDT)

37

ooops.. previous link keeps getting broken...

http://web.mac.com/gshock75

click on NSK... ignore the blog.

Posted by bnb7575 on July 15, 2006 at 8:52 PM (PDT)

38

A whole new subject (and industry) has been thrown up - Shoe Hacking!!!

And a new sports injury - N+iPSK Sensoritis.....

Posted by Bob Levens in UK on July 16, 2006 at 6:02 AM (PDT)

39

I modded an old pair of Nikes (cut a hole in the sole, under the insole insert) and it works just fine. With the hole in the center (under your arch), I didn't notice any difference in wear. I haven't had a chance to test the accuracy yet, but it appears to work well. The only casualty was a couple of air pockets in the soles... I had always thought the "Air" in Nike Airs was just a marketing gimmick, but there really is pressurized air pockets in those things...)

For kicks, I wore it shopping and the only problem I had was it goes to "sleep" after a certain period of inactivity, so I probably walked more than the 2.2 miles it displayed.

I'll eventually get a pair of "official" Nike+ shoes, but I just purchased a new pair of running shoes and I need to wear them out first.

Overall, this is extremely impressive and makes me want to go out and run more, just so I can play with it.

Posted by iceeis on July 16, 2006 at 2:19 PM (PDT)

40

I'm curious to hear more details. For example, what you get at the end of the day--or even along the way. Does the voice tell you your current speed? or just your average for the entire run? Or, does the voice tell you anything at all visavis speed while you are running? What if you run intervals, etc.? Let's say you jog for 5 minutes, sprint for 1. Is all you get at the end your total distance and average speed for that distance.

In terms of calories burned, does it know the difference between running a flat course, up and down hills, into a stiff wind, etc?

How does the "power song" feature work anyhow? What do you have to do to make it come on? What happens when it's over?

Posted by phlsphr on July 16, 2006 at 4:47 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 5 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.