Apple Computer iPod nano (Second-Generation) 2/4/8GB | iLounge

Reviews

31

You forgot to mention anything about gapless playback in the review

Posted by kapi on September 14, 2006 at 5:55 PM (PDT)

32

phennphawcks:

I think your idea is great too, but I'm not sure how well the Mac/PC differences would work. I would think that'd be a piece o' cake on the Mac. The PC I doubt.

They can't include the Mini-CD because slot-loading drives can't use mini-CDs. so all the portables wouldn't be able to use it, and I think the iMac also has slot drives (I'm not sure .. I don't own one .. yet). So including the Mini-CD wouldn't really help that many people, and would just add cost and trash.

Posted by Tom Craft on September 15, 2006 at 2:53 AM (PDT)

33

h0mi:

Firewire won't work as the required chip is physically not present.

Posted by Tom Craft on September 15, 2006 at 2:54 AM (PDT)

34

Not sure how a product can get an A- rating from a great resource like iLounge when it requires software that is obviously full of bugs and poorly tested.

That should ding the overall rating in a big way!

Posted by JWj on September 15, 2006 at 8:07 AM (PDT)

35

Apple already has the slowest USB 2.0 on the planet in their Macs and the new nano is only half the speed of the old one for transfering data. I'm guessing they went with really cheap flash to keep the component costs down. That totally sucks because other companies are pushing performance by putting dual channel controllers into USB flash drives costing as little as $29.

The camera connector doesn't work with the new nano.

Posted by bregalad on September 15, 2006 at 10:36 AM (PDT)

36

with respect to adding a graphic eq, i think it wouldnt be a very good idea. first of all, if you want better quality and clarity, quit listening to mp3s and AACs. rip and listen to WAV files if it's that important to you. secondly, quit using those earbuds. they are bad for your hearing and have the worst frequency response of any type of headphone. thirdly, a graphic EQ separates the signal into many different frequency bands (usually 31). when gain is increased or attenuated on the respective bands, there is a small amount of delay added to that chunk of the signal. when you add a little bit of delay to all 31 pieces of your signal, you're left with many phasing issues, and ultimately could make the sound worse.

Posted by soundchaser on September 15, 2006 at 10:38 AM (PDT)

37

Radio!!!

why is there a Radio listing on the menu settings on the new ipod nano...

Posted by eboy on September 15, 2006 at 3:41 PM (PDT)

38

Though not quite as loud or dynamic as the iPod Video, the new Nano is considerably louder than the 1G Nano. The overall sound quality is the same, though. Decent bass, clear mids and sharp highs, but the lower mids and bass are still stronger in the Video.

The included headphones sound rather like the previous model, but I've never liked earbuds anyway. Your best bet is either to get the new Apple in-ear headphones, or better yet, get Sony's Fontopia in-ear headphones. They don't come with the slick carrying case Apple designed for their own phones, and the use of an extension cord that makes the overall length of the cord too long for some uses, but the bass is phenomenally richer, deeper and more powerful from the Sony phones. Midrange and treble are about the same for both Apple and Sony.

Shop around on Amazon, and you can find a pair for less than the Apple headphones are priced in stores, but again, be ready for an extremely long cord, a cruddy carrying case that can be thrown away the moment you open the package (seriously...you can't fit the headphones in it, so it's really a worthless piece of plastic), and get ready to untie knots frequently after laying the headphones down, but their sound quality at least if not more than makes up for these minor inconveniences.

Posted by lrphotographer on September 17, 2006 at 1:53 AM (PDT)

39

On another note, has anyone experienced issues with their new Nano randomly rebooting itself? Every so often, when I'm skipping through songs, it'll just up and restart. No idea what's causing it...whether it's a software issue, a firmware issue, or a hardware issue. Hopefully it's something that'll be fixed at some point in an update. Otherwise, I may be one of the unfortunate saps who has to send it in for a replacement as a result of buying one so soon after the 2G's release.

Posted by lrphotographer on September 17, 2006 at 3:04 AM (PDT)

40

Okay. I have yet another post to make about the new Nano. It's a dust eater. I've had it for just over 24 hours now, and tiny specks of dust and lint have entered the casing to come to a rest on the actual LCD inside. This reminds me of zoom lenses for SLR's that actually change the length of the body as you zoom. Any time these lenses are designed in such a way, they invariably allow dust, lint and other debris to enter the barrel and come to a rest on internal elements, which can really pile up over time.

Perhaps Apple will offer internal cleaning with battery replacement for these down the road, since they'll already have them open and capable of being blown out with compressed air. Let's hope. Otherwise, it'll only be a matter of time before your screen will become so covered with crud that it'll be damned hard to see it. And skinning or casing it won't prevent this phenomenon, I assure you. However, this isn't likely to present a serious problem for quite a while after buying one...just something of which folks needs to be aware.

Posted by lrphotographer on September 17, 2006 at 12:34 PM (PDT)

41

Update on my earlier post about poor sound quality on my 2G Nano. I tried the suggestion about letting it burn in, but this did nothing. I called Apple about it and they sent me a new one and a mailer to send the old one back, no problems. The new one sounds great, but a few hours after I started using it the screen died. It still plays just fine, but no display. Called again and another is on the way. Grrrrr! Agravating! hmmm Never had a lick of trouble with my old Nano. Hope this and all the problems people are having with Macbooks and Macbook pros isn't an indication of Apple's quality control slipping again. Both my Minis and Dual G5 has been flawless, thou. Guess everybody has lemons from time to time.

Posted by vapor on September 19, 2006 at 1:42 PM (PDT)

42

Just a question, is the blue in the nano the same as the mini?

Posted by johnnay. on September 19, 2006 at 2:44 PM (PDT)

43

Johnnay,

The old Mini was more of a turquoise, whereas the new blue is more blue. Much less green in it. But, the color is also much more vivid/saturated. The new colors definitely pop more than the old ones. Of course, it could simply be that all the Minis I've seen have faded and/or changed over time, whereas the new Nanos haven't had time to do that yet.

Posted by lrphotographer on September 20, 2006 at 8:17 AM (PDT)

44

IRphotographer,

Thanks! I have an iPod mini (blue, 2G) and I was just wondering if it was different, because in some pictures it looks the same, and in others it looks different.smile

Posted by johnnay. on September 20, 2006 at 12:52 PM (PDT)

45

I've used my 4 Gb blue nano for a few days now and prefer the audio to the previous model. I'd be a bit firmer than the review - it's now very good, bass is definitely more prominent, the sound is better balanced, and the spatial/3D effects are simply better. Not quite up to the existing shuffle, but not far off and I actually prefer the new nano's balance. I use SHure e4c's BTW. If only I could afford e500s..!

Posted by drevo_uk in UK on September 21, 2006 at 10:50 AM (PDT)

46

Another suggestion on headphones.

I just tried a pair of JVC Marshmallow in-ear headphones, and they actually fit and sound better than the Apple in-ear headphones. Their bass is ample, the midrange and treble are decently balanced (really loud highs such as cymbals and such aren't ear-piercing, but they're still plenty present), and they definitely stay in your ears better than both the Apple and the Sony phones. They're also less than $20.00, and they come in multiple colors, which means you're not stuck with mug-me white.

Though not quite as good as the Sony Fontopia in-ear headphones, they're pretty close, and for less than half the retail price. They also have the little slider to keep the buds together when not in use, so you don't get knots and tangles all over the place.

You'll need to make sure you angle them correctly when you insert them (up and somewhat back, straight into the ear canal) to be able to hear things properly, since the spongy ear pieces form-fit to whatever hole you squeeze them into, which can completely block the sound coming out of them if they're pressed against an ear wall instead of into the actual canal.

Just thought I'd throw this in here, in case anyone's looking for a decent set of phones to use that won't cost 'em a small fortune. I'm still of the mind that your headphones shouldn't cost more than your iPod. Portable audio isn't like home audio or cameras, where speakers can easily cost more than receivers and lenses more than bodies. smile

Posted by lrphotographer on September 22, 2006 at 8:25 AM (PDT)

47

Just bought my ipod nano 2G in PINK! it's so trendy and him. The design is awesome. I've never owned the previous ipod. But my brother has one. All I can say is that this little baby is a jewel.
I bought it because my 60gb ipod photo broke down on me after one year of loyal services. Actually the tech people at the store told me that i damaged the hard drive. They told me that a normal ipod (with a hard disk) isnt supposed to be bumped around). And i was like confused
Cause i used my ipod when i went running. They told me that that would be an obvious reason for my ipod's hard disk to be scratched. So i decided to go for the new nano. And to be honest, i never used up my 60gb of space on my ipod :p
8gb would have been the ideal. But i had to go for the 4gb model cause i was hypnotized by the fuschia pink's color.
I'm looking for a compatible ice case cover (transparent protection shield) for the nano 2G. Cause i bought one the other day and the new nanos didnt fit, cause of the rigid edges (the old nanos had round edges). Does anyone know when and where i could find a shield compatible for the new nanos?

Posted by garineh3 on September 22, 2006 at 2:07 PM (PDT)

48

Garineh3, the best I know to tell you is to check all the major iPod accessory sites from time to time. Manufacturers will have to have time to get the new Nano, measure it, design new accessories, then produce, market and distribute those accessories. It seems they generally take a month or two to get even a few new items out to the public, but after that, the available products increase exponentially. It's been nearly two weeks now, so give it a couple more and you should see something out there. smile

Posted by lrphotographer on September 22, 2006 at 9:15 PM (PDT)

49

I received my 2G iPod nano yesterday, found the clickwheel to be flimsy / loose, I noticed in the Apple discussion groups that other people are experiencing the same problem. Is this a defect?

Posted by powerseller on September 23, 2006 at 8:39 AM (PDT)

50

dasmegabyte-

When i said a few months, i meant like 6, and there was no singn of an update predictions. But, I finally caved and bought the 2G in green... and i love it.

Posted by skywriter11 on October 2, 2006 at 9:46 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.