Apple Computer iPod nano (Second-Generation) 2/4/8GB | iLounge

Reviews

41

Update on my earlier post about poor sound quality on my 2G Nano. I tried the suggestion about letting it burn in, but this did nothing. I called Apple about it and they sent me a new one and a mailer to send the old one back, no problems. The new one sounds great, but a few hours after I started using it the screen died. It still plays just fine, but no display. Called again and another is on the way. Grrrrr! Agravating! hmmm Never had a lick of trouble with my old Nano. Hope this and all the problems people are having with Macbooks and Macbook pros isn't an indication of Apple's quality control slipping again. Both my Minis and Dual G5 has been flawless, thou. Guess everybody has lemons from time to time.

Posted by vapor on September 19, 2006 at 1:42 PM (PDT)

42

Just a question, is the blue in the nano the same as the mini?

Posted by johnnay. on September 19, 2006 at 2:44 PM (PDT)

43

Johnnay,

The old Mini was more of a turquoise, whereas the new blue is more blue. Much less green in it. But, the color is also much more vivid/saturated. The new colors definitely pop more than the old ones. Of course, it could simply be that all the Minis I've seen have faded and/or changed over time, whereas the new Nanos haven't had time to do that yet.

Posted by lrphotographer on September 20, 2006 at 8:17 AM (PDT)

44

IRphotographer,

Thanks! I have an iPod mini (blue, 2G) and I was just wondering if it was different, because in some pictures it looks the same, and in others it looks different.smile

Posted by johnnay. on September 20, 2006 at 12:52 PM (PDT)

45

I've used my 4 Gb blue nano for a few days now and prefer the audio to the previous model. I'd be a bit firmer than the review - it's now very good, bass is definitely more prominent, the sound is better balanced, and the spatial/3D effects are simply better. Not quite up to the existing shuffle, but not far off and I actually prefer the new nano's balance. I use SHure e4c's BTW. If only I could afford e500s..!

Posted by drevo_uk in UK on September 21, 2006 at 10:50 AM (PDT)

46

Another suggestion on headphones.

I just tried a pair of JVC Marshmallow in-ear headphones, and they actually fit and sound better than the Apple in-ear headphones. Their bass is ample, the midrange and treble are decently balanced (really loud highs such as cymbals and such aren't ear-piercing, but they're still plenty present), and they definitely stay in your ears better than both the Apple and the Sony phones. They're also less than $20.00, and they come in multiple colors, which means you're not stuck with mug-me white.

Though not quite as good as the Sony Fontopia in-ear headphones, they're pretty close, and for less than half the retail price. They also have the little slider to keep the buds together when not in use, so you don't get knots and tangles all over the place.

You'll need to make sure you angle them correctly when you insert them (up and somewhat back, straight into the ear canal) to be able to hear things properly, since the spongy ear pieces form-fit to whatever hole you squeeze them into, which can completely block the sound coming out of them if they're pressed against an ear wall instead of into the actual canal.

Just thought I'd throw this in here, in case anyone's looking for a decent set of phones to use that won't cost 'em a small fortune. I'm still of the mind that your headphones shouldn't cost more than your iPod. Portable audio isn't like home audio or cameras, where speakers can easily cost more than receivers and lenses more than bodies. smile

Posted by lrphotographer on September 22, 2006 at 8:25 AM (PDT)

47

Just bought my ipod nano 2G in PINK! it's so trendy and him. The design is awesome. I've never owned the previous ipod. But my brother has one. All I can say is that this little baby is a jewel.
I bought it because my 60gb ipod photo broke down on me after one year of loyal services. Actually the tech people at the store told me that i damaged the hard drive. They told me that a normal ipod (with a hard disk) isnt supposed to be bumped around). And i was like confused
Cause i used my ipod when i went running. They told me that that would be an obvious reason for my ipod's hard disk to be scratched. So i decided to go for the new nano. And to be honest, i never used up my 60gb of space on my ipod :p
8gb would have been the ideal. But i had to go for the 4gb model cause i was hypnotized by the fuschia pink's color.
I'm looking for a compatible ice case cover (transparent protection shield) for the nano 2G. Cause i bought one the other day and the new nanos didnt fit, cause of the rigid edges (the old nanos had round edges). Does anyone know when and where i could find a shield compatible for the new nanos?

Posted by garineh3 on September 22, 2006 at 2:07 PM (PDT)

48

Garineh3, the best I know to tell you is to check all the major iPod accessory sites from time to time. Manufacturers will have to have time to get the new Nano, measure it, design new accessories, then produce, market and distribute those accessories. It seems they generally take a month or two to get even a few new items out to the public, but after that, the available products increase exponentially. It's been nearly two weeks now, so give it a couple more and you should see something out there. smile

Posted by lrphotographer on September 22, 2006 at 9:15 PM (PDT)

49

I received my 2G iPod nano yesterday, found the clickwheel to be flimsy / loose, I noticed in the Apple discussion groups that other people are experiencing the same problem. Is this a defect?

Posted by powerseller on September 23, 2006 at 8:39 AM (PDT)

50

dasmegabyte-

When i said a few months, i meant like 6, and there was no singn of an update predictions. But, I finally caved and bought the 2G in green... and i love it.

Posted by skywriter11 on October 2, 2006 at 9:46 AM (PDT)

51

I bought my 4GB Nano at Costco a few months ago and just returned it for the 8GB! Costco has the BEST return policy in the retail industry. That's why I tell all my friends to buy their items , (if available) there rather than anywhere else.

Posted by Costophile on October 24, 2006 at 2:05 PM (PDT)

52

I love the new nano! Although i am pretty disappointed that the red version isn't stocked in Singapore. Contemplating on getting a nano in an available colour or an ipod video. But nonetheless, i'm sure both products will be awesome!

Posted by jellyfishies on October 31, 2006 at 10:22 PM (PDT)

53

any word on the 4gb nano sensitivity? like for running, is shaking it up & down ok? i read a post on someone's video ipod's hard drive getting scratched b/c of shaking it or something. just wondering if i'm going to buy something that i'll ruin in a few months.

Posted by jhg2481 on January 8, 2007 at 8:56 AM (PDT)

54

The nano has no hard drive, so it's not going to suffer from running, jogging, doing jumping jacks, or wearing it while having sex. You're fine. Buy a nano.

Posted by Wilder_K_Wight on April 27, 2007 at 4:07 PM (PDT)

55

is it posible to take apart a nano i got a red 8gb nanoi i want to take it completly apart n sand down the scraches n thn make it brushed aluminum n thn airbrush a reble flag on it i think itd look good but i cant figure out how to take it apart tho i dont want to mesit up if i do

Posted by nick2716 on May 4, 2007 at 9:40 AM (PDT)

56

Does anyone know how to get pics off ipod nano and back onto my computer? My computer took a dump with the only pics now on my ipod and I REALLY want them on my new computer! PLEASE HELP!

Posted by melhen26 on May 16, 2007 at 9:22 PM (PDT)

57

Purchased new 8 gig Nano.The dock connector has changed which renders all accessories obsolete, including my Alpine connector in car. Does anyone know if there is a manufacturer online that would have this item?

Posted by therealrad on July 1, 2007 at 8:56 AM (PDT)

58

8GB is in black AND RED! http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/WebObjects/AppleStore?family=iPodnano
go there and see for yourself on the Apple's Offical website!
Look at the red! 4GB and 8GB!

Posted by yagyag on July 11, 2007 at 9:31 AM (PDT)

Page 3 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.