Apple Computer iPod shuffle (Second-Generation) | iLounge

Reviews

1

I noticed, on Apple's Tech Spec's Page for the new iPod shuffle, that under the heading "In the Box" there is no cd included anymore. How is one supposed to install iTunes if they don't have (or none is available) an internet connection? Do they include an installer right on the iPod and you can mount the shuffle to your computer like a USB flash drive to access the installer?

Posted by chrisjf on September 12, 2006 at 9:01 PM (PDT)

2

chris, nobody who buys an ipod is enough of a luddite not to have an internet connection.

even if they were, i'm sure the Apple Store would be more than happy to burn them a CD with iTunes on it.

though I must admit, your solution is pretty cool.

Posted by dasmegabyte on September 12, 2006 at 9:33 PM (PDT)

3

Any news on whether the new shuffle will work with USB 1.1 ?
I have an old Power book with no USB 2.0 ports.

Posted by ilookflawless on September 13, 2006 at 2:13 AM (PDT)

4

chrisjf, I'm pretty sure your idea is what they plan to implement for boththe new nano and shuffle. Notice too that the new nano box will not fit a cd.

Posted by Livert on September 13, 2006 at 6:10 AM (PDT)

5

ilookflawless--

usb 2.0 is backwards compatible with 1.1, so yes, it will work.

Posted by chew63 on September 13, 2006 at 6:26 AM (PDT)

6

dasmegabyte, I have dial-up at home because I live way out in the boonies where no high speed internet is available. So thank you very much for that wonderful "luddite" comment. As well, there is no Apple Store anywhere near where I live.

Ultimately though, I guess nobody here has read or knows what's going on with the offline installing of iTunes and iPod shuffle (and nano, thanks Livert).

Posted by chrisjf on September 13, 2006 at 12:37 PM (PDT)

7

just ordered one. i never thought i would get a shuffle, but 1gb for $80 provides enough hours of songs to keep me happy for a while (this is coming from someone that has filled his 40gb 4G and still has 300 cds to load onto itunes). the tiny size and new headphones sealed the deal.

i wish this had a keychain attachement so i could just attach it to my keychain.

Posted by boochydog in lawrence, ks on September 13, 2006 at 2:00 PM (PDT)

8

i also never thought of buying shuffle as i'm a 5G user. the design is amazin'

Posted by Fizzy on September 13, 2006 at 7:40 PM (PDT)

9

I'm new to all this and keep seeing this will be out in October. When in October? I can't find a date. Where is the best place to order one to get it ASAP? Thanks!

Posted by NikkiD on September 14, 2006 at 9:35 AM (PDT)

10

my order said oct. 31 online, but other people that called apple directly have said it will be out the first week of october. i hope soon and right now i am moving my absolute favorite songs to my future shuffle playlist!

Posted by boochydog in lawrence, ks on September 14, 2006 at 1:25 PM (PDT)

11

I wonder how the sound quality of this shuffle will compair to its predecessor? I was massively impressed with the old shuffle and it happily blew away the other Ipods and most other portable audio players in the current that it could output. I use a pair of senheiser HD600's and they have a massive (600 Ohms i think) and nothing else can drive them other than the shuff. Any ideas? Will this implement the push pull amplification?

Posted by alanmoon on September 15, 2006 at 8:48 AM (PDT)

12

Does anyone know if (or where I can find out if) these headphones have a longer cord than the previous ones? I have a 4G (first iPod Photo) and the cord is too short to plug into my iMac to listen at work.

Thanks!

Posted by musaoculta on September 15, 2006 at 8:54 AM (PDT)

13

Does anyone know what has been said about the battery? I know for a fact that the older version of the shuffle deteriated quite quickly in terms of time of lasting charge. My friend's became unusable after a year in fact... Does anyone know what is being done about the battery? If it is longer lasting and durable then i am definately interested in buying one.

Also, does the ipod radio remote come with it? It looks cool. Thanks in advance.

Posted by Hypez on September 15, 2006 at 10:07 AM (PDT)

14

Sorry musaocuita, the cord is longer by the length of the plug itself, about one inch.

NikkiD, order it from the Apple online store or phone in your order to them, that is the fastest possible way to get them.

I ordered my shuffle online and got the same Oct. 31 date, however that is probably not the actual ship date, but simply an overestimation. I know that if the Apple store has it before I do, I will be picking it up there and cancelling the order.

Posted by divigation on September 15, 2006 at 6:22 PM (PDT)

15

the shuffle is a really cool design, but it seems that with its new size, Apple could've (cheaply, i might add) used a dock connector on the bottom, with the nano's bottom panel. It would do away with the need for YET ANOTHER PROPRIETARY FORMAT for interfacing with the iPod. if not, add a Headphone Port-To-Dock Connetctor/Headphone Port Adapter? I mean, COME ON, that would be an acessory that has yo come3 out soon, it did with the 9-Pin "extended headphone" port's demise. Would any accessory manufacturer consider this? it would enable Usage of expensive speaker systems with full control of the iPod.

Posted by anti-luddite on September 17, 2006 at 4:21 PM (PDT)

16

Oh, by the way, i just noticed that that "dock connector" looking nub inside the dock goes inside the clip of the shuffle to locate it against the jack. It is too big for a dock connector so there is otherwise no point.

Posted by anti-luddite on September 17, 2006 at 4:33 PM (PDT)

17

So does nobody know whether or not the battery is going to last longer than the old version?

Posted by Hypez on September 19, 2006 at 11:03 AM (PDT)

18

not to be rude but how could anybody know how long the battery is going to last. the product is not even shipping yet. apple says it'll last 12 hours on one charge. as for if its going to die after a year, who knows?

btw, its weird that on apple dot com slash ipodshuffle at the bottom of the page for the gallery link, a new ipod shuffle is shown with the old headphones. on the ilounge first looks of the new ipod shuffle the reviewer said the new ipod shuffle will ship with new headphones. its odd that apple would advertise old headphones and not the new better ones.

one last thing, is there a blinkly led on the new ipod shuffle like the old or did they just scrap the lil light?

Posted by chrisjf on September 29, 2006 at 8:18 PM (PDT)

19

chrisjf: there is a couple of little grey dot on the top and bottom white plastic bits of the new shuffle. these dots (one on top and one on bottom) are 'blinkly' leds. hehe, i like that word....blinkly....

--neg

Posted by neg2led on October 4, 2006 at 4:52 AM (PDT)

20

I have an older Shuffle, and note that it will sync on both USB 1.1 and 2.0, but can only charge on my USB 2.0 machines. Even plugged directly into the USB port of the computer, 1.1 does not provide enough current to charge the old Shuffle.

Fortunately, this is not a big deal most of the time and USB 1.1 is fading fast. My remaining USB 1.1 laptops are headed for the recycle bin very soon.

I wonder if this new Shuffle has a lower current requirement for charging??

Posted by BradPDX in Portland, OR USA on October 9, 2006 at 12:56 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 3 pages  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.