Apple Computer iPod shuffle (Second-Generation) | iLounge

Reviews

21

I'm still running Jaguar 10.2.8 on an old iMac. Does anyone know if the new shuffle would work in Jag even though the specs say 10.3.9 or later?
I'm glad it's USB backward compatible.

Posted by woorijip on October 16, 2006 at 8:42 AM (PDT)

22

hey woorijip,

sorry to break it to ya, but the iPod shuffle says it works in 10.3.9 and above and needs iTunes 7. iTunes 7 also needs 10.3.9 and above to work. sorry dude,

ian

Posted by ipnixon on October 26, 2006 at 6:41 AM (PDT)

23

Is the clip removable?

Posted by stark23x on November 1, 2006 at 12:22 PM (PDT)

24

Stark23x, no the clip is not removable. BTW did anyone notice that the shuffle is exactly the same size as the nano (minus the clip) slice a nano shell into 3 pieces and you have got a shuffle. This bodes well for the introduction of new colors

Posted by anti-luddite on November 1, 2006 at 3:41 PM (PDT)

25

I've always been a multi-iPod user. About a month after purchasing my 4G, I bought a 1G Shuffle. Now that I've had my 5G for over a year, I'm ready for this new Shuffle! Can't wait to get my hands on one.

Posted by kevmakara in Horsham, PA on November 1, 2006 at 3:56 PM (PDT)

26

It sucks we get stuck with the old earbuds. :-(

Posted by Galley in Greenville, SC on November 1, 2006 at 8:48 PM (PDT)

27

I bought the Sony MDREX71SLW (white) because I've been happy with them in the past and they have a short cable and an extension. I'm going to use them without the extension. They are going to look great.

Yes, I think it's a pity that the headphones are the old type but I haven't used the pack-ins since my first iPod, and I think a lot of people will use a better pair.

Posted by Japester on November 2, 2006 at 7:03 AM (PDT)

28

Does anyone have one of these in their hot little hands yet?? If so, I want to know what the quality of the clip is like. Does it hold well, or is it anemic?

Posted by eben on November 2, 2006 at 8:54 AM (PDT)

29

"Does anyone have one of these in their hot little hands yet?? If so, I want to know what the quality of the clip is like. Does it hold well, or is it anemic?"

I received mine today (2 actually...one engraved and one plain). They were shipped from China on the 29th and delivered today. The clip seems fine, certainly strong enough for a shirt sleeve, pocket, belt loop, whatever.

Posted by DCom in Suwanee, GA on November 2, 2006 at 10:20 AM (PDT)

30

I received mine today, too. It's charging now. It does indeed come with the same old headphones, though like others, I won't be using them, so it doesn't matter to me.

Just a couple of observations:

The USB cable on the dock seems very flimsy. Don't be using it for any Roger Daltrey impersonations.

There's already a software update for the shuffle. The only way you'll find out about it is by selecting Check for Updates... from the iTunes menu in iTunes 7.0.x. (Those are the instructions for the Mac version of iTunes. I'm sure Windows users will figure it out without any help.)

Posted by orgel in Falls Church, VA on November 2, 2006 at 10:31 AM (PDT)

31

Hi, gang. Just received my 2G Shuffle this morning (actually a gift for my S.O., who flipped when she opened the box:-)). Very nicely done – if overall performance (battery life, etc.) lives up to or near my initial impression, there'll be a lot of happy new 'Pod people out there. Cupertino's going to sell a zillion of 'em. Yes, the 'phones packed with this one are the old ones, but for a first-time user they're far from terrible (I use the ones I got with my recently-purchased factory-refurb 4G iPod Photo, although most of the time I use the A-T ATH-EM7 clip-ons I got soon after getting my 'Pod).

And...no need for an accessory case! Just clip on, switch on, go. (There's a new slogan for you, Steve...)

The ONE thing I didn't check out is how this new Shuffle deals with third-party PCI USB 2.0 ports (I installed one in galfriend's G4 tower; her younger son has hooked up his iPod Video to it with no issues). Other than the somewhat-known problem of waking a Mac so-equipped from sleep whenever anything is plugged into said ports, I'm hoping there's no problem charging up the Shuffle from these ports. I'll report back with results for anyone interested.

- Barrett

Posted by amateriat on November 2, 2006 at 1:32 PM (PDT)

32

My 2G Shuffle arrived Wednesday. It's a fab little device that is so small, it might be easy to lose. I didn't use the headphones that came with it, have better ones i use with my Nano. Soud quality of the Shuffle is not as good as the Nano I hav to say, even with good headphones, it lacks treble clarity and i have yet to find a way to change the EQ on it. Bass is Ok though. I'd day it's 85% of the audio quality of the Nano. My main use is just to put new albums i buy or just put a few compilation of tracks on it for short journies/ day trips. Forthat it's great.

Posted by mart356 on November 3, 2006 at 7:30 AM (PDT)

33

Mart356 - Shuffles don't do EQ.

Frankly, I am surprised that there is any notable audible difference in the new Shuffle when compared with other iPods - it is so simple and cheap to design decent output stages for these devices. I will have to listen for myself to decide if there is anything to it.

I have a 1G Shuffle for workouts, and like it very much for that limited purpose when I don't want a screen to look at or damage. A combination of a full size iPod and a Shuffle gives you a lot of options when you go out.

Posted by BradPDX in Portland, OR USA on November 3, 2006 at 11:01 AM (PDT)

34

Just used my 2nd gen ipod in the gym yesterday! this is the best ipod for working out. Just clip it and go. Before, I was using the 1st gen which is super light and on a arm band. But, when you try to do arm exercises, it constricts.

this 2nd gen bad boy is light on the shirt and no constriction!

good job apple

Posted by darthipod on November 3, 2006 at 3:19 PM (PDT)

35

Just to hop back into this thread: I happen to think that this second iteration of the Shuffle makes a bit more sense than the first. The review stresses the fact that the Shuffle lacks a few perks that the cheapest nano offers (color screen, etc.), but seems to somewhat ignore the flip side of this argument: utter simplicity and freedom from eyestrain.

This might seem amusing at first, but think about it: since you essentially wear the new shuffle (and without having to buy an extra gadget to do so) as opposed to stuffing it in a bag or pocket, it's a lot easier to operate it purely by touch as opposed to staring at the thing in your hand (you could do this with most any iPod, of course, but it's a bit more intuitive with this newest Shuffle). To make a Star Trek analogy (sorry, folks – only thing that comes to mind at the moment), think of Kirk's Communicator versus Picard's Federation "smart" badge: in the latter case, there's nothing to whip out, stare at and twiddle with – it's all by touch. (Screen size is a reason I chose to go with a refurbished iPod Photo instead of a new 8GB nano; having an extra 52GB to play with dosen't hurt, either.)

The new Shuffle strikes me as the design Apple probably wanted to do from the get-go, but wasn't ready for when they felt the time was ripe for a flash-based player, and decided to go with the simpler, pack-of-Wrigley's design instead. The new Shuffle epitomises Apple's minimalist strengths quite nicely. If you need more features or capacity than this offers, there's always the nano. But I'm betting a lot of people will find this Shuffle "just right", whether it's their first iPod or an adjunct to their bigger 'Pod.

(This brings to mind the old joke about what might have happened if radio had been invented after television: two kids meet in a playground, and one of them boasts, "Hey, guess what? My Dad came home today with this great new thing called a "radio". You plug it in and turn it on, and you don't have to look at it!")

And, being wearable, brushed aluminum goes with everything. wink (But I'm betting on a few flourishes of color in a while...you know how Apple is.)


- Barrett

Posted by amateriat on November 3, 2006 at 4:24 PM (PDT)

36

I got one of this new shuffle today.
http://blog.williamli.org/2006/11/04/ipod-shuffle-2nd-gen/

I already own a 80GB iPod but carrying around while I was running / doing other sport seems to be a real worry.

I bought this over a nano that just cost a bit more because when I go out to exercise, i don't really read the screen and the included clip also save me $$ (1/3 the cost of the shuffle) from don't have to get an arm band.

Posted by williamli1983 on November 4, 2006 at 12:29 AM (PDT)

37

amateriat: This basically goes without saying if you've used any screened iPod released over the last couple of years, but if you crave simplicity, hit the "Shuffle Songs" command from the iPod's main menu (or pick any playlist for that matter, or just hit "play" when the unit is first turned on and on top of the option "Music"), and marvel at the iPod's ability to be operated without looking at the screen.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on November 4, 2006 at 7:34 AM (PDT)

38

I agree with you that it's not a great value but I think the original Shuffle served a few purposes:

a) There was a sales gap in the lower end.
b) Pricing it aggressively was to bring in fence sitters on the whole ipod thing. The shuffle served as a low price trial thing.

As you point out, with aggressive pricing, Apple was also making a statement but Apple was also clever enough to make it distinctive so that sales of the higher end ipods were not affected by a lot - now with Shuffle 2G, the stakes are slightly differently.

2 years later, the ipod no longer needs a cheaper than cheap introduction. If you want the ipod experience and cachet, it's going to cost you a bit more - as you point, there are cheaper models but the only people those are really selling to are for people who hate Apple (for bizarro psychological reasons - they loath the ipod because it's too "popular" yet hate mac users for not joining in the Windows crowd - just bizarre) and people who don't know any better and think DAP are all the same ... but look at it this way. If you're giving your assistant a player for the holidays, what does it say if you buy a non-ipod? You have no clue? You are cheap? You don't think they're worth the best? EXACTLY. For people who buy by specs, the best value is really the regular ipod in terms of options and storage but Apple is smart enough to have somethig for everyone but ALL with the ipod name stamped on it. it's not cheap but it's a classy holiday choice - it's the "best' and it's basically the price of dinner for 2 (w/o wine) ... it's like the fact that Tiffany champagne glasses cost at least twice as much as any other nice store but when you hand over a Tiffany blue box, it means you decided they were worth it ...

That Steve Jobs guy, he's no dummy.

Posted by jbelkin on November 4, 2006 at 8:31 PM (PDT)

39

I bought a new Shuffle for a friend for a birthday gift. He has no computer, so I'm betting that this is the perfect thing for him. I'll load it up for him, and then all he has to do is push a button to listen to music.

See ya
Steve

Posted by Stephen Worth in North Hollywood, CA on November 4, 2006 at 9:17 PM (PDT)

40

I'm owning a 3G iPod and a Shuffle. I use the Shuffle for workout. I don't miss the screen for a second.

You don't have to worry about dropping the Shuffle, and you can just put in a pocket of a shirt or your trousers, it is so leightweight it won't bother you while running or pulling and pushing at weigths.

Now the Shuffle is even smaller and you can clip it on; even more compelling for a workout.

Maybe, on the surface the Shuffle is a bad investment, compared to a Nano or other cheap Flash based players, but I'm seriously contemplating to replace my older Shuffle for this new one, just because it is even smaller.

Posted by tennapel on November 5, 2006 at 1:49 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.