Apple Computer iPod shuffle (Second-Generation) | iLounge

Reviews

41

I have had my shuffle for 5 days now and have used it a couple of times in the gym. I bought it primarily for this purpose and also for use skiing and cycling where should an accident befall it, I won't be too heartbroken! I have a 3G iPod 30gb and plan to get a new 80gb iPod early next year to keep everything on (I use my iPods almost exclusively for music).

The new shuffle is basic, yes, but I find the sound quality good, (sennheiser in ear buds) and the convenience factor makes it worth the purchase price alone. I have found though, on two different laptops, that the transfer rate of songs (i use 128 AAC for the shuffle to keep size down)is pretty slow on USB2, even when the songs are already encoded at 128.

Does what its supposed to very well. And looks and feels fantastic. Cheers.

Posted by barnetto on November 6, 2006 at 2:00 AM (PDT)

42

This review ignores one important aspect of the Shuffle: the freedom that comes from loss of control. To load up 240 songs and then sit back and see what comes out can be a lot more fun than slaving over playlists or scrolling through a list of 2,000 songs or debating whether and which photos to carry around, etc. Reviewers tend to obsess about features because they need to parse the differences between one model and another, but sometimes a lack of features becomes an important feature in itself.

Posted by ScottL on November 6, 2006 at 8:58 AM (PDT)

43

I have a 1024mb 1G shuffle, but the headphone port loosened over the coarse of 8 months and then it started playing stereo only when i applied light pressure to the headphone plug in one direction. (Yes, it is the iPod at fault, not the headphones) I'm wondering if I should replace it with a new, durable, 2G shuffle, or consider a Nano or a Zune or something.

and Orgel, send the iPod headphones to 3044 edgewood ave s, SLP MN, 55426 and i'll send you the cost of shipping. smile
-G Babatz

Posted by DrinkMorePowerade on November 6, 2006 at 10:39 PM (PDT)

44

Clip: absolutely no problem...!
Earphones: you know them already- they're the old ones so as good/bad as you thought before (I thought they were ok but I prefer my (also pretty cheap) Panasonic ones with the volume control on).
If you are a runner- why would you want a screen? This is absolutely the best (and cheapest) option... unless you plan on exercising for more than 16 hours, in which case you will run out of music... Very glad I didn't buy a Nano, however pretty that new red one is! -Rob

Posted by robjacks on November 7, 2006 at 7:57 AM (PDT)

45

"the ratio of features to price between the iPod shuffle and its closest alternative, the iPod nano, is no longer even close"

Eh?? This is around half the price of a low end nano!?!?

Just got mine yesterday and I am suitably impressed with the build and sound quality. My only critisism is the itunes software is just a piece of sh1te bloatware!! It just doesn't work! Everytime I try to copy music, update or restore I get read/write errors! Now I have installed anapod and it works a treat. Who on earth wants a software application to 'organise' their music for them anyway?? Give me an explorer style interface any day!!

Posted by mr335 on November 10, 2006 at 4:23 AM (PDT)

46

I have had my new Shuffle for a few days and in general I have been impressed with it.

My previous iPod was a 40Gb 4G with which I used Sony Fontopia in-ear phones. First problem I have encountered is that these phones really don't work very well with the Shuffle. The sound is lifeless and unexciting. However I tried it with my new Sennheiser PX100 on-ear open phones and the sound really comes to life. If you are disappointed with the sound it might be worth trying other phones.

The other issue (if it can be called such) is that I can now hear the limitations of encoding at 128Kbps, especially with mp3s, but also with AAC to a lesser extent. I am hoping that this is because the reproduction quality of the equipment is such that it is showing up the shortcomings of the compression, rather than the Shuffle itself being the culprit. I will do some comparisons at different bitrates.

The aluminium casing is really attractive and looks to be very wear resistant. I confess to being nervous about the longevity of the headphone/USB socket but only time will tell on that.

Posted by Mr Squiddy on November 19, 2006 at 6:41 AM (PDT)

47

As a few folks have noted: the teeny-tiny Shuffle is absolutely the way to go if you only use a music player when you are at the gym - like me. I'm not a hipster doofus - I don't carry a music player anywhere in my daily life - the only time that I need to have "music to go" is when I am at the gym, and the Shuffle is absolutely perfect. It carries way more than enough tunes/podcasts to get me through several workouts each week - don't need any multi-GB storage for that. The first-gen Shuffle was awesome, but having picked up the next-gen Shuffle over the weekend, I am even more amazed. The clip is solid - I have no worries that it will fail or fall off. The sound quality - to my normal, non-Equalizer ears - is just as good as the original Shuffle. And what the hell would I need a screen for? I know what songs I loaded!

My review for both the Shuffle and the next-gen Shuffle: a very solid "A" rating!

Posted by davidmsc on November 25, 2006 at 8:54 PM (PDT)

48

You know what? I love the Shuffle.

There are players in its price category with more features. Fine. I could buy a player with games, an FM tuner, line-in recording, and possibly even video/photo support for about the same price (Zen V Plus, around $89 after rebate). Fine.

But who gives a crap? It's $80, it's tiny, it's easy to use, and it plays music! My cellphone plays music, but buying a 1GB microSD card and the stupid heeadphone adapter will cost at least $60. I don't want something that's complicated. I don't want something that takes up a lot of room in my pocket.

Clip it on, turn it on, triple-press play, and listen to some damned music. You don't have to "boot it up", you don't have to screw around with the interface.

Oh, and because there's no display, it's easier to listen to while driving. And another bonus: put it on playlist mode and you begin to develop a "feel" for your music. You know what will be next, which is kind of fun.

Posted by bsoft16384 on December 16, 2006 at 6:07 PM (PDT)

49

I weird, I admit it. I don't listen to much music. I *do* listen to a lot of audio books from Audible though. The Shuffle will hold 250 *hours* of Audible books (format 2). I find that amazing considering the size. I couldn't be happier.

There are a couple of mentions on the web about the Shuffle going into a "deep sleep" mode to conserve the battery if you pause it and leave it paused without turning it off. Anyone know anything about that? Details and confirmation are hard to come by. How is the battery life on these things? 12-18 hours?

Posted by dje on January 6, 2007 at 8:39 AM (PDT)

50

This is ridiculous!! Piece of junk! I have purchased 5 diferent types of Ipods over the past few years, 7 if you count two I gave as gifts. I just purchased my 5th personal Ipod this past weekend Ipod "shuffle 2nd Gen". Great size format, but a piece of junk. My current video Ipod is mainly used for my car stereo and my home stereo. Over the years I have determined that the best sound quality is the Apple Lossless file format. Apple has decided that their own shuffle device will play almost any other audio compression format but their own. The shuffle will NOT play apple lossless! Apparently this has been so since their 1st gen shuffle. Who cares why they decided to omit the format small device or not. I just need the shuffle to carry short playlists for my workouts. Now with just over 1500 songs I am going to have to re-import all 1500 songs from more than a 150 CD's. Then keep duplicate lists of all songs over 3000!!! Just so I will be able to take lower resolution songs when I go running. JUNK!!! I am a firm believer in a lot of apple products but you can bet your bottom dollar that I took the shuffle back the next day. If apple dosent believe in their apple lossless then now neither do I. I guess it's back to MP3....

Posted by maxepic on February 5, 2007 at 7:48 AM (PDT)

51

I've had a new shuffle since release but rarely use it. However I use my gen 1 shuffle all the time. Why? The sound quality. With my 256kbps AAC files it sounds terrific, better than any other iPod we possess (5G, nano and mini). Why they felt the need to dump the old model's best feature is anyone's guess. It makes it a redundant device for me.

Posted by drevo_uk in UK on February 9, 2007 at 7:22 AM (PDT)

52

Can anyone tell me if the 2G shuffle will work with an fm transmitter, so I can listen to the shuffle over my car radio? Thanks in advance.

Posted by Bruces911 on April 15, 2007 at 3:45 PM (PDT)

Page 3 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.