Apple Computer iPod with video (Enhanced Fifth-Generation 30GB/80GB) | iLounge

Reviews

41

iLounge states that one of the "Cons" is that the 2.5" screen of the iPod is "still" too small for long-term video watching, and yet they also nag on the iPod nano for not having video playback, and the nano has an even smaller screen! What the hell's the point of that?!

Posted by Cad on September 17, 2006 at 4:29 PM (PDT)

42

Brandon, I'd have to say you're wrong about the battery life. It's not due to an enhanced battery, as an enhanced battery would have boosted other functions besides just video. And I highly doubt that any amount of more efficient processing is going to give the iPod 1.5 more hours of video battery life. And the gapless playback worked flawlessly on my older 5th gen ipod.

Posted by kreg37 on September 17, 2006 at 9:21 PM (PDT)

43

Cad: We haven't "nagged" on the nano for lacking video playback, we've just noted that it's not a feature.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on September 18, 2006 at 6:59 AM (PDT)

44

I have limited resources in the financial department, so I haven't updated my iPod since the version that had the four buttons above the click wheel (2G?). I hunger for the video iPod, and have been patiently waiting for the unbeatable version because I won't be able to upgrade for a few more years. I realize no one knows when a better model is on the horizon, but based on previous announcements, when do they usually announce upgrades? Would it be at the Macworld Expo in early January? Is that when the iTV box is being released?

Posted by bookcase on September 18, 2006 at 7:21 AM (PDT)

45

So here we are, one year on, and you lot wet yourselfs over a brighter bulb and a search function!

My 4G iPod is my second iPod, and my LAST iPod... NEVER again Apple.

I don't like being screwed every 6-12 months, and what am I being screwed by? A feature that should be a simple firmware update to MOST iPods. I get it Apple, make a new feature in your firmware, and some money-grabbing suit says, "ok, lets call it the next gen iPod" oh my god... NEVER again Apple.

Posted by Stimpy on September 18, 2006 at 6:13 PM (PDT)

46

With regards to the new "search feature"

If you hold the centre button - after results are displayed (from the search) it will move you to them (instead of requiring you to select done) (dont just click the centre button as this will repeat the prev char)

saves time

cheers - Julian

Posted by jmolyneux on September 18, 2006 at 7:56 PM (PDT)

47

If you have an firewire cable from a previous generation of ipod is it possible to use this to sync with these new ipods?

Posted by robroe in Manchester, UK on September 19, 2006 at 5:37 AM (PDT)

48

robre,

no, the new ipods cannot sync over firewire. they can only charge via firewire.

Posted by mrfett in Washington, D.C. on September 19, 2006 at 3:30 PM (PDT)

49

Stimpy,

I'm sure you'll be holding off on that new computer with a faster CPU and better video. You'll also curse the company that made your TV for ceasing production on that model within a couple years (nevermind that they ALL do it). Yes, damn that Apple for moving forward with technology rather than sitting still and keeping their old tech- even though new tech becomes available and costs less every year- because YOU already bought one of their products.

Don't buy an HDTV, because eventually any one you buy will be outclassed by the manufacturer's next model. Don't buy an HD-DVD player, because you'll be screwed when they make a better model that has a better search feature or a different connector on the back.

Damn those technology companies for making cassette tape and completely blowing the vinyl industry!!!

. . .Or you could accept that ANYTHING you buy today will be surpassed by new technology in a year, at best. It's the real world. Stop blaming the company for doing the same thing that every manufacturer has done since the industrial revolution.

Posted by Wilder_K_Wight on September 21, 2006 at 7:06 PM (PDT)

50

Wilder_K_Wight, Stimpy is not complaining that an iPod he bought has been obsoleted by a new one. That is not his complaint at all! Re-read his post again, he's complaining that the new features on the "enhanced" video iPod are for the most part, simply firmware changes, that could easily be implemented on existing iPods. Apple is forcing you to buy a new iPod in order for you to use a simple search feature - this is not a hardware change at all, they have a history of making firmware changes and not making them available to past customers. Many customers feel that hardware changes should drive customers to upgrade, not the fact that upgrading is the only way to obtain firmware changes that could easily be made available to past iPods. He is also complaining that the new "enhanced" video iPod has nothing really new in hardware (other than a brighter screen and a little extra memory), and is disappointed that a year after the video iPod was introduced there has not been a significant change in hardware.

Posted by d-bone on September 22, 2006 at 7:53 AM (PDT)

51

I have a ipod photo 20gig. I’m going to get one of the new ipod videos in about a week and I was wondering if the difference of the quality of hard-drives mentioned in the review will effect the time at which I can download music to my ipod. Also if the quality would effect the amount of times I could erase and put new media or music on the ipod video. In other words which video’s hard-drive would last longer?

Posted by do_you_pod?ipod on September 22, 2006 at 9:00 AM (PDT)

52

The biggest difference for me between the old 60GB 5G I ordered on the original release day and my new 80GB Enhanced from the Apple Store?

The Enhanced sounds better. Both are running the 1.2 firmware, but between these two it's clear to me that the Enhanced is considerably more than a mere firmware tweak and a brighter screen (though personally as an audio-only user, I actually like the lesser lumens of the old 60GB unit--less energy usage, and less glaring in low light).

I thought the original 5G sounded pretty good, certainly the best that an iPod ever sounded. But the Enhanced is even better; details are more evident, and the overall sound is less murky than with the 60GB 5G.

Pleasantly surprised...this was one aspect I hadn't been expecting.

Posted by flatline response on September 25, 2006 at 10:31 PM (PDT)

53

How does the 5.5G Ipod Video SOUND compared to the 8GB 2G Nano? Has anyone done a side by side comparison with a good headset? (I know the answer will be subjective)

Posted by LarryL on October 26, 2006 at 1:50 PM (PDT)

54

My old 4th Generation 20GB ipod has recently packed in and I was planning to buy the new 30GB ipod, but I was wondering if i have to uninstall my old ipod from my laptop, or do I just plug in the new one and it'll connect to my old itunes and transfer files as normal?

Posted by flesh-was-sweet on January 22, 2007 at 3:26 AM (PDT)

55

I never understand the complaint about Apple upgrading only the most current line of iPods. I've had an iPod since the 4G's came out in 2004. I've had Apple computers since 2000. I just bought (or rather the wife bought me) an 80GB 5G which I'm sure will soon be blown out of the water by the 6Gs that are surely on their way within a month or two. But, I'm not going to moan about how Apple screwed me or something. I just don't understand why Apple is expected to keep upgrading previous generations of iPods. Last time I checked the iPod was a product and Apple was a business. I remember when I bought my 4G and then the 5Gs came out. I didn't get mad. See, I'd already had upgrades to the firmware that made audiobooks and podcasts available and smart playlists. I just think it's totally unreasonable to expect Apple to keep enhancing a product that you already bought. Where does this idea come from? If I buy a new car, I don't expect the company to keep putting new features into it long after I've left the showroom. I don't get it. If you want a better doodad then you have to pay for it. That's the way it has always worked. Apple's not screwing people, they're making money, which is what businesses do.

Posted by gurp13 on February 13, 2007 at 1:42 PM (PDT)

56

I recently bought an 80G. For the most part it is fine. However, whenever I leave it unused for 24 hours or so or if I put it in lock mode, it must be re-booted before playing again. This is quite annoying. Is this a defect or is this standard for the 80G. This did not happen with the 40G.

Posted by robertl on April 21, 2007 at 10:35 PM (PDT)

Page 3 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.