Logitech AudioStation High-Performance Stereo System for iPod | iLounge

Reviews

21

I am the recipient of not one, but two defective units - both purchased thru Amazon. The first one made awful popping/static discharge noises before it just died; the second one's volume button didn't work. I must be a glutton for punishment, because I just ordered a replacement - at least Amazon is good about that. Logitech Support, on the other hand, has been spotty - sometimes fast, sometimes dreadfully slow. Maybe they're too busy fielding tech support questions about this shoddy product. Third time's a charm, or three strikes and you're out? I'm not holding my breath, but I do have my fingers crossed...

Posted by budzilla on December 18, 2006 at 10:15 PM (PDT)

22

I'm also 0/2 on this unit through Amazon. On both units the touchscreens malfunctioned. Amazon makes it easy and has paid shipping to return both units. I received the second one in four days, but after it failed they sent me this email:

"As it seems that the problem with this item is more widespread than we originally thought, we are not able to send another replacement. We will investigate and remedy the situation with the item; however, I cannot guarantee when the error may be fixed. I would request you to please return the item we will refund you in full for the return of this item including the return shipping costs."

Maybe this has something to do with their further discount of this system to $250?

As an aside, this thing sounds great. I wonder if anyone has gotten it to work though.

Posted by jfizzle on December 28, 2006 at 9:27 PM (PDT)

23

I have the same question as Tras . . . "Does anyone know if it's possible to synchronize an iPod and a PC using this station as a docking station"? Thanks all, and Happy New Year!

Posted by snohflake on December 31, 2006 at 9:04 AM (PDT)

24

I just got one of these and I have a few questions for anyone who can help.

1. I am using it with an Ipod nano and I have to take off the skin to get it into the docking station. Is there a skin that I can get that would not need to be removed.

2. How exactly do you take out the dock adapters? If I want to use it with a different type of ipod, i'll need to replace it with a different adapter, but I can't figure out how to get out the dock adaptor short of prying it off with a screwdriver (I haven't tried this yet).

3. Is there a way that I can use the remote to switch between playlists on the ipod?

Thanks.

Posted by elmanx on December 31, 2006 at 8:10 PM (PDT)

25

Having now had two defective units now(volume control issue), I too am frustrated. But since the Audiostation meets my needs exactly, I'd like to hold out for one that works. The defective units both came from Best Buy. I'm ordering from Logitech directly this time. Since they've supposedly corrected the problem, I figure my odds should be better that this unit will be OK. I do think it's interesting that there has been no response to the reports of problems from the moderator on Logitech's discussion board...

Posted by mdschlanger on January 1, 2007 at 12:43 PM (PDT)

26

I purchased an Audiostation recently. Before purchasing the Audiostation, I tested it side-by-side with a Bose SoundDock, Altec-Lansing M602 and an Apple Hi-Fi. I was also able to use my own iPod, so I was using music that I was familiar with.

My wife and I were stunned by the sound quality of the Audiostation and none of the other systems came close. Before the test, I had read Jeremy's review but I was expecting to be impressed with the SoundDock. In my opinion, the SoundDock only bested the Apple Hi-Fi. The Audiostation had more detail to the sound and definitely a wider frequency response.

While we were doing our listening test, another couple walked in to look at iPod speaker systems. From their comments, I think they were pretty much planning to get a SoundDock. After listening with us, they picked up an Audiostation and went straight to the cash register.

Posted by fuel0707 on January 2, 2007 at 9:19 PM (PDT)

27

I am happy to report that Logitech has officially acknowledged the control panel problem and is replacing affected units (see link below). I ordered my latest Audiostation- the first two had the control panel issue- directly from Logitech hoping they had corrected the defect. Not only did it arrive with lightening speed (1 1/2 days to NY with free shipping), but it is clearly a new batch- even the box is different. This unit works perfectly so far.

If you have an Audiostation with this problem, see this page. I notice that it was just put up yesterday...

http://logitech-en-amr.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/logitech_en_amr.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=5926&p_created=1167758826&p_sid=7nT86Nqi&p_accessibility=0&p_lva=&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5PSZwX2dyaWRzb3J0PSZwX3Jvd19jbnQ9MzUmcF9wcm9kcz0wJnBfY2F0cz0mcF9wdj0mcF9jdj0mcF9zZWFyY2hfdHlwZT1hbnN3ZXJzLnNlYXJjaF9ubCZwX3BhZ2U9MSZwX3NlYXJjaF90ZXh0PWRlZmVjdGl2ZSBhdWRpb3N0YXRpb24*&p_li=&p_topview=1

Posted by mdschlanger on January 3, 2007 at 1:03 PM (PDT)

28

I want to use the device as a clock in my bedroom. Can anyone tell me if the display can be turned off completely? I am a bit light-sensitive, so it wouldn't be acceptable for me when there is coming light from the display at night.

Thanks!

Posted by paloema on January 7, 2007 at 8:17 AM (PDT)

29

Will the Audiostation accept my iPod 5G with an eVo3 iSkin?

Posted by joe_bloggins on January 18, 2007 at 6:13 AM (PDT)

30

paloema - the user's guide says that you can turn the brightness and I just tried it. However, it is still fairly bright. If you're light-sensitive, it will probably provide too much brightness in your room unless place a towel or something over it before you go to sleep.

Posted by fuel0707 on January 21, 2007 at 3:15 PM (PDT)

31

UPDATE for paloema - I re-read the instructions. There are separate menu items for brightness with the AudioStation is off and when it's on. If you set the "Brightness (off)" to "Display off", the face off the unit is blank when the Audiostation is turned off. So you can make the display go blank when the unit's off, but you can't see the clock at that point. Maybe that is what you are seeking.

Posted by fuel0707 on January 21, 2007 at 3:24 PM (PDT)

32

Alas for the price. I got an im7 new for $150 at Sam's Club and love everything about it except for the hinge mechanism (just a neusance) and not knowing where the bass and treble levels are relative to flat. Oh well - unbeatable quality for the price. Hopefully the Audiostation will inspire lansing to innovate their great first editions. Long live the im7!!

Posted by JHCIV on March 30, 2007 at 11:54 AM (PDT)

33

Just purchased the AudioStation. Happy with Sound quality and all additional features.

However - the device seems to radiate a lot of heat -even while only using Radio (withouth Ipod in dock) and even more so when using with Ipod

Has anyone noticed the same?

Posted by thakniki on April 3, 2007 at 7:53 PM (PDT)

34

So these speakers can't be battery powered? Is iM7 still the best option for best battery powered speakers?

Tahnks

Posted by instiqator on April 5, 2007 at 4:35 AM (PDT)

35

instiqator - the unit is not battery-powered. Plug it into an electrical outlet and enjoy it.

If you need a battery-powered unit, the best thing to do is listen to several options in person.

Posted by fuel0707 on April 11, 2007 at 4:17 PM (PDT)

36

I'm very impressed by the review & comments in favor of the Audiostation. I'm thinking about buying it, but need to know if the radio sound issues Jeremy H. points out in his review are serious or not. I'm a huge radio fan and intend to use the Audiostation not just for my iPod, but also for listening to 'regular,' as well as Internet radio. Any words of experience?

Posted by Nosferatu2000 on April 12, 2007 at 8:26 PM (PDT)

37

Just received mine a couple of days ago, from a certain website with "buy" in the name, and their inventory seems not to be plagued by the defective units (my audiostation had a PID of 645). its sounds great, with none of the volume control problems discussed earlier. however, what it now suffers from is that the controls designated to navigate ipod playlists do not, rather they now seem to toggle both shuffle and repeat options on the ipod. Is this due to an ipod update that changed the configuration of the dock pins? I'm running 1.2.1, is there someone running an earlier version of ipod firmware who can navigate their playlists with the remote?

Posted by acostaa on April 25, 2007 at 8:34 AM (PDT)

38

Does the Audiostation work with a 30 gig video ipod?

Posted by chica8 on May 27, 2007 at 9:12 AM (PDT)

39

Can the aux port in back be used to connect a cd player?

Posted by myster on June 22, 2007 at 9:43 PM (PDT)

40

I thought it was safe to buy one. Alas, the touch panel debacle lives on, at least in nyc. Yep our unit was one of the lemons. It's not just that louder volume that doesn't work, the whole panel freezes up after a couple of touches.

Shame on logitech and best buy. These should have been recalled by the companies instead of making the customer jump through the hoop. For an expensive piece of equipment, there is a glaring lack of QC.

Posted by fortunatefool on July 1, 2007 at 3:49 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.