Griffin iKaraoke Karaoke for Your iPod | iLounge

Reviews

1

How is this a Karaoke Machine?? It has no way to see the lyrics! Sorry but the only song I have memorized is Rudolph the Red Nose Raindeer.

Posted by kinteract@aol.com on October 17, 2006 at 4:55 PM (PDT)

2

your iPod can display lyrics by clicking the center button several times during playback

Posted by anti-luddite on October 17, 2006 at 5:59 PM (PDT)

3

Uhm, I really have no opinion on this one. I think it would be pretty fun, but not something that I would buy!:P

Posted by johnnay. on October 17, 2006 at 6:58 PM (PDT)

4

Can you use it to record ? I heard that there is a hidden Voice Recorder app in the iPod.

Posted by niclet on October 18, 2006 at 5:39 AM (PDT)

5

Not really hidden. It activates when a mic is plugged in...just like the radio remote.

Posted by Gordy. in Atlanta, GA on October 18, 2006 at 5:59 AM (PDT)

6

The questions stands though...does this device record?

Posted by Gordy. in Atlanta, GA on October 18, 2006 at 6:00 AM (PDT)

7

It is not true that you just click the middle button and lyrics magically appear. I went on their website and nowhere does it say that lryics show up. sorry it is basically hooking up a mic to you ipod should be called imic.

Posted by kinteract@aol.com on October 18, 2006 at 6:24 AM (PDT)

8

So, kinteract. You have a nano or 5g ipod and have never read any of the manuals? Both are capable of displaying lyrics, its not a feature of the griffin device. Its a feature of the ipod itself.

Posted by cmsr on October 18, 2006 at 9:16 AM (PDT)

9

I, too, would like to know if this could be used as a voice recorder. The hardware is small and it would be ideal for interviews or single person podcasts.

Posted by Dechter on October 18, 2006 at 9:30 AM (PDT)

10

Lyrics can be added to your music within iTunes preferences on both Mac and PC. You can access the lyrics by clicking the center button on your iPod or 4 times consecutively to access. I have been adding lyrics to most of my favorite MP3's for a while and this device was the missing link, now I can show off my vocal talents on the road....

ehem ehem...here it goes...hope I get it right this time... Do-re-mi-fa-so-la-tiiiiiiiiiii!


I'm also interested to find out if this device also had recording abilities. Now I am using a Belking recorder on my 8GB - 2G ipod nano(Black). I have tested the Belkin recorder on the other 2G nanos, and they also work like a charm.

http://images.belkin.com/F8Z082/PRN1_F8Z082.jpg

Posted by jojomascalero on October 18, 2006 at 8:05 PM (PDT)

11

It doesn't have recording capabilities.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on October 19, 2006 at 3:49 PM (PDT)

12

I see what you mean about putting the lyrics on the iPod. But lets be honest I have to put them in myself and it doesn't move like Karaoke songs do. The whole shtick to Karaoke is that is promps me to sing when I should sing. Someone should make that happen.

Posted by kinteract@aol.com on October 20, 2006 at 7:24 PM (PDT)

13

You can use kJams to generate karaoke video files that play perfectly on the iPod:

http://www.kjams.com/

Posted by Fofer on November 2, 2006 at 9:24 AM (PDT)

14

does kjams work with pc? i don't have a mac. out of interest, how to u add lyrics to ipod? thanks heaps! cheers, Minh

Posted by Minh on July 7, 2007 at 12:32 AM (PDT)

15

nevermind about adding lyrics, just read the mannual... sounds uber combersome to me!:-), just bought it today.... great little machine. if kjams work with pc then that would be awsome! i can sing any song i want

Posted by Minh on July 7, 2007 at 12:40 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.