Jensen JiMS-190 / JiMS-200 Docking Digital Music Systems for iPod | iLounge

Reviews

1

Great design! I would get one if i did not have an old $500 bose cube system in my bedroom.

Posted by anti-luddite on November 13, 2006 at 7:33 PM (PDT)

2

This visually excites me about as little as JVC's offerings.

Posted by SouthernGothic on November 14, 2006 at 5:52 AM (PDT)

3

I'm picking one up tomorrow. One of the major retailers has a black Friday sale on them for $28!!

Posted by mgold on November 23, 2006 at 1:08 PM (PDT)

4

Has anyone listened to this yet? I am wondering how it sounds and if it works with the 2nd generation Nano.

Posted by jackel on November 24, 2006 at 12:26 PM (PDT)

5

So, I picked one up today and have to admit its pretty good. I don't know if it works with the new nano, but it should. As for my overall impression, there are a few minor complaints, mostly nit-picky things.

The biggest issue is sound quality. It's no replacement for a good quality sound system, but it works.

The case plastics match nicely with those of the iPod, nice and shiny. The problem is that they pick up fingerprints easily. The top of the 190 model has a blank plate on the top right side of the case (see the first two pics), which houses a 1st gen shuffle USB connector on the 200 model. IMHO, Jensen should have made a different piece for the 190.

Posted by mgold on November 24, 2006 at 1:30 PM (PDT)

6

I bought it today. It sounds excellent. It is by far better then any clock radio available on the market. A great thing about it is you can shut the light on the clock off with the snooze bar. It goes completly black, no lights at all. When you hit the snooze bar again, back on it comes.

Posted by Jeff S on November 24, 2006 at 6:45 PM (PDT)

7

I bought one of these today while I was dragged to Target at six in the morning and frankly I'm impressed by its decent offering and at 28 bucks it was a steal. My only regret is not buying two because this would have made a great expensive looking gift without the price.

Posted by Hoodooblues on November 24, 2006 at 7:16 PM (PDT)

8

Yeah, I was at Target at 6am as well. Definetely a tremendous bang for the buck at $28, and a pretty good value even at the retail price of $60.

Posted by mgold on November 24, 2006 at 7:30 PM (PDT)

9

well..I picked it up this morning 6am at Target. First impression...IT LOOKS PRETTY!
The shiney black color totally match my ipod.

For 28 bucks, I don't really expect the sound is good. However, when I tested it, it's pretty good. Of course it's not going to beat those permium one like Bose, but it's good enough.It's one of the best around it's retail price .

Little way to improve the sound....connect this machines to any AMP via the 3.5 headphone jack. READY TO BEAT THOSE HIGH-END PRODUCT!!! And actually that's what I am doing now.

Overall it's a excellent deal,even for the retail price at $60.For it stylish look and good sound quality, I am pretty sure people will pay more that $100 if it's from SONY!!!!!!!

Posted by PurpleShadow on November 25, 2006 at 12:14 AM (PDT)

10

I bought one of these also, the 190 at target and I also bought the 110 at CC. I can't decide which is better. Does anyone know? Bought it for Christmas for daughter.

Posted by mackee on November 25, 2006 at 6:28 PM (PDT)

11

I also got one of these from Target and enjoyed for the first day. The sound quality is nothing to write home about, but I'm not complaining for $28.

Unfortunately, today it started shutting off after playing for about 1 minute. I tried reseting the power to see if I could get it to stop doing this, but no luck so far. Pressing the on/off button turns it right back on and restores the iPod audio.

Posted by rewind on November 25, 2006 at 8:33 PM (PDT)

12

I got the 190 at Target as well. It worked great except that I couldn't get it to charge my iPod (4th Gen 20gb color), no matter what I did. The iPod charges fine with the wall adapter or through USB so I don't think it is the problem. Does everyone else's charge fine? Any other issues?

Posted by misery94 on November 27, 2006 at 8:58 AM (PDT)

13

My 190 charges my wife's 5th gen just fine, and I'll test my new 5h gen when I get home. As an alarm clock it works well. Some quirks that I have to get used to, mostly familiarity with the location of the buttons, especially early in the morning when you're feeling around in the dark. If the buttons were backlit it might help.

Posted by mgold on November 27, 2006 at 1:24 PM (PDT)

14

Picked this up for the $28 last week and love it. However, misplaced the manual... any good samaritans care to tell me which buttons to push to SET ALARM? (normally I'd think i'd be able to figure it out, oh well)

Posted by AdamPski on November 30, 2006 at 10:58 PM (PDT)

15

I'm having problems with the remote with the ipod buttons. They don't seem to work with my 5th gen Ipod video. Is anyone else experiencing this problem or do I have a faulty remote?

Posted by nemo121 on December 2, 2006 at 8:32 PM (PDT)

16

does the remote work with any other features (i.e. volume control, mode???). If it doesn't then make sure the plastic tab that protects the battery from discharging during shipping has been removed.

Posted by mgold on December 3, 2006 at 9:33 PM (PDT)

17

everything with the remote works, but those ipod buttons (rewind, play, forward) don't work. They light up the lcd screen when i push them but they don't do anything else. My ipod is updated to the latest software. Do I need to downgrade? or do I have a faulty remote.

Posted by nemo121 on December 9, 2006 at 6:31 PM (PDT)

18

Rewind posted on November 25th regarding the use of the JiMs 190 and shutting the IPOD off after 1 minute of use. Mine too is doing that, right out of the box. Any hints, or does it need to be returned?

Posted by dlkarle on December 24, 2006 at 8:07 AM (PDT)

19

JiMS 190 -- ipod shuts off too. Planning on returning it unless 3 of us are doing something wrong. dlkarle or Rewind -- what did you do?

Posted by calebfun on December 26, 2006 at 2:31 PM (PDT)

20

Returned it and bought the ihome for 69.99 at Costco. Much happier.

Posted by calebfun on December 28, 2006 at 8:24 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.