XtremeMac Luna Alarm Clock + Room Audio System for iPod | iLounge

Reviews

41

hey guys, i live in australia and i asked the mac store here and they said the ones they have are the 2.12E (note the E not the U) in store. I was wondering if they're still included in the 'new batch' or if i have to get something after U. thanks!

Posted by ilovemyjc on April 25, 2007 at 4:58 PM (PDT)

42

I went ahead and purchased the Luna from Amazon.com for $104. I got it today, and it was the old version. Aside from the poor FM reception, the Luna is really nice. Right after I bought it at the $104 price, Amazon.com bumped the price back up to $127. I'm guessing they were getting rid of the last of the 2.05 and are now selling the 2.12U. Just a guess.

Posted by bbobb on April 25, 2007 at 5:25 PM (PDT)

43

Well, see, that's what's odd. I wrote Xtrememac and they replied that the 2.12U has no shipping date yet. They estimate it will ship around June/July. I wrote Jeremy Horwitz to ask about it (since he obviously somehow acquired a new revision) but he hasn't yet replied.

Posted by Jeff Berman on April 26, 2007 at 10:16 AM (PDT)

44

That is strange. They made it seem like the new one was immediately ready to be shipped and sold. Oh well, I still plan on keeping the old version. I hardly listen to FM or AM when I have my iPod around. Best of luck finding the new version.

Posted by bbobb on April 26, 2007 at 5:35 PM (PDT)

45

I sent an e-mail asking xtrememac how could I determine the version of the Luna. If I purchased one and it was an old version, how could I upgrade the firmware by software update or returning it to the factory. This was their reply:

Unfortunately at this time we have not determined if and how firmware updates will be handled.

Posted by random9 on April 26, 2007 at 10:29 PM (PDT)

46

@ random9
one way of determining the version of Luna is to unplug it, and then plug it in again. On the start up screen where it says LUNA on the bottom left it will have a series of numbers. That is where it shows you the version/firmware as far as i can tell. That's how i did it at my apple store smile

Posted by ilovemyjc on April 27, 2007 at 4:51 AM (PDT)

47

I just received one of these units for my b-day that was purchased at an Apple store in NJ. It had firmware 2.06, back it goes until I can confirm that the newer 2.12 is out. Shame on xtreme for not allowing the end user an easy path for updating firmware, nor a way to identify firmware without opening the box!

Posted by mdp0430 on May 2, 2007 at 11:17 AM (PDT)

48

I just confirmed with xtrememac.com today that if you buy the Luna directly from them, you will be shipped the unit with the 2.12U firmware upgrade (they also confirmed this for me via e-mail).

So I ordered the Luna for myself tonight. When I receive it, I'll check to see which version of the firmware it has and post another comment accordingly.

Posted by mgmiller68 in Scarsdale, NY on May 29, 2007 at 5:20 PM (PDT)

49

Purchased a Luna from B&H about a month ago for $99. Poor radio with v2.02. Requested RMA from Xtrememac got the replacement today with v2.12. Radio is much better and everyone is happy now.

Posted by MrSunshine on May 29, 2007 at 9:37 PM (PDT)

50

What would be better is for xtrememac to list the differences between the various firmware releases so that consumers can make an intelligent decision on whether it's worth it to try to seek the 2.12U update. As it is, the Luna I bought on Amazon last week came with 2.11; generally everything seems to work as it should, though FM reception is spottier than with the foul old Sony CD alarm clock that the Lune replaces. Weak stations are hard to pick up, but the usual strong signals in the Seattle area come in pretty well, though there's still more static than with the old Sony (FM is about the ONLY thing the Sony did well).

There's a number of things in how my 2.11 Luna works that I don't like, but I don't have a clue if the 2.12 firmware fixes any of them. My biggest gripe, among many functional quibbles, goes to the volume control of the unit. For instance, whenever an iPod is mounted, any previous volume settings is reset and defaults to something much louder than previously select and desired. More irritating, when waking to an iPod the alarm starts the volume low nicely enough, but the bloody thing gradually increases the volume to ear-splitting, F-15 decibel levels, rather than just stop at where the volume control was last set at (I haven't tried waking to the radio, so I don't know if this endemic to the iPod section or a characteristic of the entire unit).

I'm curious if the 2.12 firmware addresses this, or if xtrememac thinks deafness is something we all should strive for and that they would be more than willing to provide the means with the Luna. Oh, for a simple, non-digital volume pot control. I can tell that--if I keep this Luna--the old Sony I hated with a passion will become a fond memory...who would've thunk it...

Welcome to the modern era.

Posted by flatline response on June 2, 2007 at 9:43 AM (PDT)

51

Okay, now that I've had my senior moment...I'm better now. Really.

I finally found the menu that controls the wake up volume and the snooze bar timing adjustment, which I also discovered works just fine in 2.11. I guess I have to take back all I said in my prior post. In fact, my disappointment with the Luna has lessened considerably, and is replaced by admiration over how flexible and clever the Luna really can be, even if it's still a bit rough around the edges in spots. At least once again the contempt I have towards the old Sony that the Luna replaced is again firmly entrenched in my psyche.

Just wish that there was less reliance on the remote to do certain things, like cycling through the station presets and for simple navigation of the iPod. Reaching for a remote control isn't one of my ingrained routines once the alarm clock goes off in the morning. But all-in-all, the 2.11 firmware seems to work well enough with the Luna.

Posted by flatline response on June 3, 2007 at 12:35 AM (PDT)

52

Can someone tell me the dimensions of the Luna? Thanks

Posted by cw2006 on June 3, 2007 at 6:53 PM (PDT)

53

As per my post on May 29th, today I received my Xtrememac Luna directly from Xtrememac.com. I powered it up and it the display indicated that it is indeed the 2.12U firmware version.

So this goes to prove that if you buy your Luna directly from Xtrememac.com, you will receive the 2.12U firmware version.

Posted by mgmiller68 in Scarsdale, NY on June 4, 2007 at 7:02 PM (PDT)

54

This product deserves its rating. Extrememac's done a great job with it. The clincher for me was the dimmer control - it goes down to nothing which is unusal and means we can have a faintly illuminated clock at night! Amazing how many clock radio makers don't do this. Oh, and it sounds really good at moderate listening levels.

Posted by drevo_uk in UK on June 27, 2007 at 7:59 AM (PDT)

55

A very good unit, true to what iLounge has covered in this review. I bought one a few days ago here in Melbourne, Australia.

See http://toohardtoget.blogspot.com/2007/07/good-morning-luna.html for my thoughts but it was really Jeremy's review that I relied on.

Thanks JH and thanks XtremeMac!...

Posted by kostasw on July 1, 2007 at 7:20 PM (PDT)

Page 3 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.