Bose TriPort IE In-Ear Headphones | iLounge

Reviews

1

Silicon ear tips are constantly falling off.

Posted by moem on February 23, 2007 at 7:41 PM (PDT)

2

These headphones do not provide as snug a fit or isolatation as other high end options, but they are more comfortable to wear and listen to (in quiet environments) for extended periods of time. The sound comes close to matching the Bose Over- Ear Tri-Ports and the sound stage is surprising for ear phones. I wear them primarily at work,at home reading, or when on walks with the dog, when I like to be able hear external noises (phone, cars, etc.) but external noises are still minimal.

They do not work well in environments where you would need better sound isolation or fit (working out, etc). But if you are looking for an alternative to over the ear headphones you would primarily use quiet environments, these are a very good choice. They can be worn for hours without fatique.

Posted by tschermer on February 24, 2007 at 12:52 AM (PDT)

3

I have these and really like them. On each silicon ear tip I put a tiny dot of glue so they stay in place. I ended up using a different size for each ear, it took some experimenting to find the right size. I can listen to it for hours and hours at work and not have problems. The sound is amazing, I have loyal CD listening friends who don't like iPods because they don't think the sound is ever as good, these convinced them that it can be better sound. I would suggest these to anyone who wants a nice pair of headphones for around $100. Well worth the $$$.

Posted by AbbyNN8 on February 24, 2007 at 11:47 AM (PDT)

4

I've already lost both the medium and small ear tips, so it's a good thing I prefer the large ones. These sound so much better with a headphone amp, but that's not very practical when carrying an iPod

Posted by wdejong on February 24, 2007 at 12:49 PM (PDT)

5

I have also lost one of the ear tips, and than, thanks to useless Bose representative in Slovenia, waited for month and a half for that piece of silicon to arrive.
When they arrived, Ive used good glue to fix them with the headphones, and now they are working great. I do not understand how could Bose release product with such problem, but...
Regarding the sound quality, if you get a good fit and do not mind some background noise, they sound really good. Ive also noticed improvement after burn-in period.

Posted by hrvoje sertic on February 26, 2007 at 3:38 AM (PDT)

6

Tried 'em at the Bose store. This review is right on the money - had to turn the volume on my iPod way up, and while the sound was warm and pleasant, there's no way these things'll stay in my ears. I'm sticking with my Shure E2s.

Posted by Houlahan on February 27, 2007 at 1:00 PM (PDT)

7

Purchased these several months ago and pretty much agree with most everything said. My biggest issue was getting them to fit correctly.

My right ear fit with the medium size, but left ear piece kept falling out no matter which size I used.

Biggest pain was dropping the silicon ear pieces whenever I removed them, the last straw was losing it during a walk. After that, they went right back for a refund.

I even called Bose the first day and told them how poorly designed their silicon buds were and how they detached too easily and would soon be lost. The CSR said Bose would send replacements free during the first year. Seems like small conciliation.

More disturbing, how many people at Bose made the decision that these were a good design?

Posted by hip on March 1, 2007 at 8:11 AM (PDT)

8

I just got htem yesterday at Target - i'm very dissapointed with them - they just keep falling out of my ears and i'm talking about just walking, forget about jogging or biking cause you will lose them! I'm returning them today!!!!!!

Posted by surfup407 on March 3, 2007 at 7:29 AM (PDT)

9

Looks like Bose are aware of the problems and could be about to fix them:

http://www.headphonenews.com/2007/03/02/bose-admit-problems-with-triport-ie-earphones/

Posted by TheJuice on March 7, 2007 at 2:20 PM (PDT)

10

I received my replacement eartips the other day and just put them in. HUGE difference in comfort and stability. Many naysayers will be silenced by this recognized fix from BOSE.

Posted by gtrdlr on April 10, 2007 at 8:23 AM (PDT)

11

the bose ie's are not designed to isolate noise, and all post April batches have tips which are much more stable. Hope this changes a few peoples mind as I think these earphones deserve more consideration especially if you like high quality bassy music but be warned they need to be burned in and have a really high impedance so they drain battery a bit faster but they are brilliant headphones, I tried them and am going to buy a pair to go with my UE super fi EB's.

Posted by raidendavidb on May 10, 2007 at 12:50 PM (PDT)

12

I own and recommend the etymotic er-6. My wife bought these bose earphones and they've been nothing but problematic. They sound good, except I prefer tight, as opposed to boomy bass. My wife liked the boom. The problem is those silicon tips. They fall off, and then you lose them, and then you can't use your phones until you get more etc.!!

Posted by asporter on August 4, 2007 at 10:03 AM (PDT)

13

Right - an they are not noise reducing/canceling. I expected more from bose. My wife just uses her iPod earbuds.

Posted by asporter on August 4, 2007 at 10:05 AM (PDT)

14

I purchased a pair a few weeks ago when I was out of town on business(on the recomendation of a friend, over Shure's). After returning home several days later I promptly went to my local Best Buy and returned them. Not only wasn't the sound "$50 better than my Sony in ears" the comfort and fit was very bad, no matter which tip I used. It was so bad, in fact, that I stopped wearing them and repackaged them the same evening(I was afraid my ears would become so sore that my custom molds would bother me the next day). Comfort cannot be underrated on something like this. What's the use of buying them if they're too uncomfortable to wear?

I'm seriously considering the Shure SE530(non-PTH) or the UE Triple.fi 10. I have a set of custom molded in-ears that I wear when I'm shooting at the track for use with our radios and to monitor camera audio, and even though they are stereo, they aren't "high-end" in-ear-monitors that are designed to reproduce sound on the level of the Shure's or UE's. They do an excellent job for what I'm using them for, but I won't more for listening to music on my iPod.

Posted by Run&Gun on August 29, 2007 at 4:42 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.