Harman Kardon Go + Play High-Performance Portable Loudspeaker Dock for iPod | iLounge

Reviews

1

Ugliest... remote... ever!

I'm assuming this thing accept Apple Universal Dock adapters.

Posted by Galley in Greenville, SC on February 22, 2007 at 1:05 PM (PDT)

2

I am really thinking about buying one of these. Heard this in comparison to Apple Hifi and Altec Lansings IM7 at a local store. And in my opinion it was really good. And manufacturing quality seems to be superb.
So I am really looking forward to a complete review.

Posted by paloema on February 25, 2007 at 2:45 AM (PDT)

3

I've owned the go+play for just over a month and despite the odd remote features I'd buy another one in a heartbeat, because for me it all comes down to sound quality. You said it yourself "the best sounding transportable audio system yet".I love the modern design and I can live with the strange remote functions that are impossible to use,and not only does it have better sound than bose and apple hi-fi, it offers the s-video out which neither of those same priced players have.I think it deserved at least an "A"....

Posted by imikey1970 on February 26, 2007 at 9:30 PM (PDT)

4

please take a picture with the apple hifi, the IM7 and the go+play side by side to see the differences in size.

Posted by oluv on February 27, 2007 at 5:55 AM (PDT)

5

It's HARMAN, not HARMON! 3 times!

About the G+P,it looks and sounds great but I would never take this to the beach. The IM7 seems to be much more outdoor friendly but until it's made in black it's a no-no as well.

Posted by institutoaplaplac on February 27, 2007 at 6:10 PM (PDT)

6

Sorry about the typo - it was actually 4 times, and has been fixed.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on February 27, 2007 at 10:35 PM (PDT)

7

question on s-video output. if you have an ipod video, could you hook this up to a lcd projector and use this combination as a portable sound and video theater system?... I guess the real question is would the ipod video movie have enough resolution to support the projector.. any ideas or comments?

Posted by youngd on March 4, 2007 at 11:41 PM (PDT)

8

I have it now for over a week and am very satisfied with it...the sound is really amazing. It's absolutely great.

youngd: I suppose it depends on which ipod video you have. AFAIK the new 5.5 Gen uses up to 640x480...that should be ok on a projector.But if you use 320x240 i think you won't get a good picture.

Posted by paloema on March 7, 2007 at 2:24 AM (PDT)

9

I managed to listen to this in my 'local' Apple Store and was disappointed at how bassy it sounded. While I love the design of this, being a change from the black/white shiny plastic systems that many seem to churn out, the sound is just too weighted towards the bass for me. The EQ settings of the attached iPod were set to 'Bass Booster' but even after changing this to "Off" it still displayed what I felt was too much bass.
Jeremy actually found the same issue with the sound of the unit he listened to 'in-store' but the review unit sounds different.

Sort the sound out and I would consider getting one...

Posted by Bob Levens in UK on March 7, 2007 at 5:21 PM (PDT)

10

I did a side by side comparison of the Apple Hi-Fi and the Harman Kardon Go + Play at a Fry's Electronics store. I ended up getting the Go + Play, because at higher volumes it seems to have less distortion. I got home and set it up and it's sound fills up the entire room. The treble and mid-range sound very clear even at higher volume levels. And it has just the right amount of bass in my opinion. The bass is punchy and tight, but does not overpower the mid's or the high's. It seems like I can hear each and every note clearly without the sound being too muddy or too shrill. I find that just having the volume at the halfway point is usually sufficient for my need's. And if I have people over for a dinner party or something, I can turn the sound up just a little past halfway and it's perfect. I haven't had the pleasure to listen to the Altec Lansing InMotion IM7 nor the Bose unit. But for my ears the Harman Kardon provides a very good, clean, and powerful sound. Very happy with this product so far.

Posted by royalrepis on April 19, 2007 at 11:17 AM (PDT)

11

Bought the G+P today. I agree with Jeremy that it does look like an old woman's handbag. I had my heart set on buying the JBL Radial, but was completely blown away by how amazing it sounded when the sales clerk demoed it. So good that the weird look & the poor dock design didn't matter anymore. I wouldn't get caught carrying this to the beach too though grin

Posted by RLC915 on August 23, 2007 at 4:21 AM (PDT)

12

Listen, i'm musician, i have a music studio! I compared to many others at Bestbuy, the seller played all high power brands, it was not too bad, but the Apples ipod hi-fi had distortion at mid volume and horrible higher volumen, and all frequencies were not definitely presence. But with the Harman Cardon Go+Play Oh! I was so surprised! Clear punchy and FAST bass, i mean, the cone goes and come back so fast, this produce a Techno BEST amp. and speakers. I hearded the bass presence and marvelous definition of the high, NO apparent distortion at high power. Something happened in the store! Some 8 customers came to ask: "WOW! Oh! What great and lovely sounding system! 2 were buying, me i'm looking if better transportable sounds for my ipod, but i did not found better than this one. So this week, i'm going...to buy it.

Posted by angelito in Qu├ębec, Canada on August 26, 2007 at 10:10 AM (PDT)

13

the sound of this set is amazing. I've had it for about a year and i definitely love it. The bass is perfect and the remote works perfectly fine for me. The one and only problem i have is with the rubber pads to fit the ipod craddle. The ipod fits too high and does not rest on this rubber craddle. I am afraid the docking system does not fit at all and it will end damaging the connector. Have u had the same problem?

Posted by domegood on September 17, 2007 at 12:44 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.