Philips AJ300D Docking Entertainment System | iLounge

Reviews

1

It looks good, but I wonder how it sounds?

Posted by Galley in Greenville, SC on March 8, 2007 at 9:34 PM (PDT)

2

Looks Good? It's butt ugly!

Posted by Voh Poh! on March 23, 2007 at 11:52 AM (PDT)

3

Von Poh
While obviously not as good looking as an Italian sports car it does look different to the standard shiny black plastic/shiny white plastic clock radios being churned out by companies of late.

The main reason I prefer it, compared to the other clock radios on the market, is its fairly small footprint. That and it's not shiny black/shiny white plastic....

Whether I like the sound it produces is, of course, a whole different matter...

Posted by Bob Levens in UK on March 23, 2007 at 2:15 PM (PDT)

4

I have taken advantage of my visit to Singapore to track one of these down.
I managed to pick one up for S$129 (±£43) and have found it to have quite a good sound overall. Bit of bass but nothing too excessive.

Seeing as I have not seen this on the Philips Europe site I am quite pleased I managed to find one. I do prefer the design to the shiny black plastic/white plastic of the current crop of radio clock docks.

One thing I have noted is the display on the one I purchased is different to the review sample. Mine has a more traditional 'flipping segment' numeral display as opposed to the 'dotty' one above.

I think the version I have is slightly clearer to read. The protective film actually had the dotty numerals printed on it - wonder if they changed to or from that style recently?

The lack of any AM radio feature is not a big loss to me - I never listen to AM and only occasionally to FM.

Posted by Bob Levens in UK on April 5, 2007 at 7:58 PM (PDT)

5

The dot display looks really lame, but this still might be the right iPod clock radio for me. Any idea when it will become available for purchase in the US? Amazon just says "soon."

Posted by sallenmd on April 27, 2007 at 2:53 PM (PDT)

6

I decided not to wait for this one. The dots really look annoying, and the unit looks unstable. It looks too easy to knock over while groping around trying to hit the snooze button on the top, something I do every morning. So I'm going with the iHome iH8 instead.

Posted by sallenmd on April 27, 2007 at 7:54 PM (PDT)

7

Strangely mine did not have the 'dot' display. The protective film had the 'dot' display printed on it. Apparently the film for the review unit had the 'solid' display printed on it.
Go figure that one out...

I have not had any 'stability' issues with my AJ300. The unit is quite heavy and most of the weight is in the base. Also the design is faintly 'weeble' like albeit with a flat base - so knocking it over is not going to be easy.

I am pleased with the AJ300 - it has a good sound with a nice bass tone. My only gripe would be the brightness of the display if you choose to have it on, on one of the two settings. A user selectable dimmer would be better. But I can live with it being off.

Posted by Bob Levens in UK on April 28, 2007 at 1:58 AM (PDT)

8

I wonder if the display is different for the Asian model that you bought in Singapore than for the US model. I still can't find any US vendor. Glad to heaer it's stable--I may reconsider, but I'm also getting tired of waiting for it to be available here.

Posted by sallenmd on April 28, 2007 at 3:21 PM (PDT)

9

after considering bose and iklip etc I found this unit to be good on price, sound and functionality. You couldn't knock the unit over if you tried and it looks better in the flesh than you would imagine. I'm incredibly happy with this unit for my bedroom.

Posted by big_r on April 30, 2007 at 3:13 AM (PDT)

10

I'm on the hunt for a small bedside clock radio. I'm down to this or the Ti700s. I'd go with the Philips, save for the font. What bozo thought THAT up?

Curiously, Amazon's photo shows the font as a more-or-less standard blocky clock face. All the reviews I googled had the same photo.

We shall see.

Posted by crazyquilt on June 11, 2007 at 8:59 PM (PDT)

11

I have recently purchased this product and it has shipped out. I haven't received it yet, but read it is not compatible with ipod nano 2nd gen. Is that true? I was so psyched to get such a great system but am very worried now!

Posted by nmissle on July 11, 2007 at 8:25 PM (PDT)

12

I have just checked the dock adaptor for the 1stGen nano and there appears to be approx 1-2mm 'allowance' either side with the 1st Gen nano sat in the dock. I don't have the 2g nano available right now to test it.

Whether the Philips GoGear uses the same pin arrangement as the iPods I do not know, but there appears to be a GoGear adaptor which is slightly bigger than the nano one - this MIGHT work if the pin connections match the iPods.

Posted by Bob Levens in UK on July 12, 2007 at 3:46 AM (PDT)

13

I bought one of these recently and am considering returning it.

There are several issues. First you cannot set the alarm volume. When the alarm goes off the volume increases *very* quickly the maximum possible which is deafening at 7am. Add to that the fact that the alarm does not turn itself off and you get some very annoyed neighbours if you go away for a week and forget to turn the alarm off.

Also, I was hoping to wake up to my favourite tracks on the iPod but that also is impossible. The unit does not control the iPod in any way, only on/off, so it will always play the first track alphabetically. I have a 4G iPod but Philips Support confirmed that this is the expected behaviour.

If you just want a cheap/decent sound doc it's probably a good buy but steer well clear if you are looking for an alarm clock.

Posted by putin on September 10, 2007 at 7:57 PM (PDT)

14

Referencing Comment 13 posted by putin:
The 3 points made in this post: Rapid increase in volume; iPod song selection; and no alarm auto shutoff, are major issues. If these observations are accurate - and I've read nothing to counter these - I am baffled as to how this device warranted an A- rating for an alarm clock. The auto shutoff and selection of which song on the iPod to wake two are what I would expect to be important if not basic features for an "iPod Alarm Clock" emphasis on "iPod". I like the design, I like fact that while the dimming option is limited you can turn off the display, and I like the remote I am often baffled as to how iLounge rates review products as they seem very inconsistent. How do you miss a feature like "wake-to-song" in a review or auto off when rating an alarm clock.

Posted by kaioslider on September 16, 2007 at 7:30 AM (PDT)

15

"You can’t set the two alarms to two sources, nor can you set the alarms to a volume separate from the radio and dock’s separate speaker levels, but they otherwise do their jobs. Each starts out mild and rapidly becomes louder or otherwise more present..."


The unit I have certainly allows selection of a track to wake to and yes it does rise pretty quickly to full volume but as I sometimes sleep with ear plugs in that is not a minus point for me.
Likewise the lack of AM band is also not an issue. I tend to use the buzzer alarm most of the time. I like the unit because it's design is not the run of the mill black/whit plastic box and more importantly it produces a decent sound.
I got mine for listening to at night to send me to sleep rather than wake me up.

Posted by Bob Levens in UK on September 16, 2007 at 11:40 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.