Agent 18 Shield Case for iPod mini | iLounge

Reviews

1

Nice review. Been curious about this case for a while. Wondering if it is worth the money. I'll have to check on the other cases as well. I've been eyeing the Flipstands to see how they compare.

Is there a brick and mortar shop that sell the Agent18s? I would like to take a look at them before I actually buy.

Posted by darminiam in Riverside/ San Diego California on December 30, 2004 at 7:05 AM (PDT)

2

The review left one important thing out when making a comparison with the Crystal Jacket and what swayed me into purchasing the Agent18.
The top of the Agent18 accepts accessories like the iTrip the Crystal jacket does not.
And the bottom on the Agent18 has do restrictions as to size of car charger connector (ie ULP Monster).
Two very important features that mean you can keep your ipod safe in it's case.

Paul

Posted by AusPod on December 30, 2004 at 7:27 AM (PDT)

3

I've really been thinking about buying an Agent 18 case for my iPod Photo (especially since the Contour's iSee Photo isn't out yet). However, I can't find where to buy one.

Agent 18's website says to check Apple.com, but I only see their cases for the iPod Mini, 20 and 40 hmmm. Am I missing something?

Posted by Alex Bischoff in Dallas, TX on December 30, 2004 at 7:58 AM (PDT)

4

well, I don't understand why agent18 case for ipod is C+. it could be at least B-. everytime, review mentions clickwheel protection weaken or not. well. if you talk about it, many cases open clickwheel part. if you really want protect that part, why don't you buy totally cover case like flip leather case. look, I've used it for two weeks now. it's nice case, and durable, scratch free. even I dropped it for test. it's OK. you mentioned totally open bottom and top? opening top is good because you can put itrip, another accessaries. bottom is not really bother for protection because only I need firewire port connection without dock.
I love this case since I've tested few cases past few months. I don't have a plan to change it for a while.

Posted by crazypod in St. Louis, MO on December 30, 2004 at 10:25 AM (PDT)

5

I think the Agent18 is also much better than a C+. I believe access to the click wheel is imporatant to have, and therefore would give a lower grade to those cases that cover it. I also think the convention of two pieces snapping together lets you have the best of both worlds. You can take the iPod out easily to place in its dock and then reinstall the case after you are done. With skins, you cannot do this easily. I would give it a score of A!

Posted by iPodFed on December 30, 2004 at 11:02 AM (PDT)

6

I agree that Agent18 should have deserved a better score. I bought mine at the apple store at Mall of America and couldnt be happier. It's matte finish prevents fingerprints and scratches yet still shows off the ipod. The reason why I decided to abandon Agent18 and go with Podsleevz by Radtech was because it added "bulk" to the thin ipod. One of the key reasons why I bought the ipod was for its "thinness". Agent18 made it thicker and made it wider with those rubber locking system. I have a medium size hand and its hard to hold on to with one hand while operating it with Agent18 on it. (suitable for people with big hands?) But I would at least give it a better grade than a C+

Posted by Toneaero in Minnesota on December 30, 2004 at 11:28 AM (PDT)

7

Maybe the two scores were accidentally reversed? Anyway, I just got one for my U2 Edition. I really like how it resists smudges while preserving the uniqueness of my special edition!

Posted by Joe V. on January 2, 2005 at 6:33 PM (PDT)

8

I do think the Click Shield should be priced the same as the Mini Shield. $5 more is a total ripoff.

Posted by iPodFed on January 3, 2005 at 8:18 AM (PDT)

9

I thought this case was awesome when I had it. I'm with the others, it does deserve more than a C+. The iTrip fit really well with the case on, unlike the iSkin which I returned as well.

The only reason I returned mine was because I have a Pro Clip in the car, and it (obviously) won't fit in the holder with the Agent18.

Posted by cerise on January 5, 2005 at 8:18 AM (PDT)

10

Can anybody tell me if the Agent 18 Click Shield comes with belt clip options. Theres nothing in the pisc's, and although it says the mini does, it doesn't mention anything about the click shield.

Posted by Li'l britton in london uk on January 6, 2005 at 2:30 PM (PDT)

11

This case should get an A in my opinion. I've gone through a few cases on my 4G iPod and this one is the best. Even compared to friend's cases, this one wins hands down. The great thing about this case is that it locks into place securely. Unlike the iSee case which received an A review, this case is frosted so none of the fingerprints or tiny scratches show through. The iSee also seems inferior due to the fact that it scratches just as bad as the iPod would, maybe worse. This defeats the whole purpose. The iSee case also scratches your iPod when you slide it in as opposed to the Agent18 sandwich design. This case is better in all counts. The iSee case is simply inferior.

Posted by intern_mike in Orlando on January 10, 2005 at 6:00 PM (PDT)

12

I dont have this proudct but I do know someone that douse, and I wish I had one. They are clear so you can still show off your ipod and it keeps it nice and scrach free! Grate idea!

Posted by ipodmaster666 on January 11, 2005 at 9:07 PM (PDT)

13

When I saw the U2 iPod, I had to get it. And since the design/color is quite appealing to me, I wanted to protect it yet see it at the same time. Hence this Agent 18 case is very useful for U2ers. Shoulda got a better score.

Posted by riverart in SoCAL on January 12, 2005 at 10:32 AM (PDT)

14

For what this is, I would give it an A. It completely protects the surface of the front and back of my iPod except for the controls, but I dont care about that! What I care about is the screen being protected...which it is 100%.

I like how the front and back can attach either seperately or together.

Yeah, $20 is really steep for this, considering I only use the front 1/2 of the shield (I keep the belt clip on the rear).

I like it!

Posted by mg196 in Washington DC on January 16, 2005 at 5:56 AM (PDT)

15

After much deliberation about cases - silicon, marware convertible, etc - i went with the agent 18. My main issue has been - and still is - the dock connection size and case compatability with the Monster icar connection. While this case does not have the grip ability of a silicon case on a leather car seat, it does make it easy to remove and place into my marware convertable case for arm band use at the gym (really wish that the dock connector on the convertable was wise enough for the monster plug...)

In any case, at first glance, the agent 18 case appears like it'd be flimsy. However, the case holds together thru lots of assembly/dis-assembly, and i've been really thankful for the full screen protection.

I've contemplated looking at some way to attach clear silicone along the edges of the case on the rear to prevent sliding - perhaps clear caulk? Anyone tried something like that yet...?

Posted by bobafett90210 on January 17, 2005 at 6:37 AM (PDT)

16

Is there actually a hard case that is thin enough to fit inside the ipod dock?

Posted by EP292 in USA on January 20, 2005 at 4:00 PM (PDT)

17

i purchased this case and it's awesome. only thing is that it seems hard to remove once you put it on. Is there a correct way to remove this case after you put it on.

ipod 20GB

Posted by mikey2k5 on January 20, 2005 at 7:46 PM (PDT)

18

use your fingers to pry it open from the top and bottom.

take your thumb and middle finger, and hold it from the top with your thumb on the top of the case, and you middle finger on the bottom.

Posted by wezman2k on January 21, 2005 at 10:35 PM (PDT)

19

I love this case. I hate how my iSkin evo2 gets all sorts of crud on it, and the damn iPod plug cover on the bottom makes it difficult to attach my belkin auto kit.

This case deserves an A++

Posted by HassPod in Washington DC on February 1, 2005 at 5:45 AM (PDT)

20

hey i bought both cases for my u2 ipod and the ipod mini my lady friend has. if you liek a strong hard case that doesnt scratch and still looks great and is small and form fitting, these are great. i dont liek skins because they cover the beauty that is ipod. this one shows off the u2 colors that i paid extra for. same with the mini. dont buy the isee clear case. i bought it and it scratched up my ipod plus its thicker than this one. these are relaly beautiful cases.

Posted by s diddy on February 4, 2005 at 12:55 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.