Altec Lansing inMotion iM3 and iM3c Portable Audio for iPod | iLounge

Reviews

1

hm - I think I better wait for the Bose speakers

Posted by Michael on September 16, 2004 at 11:22 PM (PDT)

2

Edit by Jeremy Horwitz, March 2005: iPodlounge has deleted a collection of negative and derogatory comments from "audiogeek" on our site, which we discovered have been posted by a writer for competing publications. As he has trolled and posted obnoxious comments in a number of threads, picking fights with our readers and editors, he has been banned from the site, and we strongly oppose his repeated mischaracterizations of various products and our editorial opinions. This comments thread was affected by his posts, and has therefore been modestly edited. If any of the other comments below do not make sense in the context of these deletions, we apologize.

Posted by audio geek on September 16, 2004 at 11:51 PM (PDT)

3

Reviews of such depth make me come back to this site again and again.

Posted by ALESHA on September 17, 2004 at 2:26 AM (PDT)

4

You guys rock... You don't pull punches, and tell it straight. Only thing I'd change is the length of some of the sentences, which at times seem to run on.... like this sentence. grin And it's really not clear to me how the remote works with the Ipod's connector...

Still, I'd like to see these speakers in action after hearing about the remote function.

Posted by umijin on September 17, 2004 at 4:50 AM (PDT)

5

Eagerly waiting on the Bose system. Hope it will live up to their standards.

Posted by Lee on September 17, 2004 at 5:17 AM (PDT)

6

Anyone know what the difference is between the JBL Creature 2.1 and JBL Creature II? Or are they the same?

Posted by inkmonkey on September 17, 2004 at 6:08 AM (PDT)

7

Great review! I just purchased a pair from apple, but am a bit disappointed to read in the review that they didn't improve on the sound from the previous Inmotions. I think these are oriented entirely towards frequent travellers, for whom this is an absolute necessity!

Also, why make the speaker grilles grey? They should have kept the entire device white, to retain it's "ipodness"

Posted by Sam on September 17, 2004 at 10:10 AM (PDT)

8

"The only non-audio feature addition is that the iM3s do have a nice auto power off feature that kicks in when no signal has been detected through the speakers for a little while – not a major difference, but it’s there."

More importantly- do the iM3's *turn themselves back on* when the audio signal *resumes*, like when the ipod is used with the Alarm Clock feature? If they do, sign me up.

With my original IMs, you have to leave the unit on all night. The "24 hours of playback on battery" is really "24 hours of being switched on", whether sound is playing or not. With an 8 hour night, that means your batteries last 3 nights (maybe), so you end up having to schlep the wall adapter with you on a trip if you want to be assured of waking up hmmm. Makes 'em a lot less portable.

Posted by airman on September 17, 2004 at 11:08 AM (PDT)

9

Nice review!

Does anyone know if you can dock your ipod in this while it has the iSkin evo2 on?

Posted by bjordan on September 17, 2004 at 1:27 PM (PDT)

10

Great review! Limitations aside, they seem great for what they are. The InMotion series will never replace a solid home system.

To anyone waiting on the Bose, you can expect to pay at least $300 for them when they come out. Bose tend to sound good but are always overpriced.

Posted by Randal - NY on September 18, 2004 at 8:45 AM (PDT)

11

I just got my iM3. Next to my original inMotions, the iM3s sound awful. You can't turn up the volume any amount (even to what I'd consider a "normal" listening level) without distortion and hiss. These are going back to the store.

Posted by Young on September 19, 2004 at 11:28 AM (PDT)

12

Can you please send me more i-pod equipment for my i-pod 40 GB Thank-YOU

Posted by aki on September 20, 2004 at 8:31 AM (PDT)

13

WOW!!!!!!

Posted by protoman on September 20, 2004 at 2:06 PM (PDT)

14

i dont have the inmotions to compare, so i cant wait for mine to come. just shipped from ireland...
great review by the way, i like knowing what to expect from it and what not to. i like them mostly because of their battery-poweredness - something bose's arent, unfortunately. if they were, id get bose's. it means i can use them outside during free periods at school grin overpriced, yeah, but when youre getting an IM3 for your birthday, then its all good.
cya,
-Pete-

Posted by peterburk in Geneva, Switzerland on September 22, 2004 at 6:48 AM (PDT)

15

I also bought the iM3 and compared to my old inMotion. The iM3's sound like crap - they are not nearly as clear, and bass is much more distorted?

WTF Altec Lansing? You make a new replacement product that is more expensive, and sounds WORSE?

Returning the iM3's today.

Posted by slik on September 22, 2004 at 7:16 AM (PDT)

16

Forget this thing. Just like the review says, pick up the JBL Creature. I just got it last week and the sound is unbelievable. It's cheaper than any of the Altec speaker packages, and it has a subwoofer to boot! Pair it up with a navipod wireless remote and you got a complete sound system for your ipod.

Posted by billruk on September 22, 2004 at 6:29 PM (PDT)

17

JBL Creature should not be mentioned in the same breath as Inmotion... come on people.

InMotion runs on batteries. Plop yourself down ANYWHERE, ANYTIME, open this thing that is the physical size of a paperback book, sit your pod in it, and listen to nice quality music within a 15 foot radius or so. Don't be a slave to your headphones anymore, and share the music with others.

The JBL Creature is a bookshelf computer speaker that must be PLUGGED INTO AN OUTLET. I suppose you can pack up your JBL's, along with a generator, and listen to music wherever you go.....

And I'm 99% sure if you go to any stereo store and inquire about self-amplified bookshelf speakers, you can probably find better ones than the JBL's for a similar price. There are many models/brands to choose from.

Back to InMotion... I can't comment on the new iM3, I only own the previous version. But I love them. When I'm in the park listening to them on a blanket, I'm not taking notes on the frequency response and signal-to-noise ratios. I'm just stoked to be listening to my pod in the open air, out of something that fits in the small pocket of my backpack. The InMotion is ALL about convenience and functionality, and less about sound quality -- although it does sound miles better than the competition.

peaceout!

Posted by earz on September 22, 2004 at 7:54 PM (PDT)

18

Hi,

I just got the iM3 today and I love it. However I noticed the carrying case seems to use magnets as a closing mechanism. There is space for the ipod in the carrying case, is it safe to put an iPod that close to speakers and the magnets in the carrying case? Can it erase data on the iPod hardware?

Posted by JSL on September 23, 2004 at 12:12 AM (PDT)

19

I have purchased this item and would like to add that this review really sums up this product. To be totally honest the sound quality is ok, but not fantastic. But then it is portable and is very convenient. I feel that it sounds like a good quality radio, nithing more!! I do not feel tha the item is worth the cost for sound alone, but it will have its fans for the fact that it is small, really cute and very easy t use.

Posted by Martley in United Kingdom / Great Britain on September 24, 2004 at 3:51 PM (PDT)

20

I'm liking the look of these speakers.. they seem perfect for playing music in my Sixth Form common room.. they'll be added to my Christmas list

Posted by Syph on September 25, 2004 at 2:35 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 4 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.