Altec Lansing inMotion iM3 and iM3c Portable Audio for iPod | iLounge

Reviews

21

I am interested in getting this as a replacement for Apple's Dock, which I connect to a quality stereo system via the line-out jack. What I want to know, but can never seem to find out is whether there is an output jack that offers line-level output just like Apple's Dock. If there is, then it would be perfect for a home stereo system--your iPod now has a remote control. And when I go travelling, I can just toss this into my bag.

However, if the output jack isn't line level, then I'm not so sure about using the iM3 to replace my Dock, as the sound quality will be affected.

Posted by Brian Yap on September 27, 2004 at 2:56 AM (PDT)

22

I want to buy either the iM3 or the orginal model, I like the look of the original better, what do you guys recomend? I dont care for the remote, so thats not the issue. Just in terns of size, sound and looks, what is better?

Posted by Mario on September 29, 2004 at 8:34 AM (PDT)

23

i have a pair of the IM3's but i have some compatabilty issues with my Lacie Pocketdrive. Basically the when the ipod is docked in the speakers, it switches my Lacie off. Is anyone else having this problem. Altec say this is normal!!! yeah right

Posted by Scott Mason on October 5, 2004 at 2:18 PM (PDT)

24

Hi there!

I just received my Inmotion and I am flattend!! Theis small device has brilliant sound for this small size.
My personal reference on any sound device is always Keith Jarret "The Koln Concert". This Master Piece of music requires everything from a sound system.

Additionally I checked another system: Tivoli Model Two and Subwoofer with Dock. Sound is outstandig. Unfortunately, this is not for "take Away".

I

Posted by Bjoern Alexander on October 11, 2004 at 3:18 AM (PDT)

25

I just got the IM3. I am able to turn the ipod off with the remote using the play/pause button but I am NOT able to turn the ipod (mini) on with the remote.

Those who have the IM3 and the reviewer - does it really turn the ipod on? Maybe mine is defective?

The review stated:
The iM3s therefore are capable of doing something with a remote control that iPodlounge strongly requested in our previous review of the prior inMotions – they connect to both the iPod’s internal hardware to permit powering on and off, play/pause, and track forwarding and reversing, plus the IM3’s own speakers to permit true digital volume adjustment of the inMotions.

Posted by Keith Cannataro on October 11, 2004 at 7:32 AM (PDT)

26

I contacted Altec's support today asking if the remote control for the IM3 would both turn on and turn off the iPod. I was told it would, however it only would turn the iPod off, not on. I went to return the IM3 at the Apple store, but the replacement IM3 had the same results. The remote will not turn on the iPod. At the store we tried a 3G iPod as well as the mini with negative results.

However, after plugging in the AC power and plugging in the iPod charger into the back of the IM3, the IM3 remote can now turn the iPod off AND on.

Posted by Keith Cannataro on October 11, 2004 at 2:04 PM (PDT)

27

So, is it more worth it to go ahead and get the im3 or the original inmotion speakers? it sounds like the originals have better sound quality.

Posted by arthur_lp in vancouver on October 12, 2004 at 11:50 PM (PDT)

28

Will a 4G iPod dock properly on the original inmotion speakers? Will charging still work?

The battery powered capability is attractive because I intend to use the iPod in my sailboat (as well as at home) and don't want to drain the motor battery when I won't be able to charge it.

Posted by Moe on October 14, 2004 at 9:52 AM (PDT)

29

I've tried the original Imotion, the JBL On Stage and the Bose system before I purchased this IM3. The sound quality of the IM3 is very, very disapointing. It is no where near as good as the original Imotion. The IM3 buzzes, rattles and just plain sounds bad.

Do Not Waste Your Money on These!!

Posted by Jonathan F Bremseth on October 18, 2004 at 3:13 PM (PDT)

30

These are not for adiophles. these are more for setting out for an inprompto party when there is other noise and people are looking for some instant background music. Come on guys. For form factor and baseline music these things are the best. Very portable, good mid-level music. If you want stereo quality music connect it to your stereo. The others are boat anchors compared to this.

Posted by Mike M on October 20, 2004 at 12:05 PM (PDT)

31

Can the iMmini run on mains electricity as well as batteries? I'd like to use it both as a stereo at home but also when I want to share my music at school... Is there any set of speakers that does this?

Posted by Laura on October 23, 2004 at 11:51 AM (PDT)

32

When i read these reviews i had a mixed feeling and thought that maybe it won't be worth it. I was very wrong. The sound quality is excellent and it is so portable that you can put together in a flash. I looked at the dougnut one and the bose one which are both impresive, but not portable. Good: Portable, good sound, and very attractive. Bad. You need to turn on the device to have an alarm. Also the remote does not turn on the ipod. Altogether, get it and cherish it because its a very good buy.

Posted by jord on October 25, 2004 at 5:52 PM (PDT)

33

I have a problem too, I bhougt mine at the apple store Belgium, and on the site it said that you could plug it in to a stereo but that the neccesery cable would not be included. Now I've got it and I can't seem to find an auxillery output on the back. There is only an input, AC/DC input and an dock connector-cable input. My question is, what kind of 'cable' do I need and if it doesn't work why Apple puts such thing on their site? thnx

Posted by dantheman in Belgium on November 3, 2004 at 8:10 AM (PDT)

34

I've read a couple of comments, but can anyone confirm whether the alarm feature works or not. I'm gathering with the auto *shut-off* feature, it doesn't have an auto *come-on*.

Bummer if it doesn't... It was one of the selling points and why i ordered it..

Posted by Gus from Oz on November 3, 2004 at 6:40 PM (PDT)

35

The iM3 does not work with iPod Photo.

Posted by griff on December 15, 2004 at 6:34 PM (PDT)

36

Acording to Altec Lansing's website, the IM3s ARE compatible with the iPod photo. I bought the speakers for use with mine only to find that the iPod photo is just a little too thick to fit properly into the stand. I can force it in and it works properly however I wouldn't say it works as advertised. What's up with Altec Lansing's claim that the speakers are compatible??

Posted by mbaxter in Tokyo on December 21, 2004 at 9:17 AM (PDT)

37

Re: IM3s with the iPod Photo (60Gb)

I can confirm that the IM3s do not work as a set of docking speakers with the iPod Photo - it is too big to fit correctly in the dock, and so I returned mine to the seller (John Lewis UK). True, the sound quality (using the cable attachment to the line in) is much, much better than the original IMs and for sheer convenience, the deisgn is hard to fault.

I bought a Tivoli iPAL as a substitute - I can confirm that I have lost some of the portability, but I have gained immeasurably in sound quality. The (mono) sound is so much richer than the IM3s and I have the bonus of a stunning FM (and good AM) radio. I bought the iPAL case which has two pockets (my iPod fits perfectly) and an upgraded 3.5mm interconnect.

This combination of iPAL, case and Kimber cable interconnect is insurpassable in terms of convenience and sound quality. If I use my iTrip instead of the interconnect, I also effectively have a remote control (with display) - ok, so it's the iPod, but I can select tracks from my hotel bed rather than guess with the iM3s remote. The advantage of fitting the whole setup in one case is great.

If miniscule portability is not your aim, and convenience and sound quality are, go for the (i)PAL ... you won't be disappointed.

Dave.


ps. I not getting into the 'stereo' argument ... I know which sounds better - the superior mono speaker everytime. (in the same way that good quality cable sounds better on a hifi system than cheap biwires ...)

Posted by Dave Chadderton in Lincs, UK on December 23, 2004 at 7:56 AM (PDT)

38

If you want the above, and good service form a knowledgeable dealer, try http://www.russandrews.co.uk

Maybe I shouldn't plug the dealer, but they were excellent!

Dave.

Posted by Dave Chadderton in Lincs, UK on December 23, 2004 at 7:58 AM (PDT)

39

What to do??? I just received the old IM as a present and don't know if I should return them for the IM3. I have read both reviews and comments and am torn. HELP!!

Posted by Jessse in So Cal on December 25, 2004 at 11:21 AM (PDT)

40

Beware the carrying case!! I cannot stress this enough. My iPod is dead after spending the night in the iM3's case next to the magnets that keep it closed.

Please don't put your ipod in the carrying case or next to it. BEWARE!

Posted by duimstra on December 26, 2004 at 10:57 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 4 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.