Altec Lansing inMotion iM7 Portable Speakers | iLounge

Reviews

41

I just got mine last night at my local costco for $189. It sounds GREAT and the remote's not so bad in my small living room. FYI... You can get the IM7 bundled with its carrying case for $214 at costco online... if you really need a case.

Posted by ipodpunk on January 26, 2006 at 12:20 PM (PDT)

42

I picked up this speaker a few weeks ago. I was debating between the iM7 and the Bose SoundDock. But the Bose' price and lack of connectivity options swayed me to the iM7. Great sound and looks great. Only caveat is the remote doesn't seem to work. I'm going to try a new battery to see if that's the culprit.

Posted by Signal to Noise on March 1, 2006 at 12:58 PM (PDT)

43

I´m deciding between these speakers and the Logitech MM50. I value mainly sound fidelity and being able to play music at moderate to high volume leves. Are the MM50 able to fill a medium sized room without distortion? or should i invest a little more $ and go for the IM7? Also, i have a nano, are there any adapters included in the box? Thanx everybody

Posted by fgelblung on March 23, 2006 at 11:57 AM (PDT)

44

I think the iM7 needs an adapter for the 5G iPod: it doesn't fit well and there's some space left on the front.
A simple cure sould be to cut the sides from the mini iPod adapter and use that.

Posted by Zoiberg on April 20, 2006 at 9:27 AM (PDT)

45

We have two iPods, an older 3G iPod, and a (relatively) newer Color iPod (U2 Special Edition) With the newer iPod, it works fine. With the older iPod, there's a distinct hum, crackling, and reduced volume when the door is pushed closed. When the door is left open, it sounds better, so something happens when the door is pushed closed. Not sure why. Does sound great, though.

Posted by Greg Koelpien on April 21, 2006 at 6:52 PM (PDT)

46

I just got mine and it did come with an adapter for the nano in the box. Love it so far.

Posted by socalmark on April 24, 2006 at 8:29 AM (PDT)

47

I wanted new iPod speakers for my home office, so I decided to test a few out at the Apple store. I picked up the Altec Lansing inMotion iM9 and I liked the quality. It sat on my desk, and faced me from only a couple feet away. Then I noticed a "popping" sound between tracks that annoyed me. The default volume was way too high when you turn it on, too. I decided to return it.

Then I picked up the Logitech mm50. Nice design and good sound from small speakers. It came with a case and integrated nicely with the iPod. Everything seemed great until I decided to move it to a table across the room to free up space on my desk. My office is about 15' x 12', and the mm50 was now 10' away from me and didn't come close to "filling the room" with sound. I decided to return it.

I have now decided to shell out some bucks for bigger sound, but I still wanted a one-piece system with an iPod docking option. Keep in mind that by now, I really wanted that iPod Hi-Fi that I've had my eye on. I decided to compare the Hi-Fi with the Klipsch iGroove, Bose SoundDock and Altec Lansing iM7. I brought my own iPod to test them (they let me) during the middle of the week, when the store was quiet.

In short, the Klipsch iGroove and Bose SoundDock's sound was really disappointing. Bye. So now it's down to the Hi-Fi and the iM7. I don't know why, but I wanted to dislike the iM7 for some reason. While testing the two, some songs sounded better on the Hi-Fi, but most began to sound better on the iM7. When I looked closer, the iM7's design really began to grow on me. I continued to listen to clips of about 30 songs from different genres on the Hi-Fi and iM7 and a clear winner emerged for me - the iM7. The ability to change the bass and trebble was great, on the Hi-Fi, you can only increase one of them, not both, via the iPod's display.

Better sound, great bass, tone controls, a better design, video-out options, and an iPod "cassette" enclosure that keeps my music player inside were all great differentiators in favor of the iM7. After I brought it home, it really did a great job filling the room with powerful sound, with the ability to turn it up fairly loud without distortion. By the way, Circuit City was selling it for $199, too, which the Apple Store matched when I asked. A full $150 cheaper than the Hi-Fi!

I did my homework, so hopefully it will help you. The Hi-Fi's great, but the iM7 is a better integrated iPod speaker solution.

Posted by jp42 in Michigan on May 1, 2006 at 6:24 PM (PDT)

48

I just recived my iM7 and after using it with my 60gb I can no longer get my iTrip to work. It still work with othere iPods that have not been used in the iM7. Any suggestions?

Posted by masternone on July 8, 2006 at 5:26 AM (PDT)

49

I just bought these speakers, after doing a lot of homework and research to make my decision. Frankly, I can live with the remote, because it works from across my bedroom. I like that it clips in to it's slot in the back, so I don't lose it when toting around the house. While they're not ultra-portable, I did buy the shoulder bag and took it as carry-on luggage on my last trip. It worked great for the hotel room.

While the MSRP is $249, I found it for $150 online. Despite the few downfalls like no measurement for treble and bass, I feel these are truly the best of both worlds (portable and non-portable) for the money.

Posted by starbreiz on September 20, 2006 at 12:38 PM (PDT)

50

Worst product ever. Sounds pretty good, but after the flimsy door broke (I swear my 1986 Radio Shack "Entertainment Center's" cassette deck doors were more durable) and due to Altec Lansing's horrific customer service, I'm rocking mine with Velcro to close the front. Guy at support/customer service hung up on me cuz i had no receipt (it was a gift 8 months ago). We took it apart before resorting to the velcro solution. Flimsy inside. May be loud and still works, but just atrocious attention to detail. Wouldn't reccommend to my worst enemy.

Posted by profross6 on November 27, 2006 at 9:37 PM (PDT)

51

I'm looking at purchasing the iM7 but was just wondering about the iPod charging when docked.

Does the iPod charge everytime it is docked in the iM7 and the iM7 is connected to ac power?

Will this effect the iPod battery if you are constantly connecting and disconnecting it from the iM7 dock?

Posted by sting-11 on November 28, 2006 at 4:44 AM (PDT)

52

I have read the review and visited the altec lansing website.

I have looked at other sites and have concluded that this is the unit for me.

But despite all my searching I still have two quick questions.

1) On the Altec Lansing site it says it supports IPOD VIDEO. I looked at the brochure and it fails to mention IPOD VIDEO. (???) I own 30GB 5G IPOD.
You don't mention that it is compatible with the IM7 however I have read comments that say 5G is supported. My question is does it support 30GB 5G IPOD? Please say yes.

2) Does it come in black? Please say yes.

These are the only concerns I have.

Posted by limeister on June 27, 2007 at 9:22 AM (PDT)

Page 3 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.