Altec Lansing inMotion Speakers | iLounge

Reviews

41

Apple and amazon only ship/sell within USA.
Anyone know how to purchase this beauty in Malaysia or europe?

Thanks in advance.
Dude

Posted by Dude in Malaysia on March 2, 2004 at 11:55 PM (PDT)

42

I have the same issue as Mark, 17 Jan. 2004, concerning iTunes hanging up when the iPod is docked in the iMotion Speakers.

I really wonder if others are having this issue and what the solution is.

Posted by David Tajgman on March 5, 2004 at 3:04 AM (PDT)

43

Becoming a true "POD-i-file"....but, I'm bummed that the iPod power cord that I bought that plugs into car outlet and the pod....does not seem to provide enough power to run the Altec Lansing speakers with the pod docked.

Any alternatives to the DC power or the batteries? This doesn't make a lot of sense to me sense the connector fits into the speaker case exactly as it does the iPod. Not enough volts, watts or whatever?

Thanks

Posted by Melissa on March 6, 2004 at 1:30 PM (PDT)

44

I just got my inMotion yesterday. To answer a few questions people have asked:

1) The ipod does not charge solely from the 4 AA batteries. It will only charge the ipod when the AC cord is plugged into InMotion.

2) In my opinion, this unit kicks the crap out of the Sony unit. The highs and midrange coming out of this little unit are crisp and clean, and there is wonderful imaging, all from 4 AA batteries?? just wait until you plug it in... The bass is very quiet, BUT there is bass. Amazing sound from this little sucker. Not the loudest sound of course, but clean and crisp.

3) the comparision to the JBL Creature is a waste of time to even read. I'll add to this point by saying my 100watt B+K amplifier and ADS bookshelf speakers have better bass response and "seperation" than my inMotion unit that runs on 4 AA batteries.

4) If you want a portable solution to sharing your music with friends on the go, if you travel a lot and find yourself in hotels, etc, you will love inMotion. But if you are looking for a speaker system for your apartment, go buy some computer speakers that plug into the wall. there are tons out there, and you'll find something that sounds nice for probably $40. the power of inMotion is it runs on batteries, is portable, and sounds amazing for it's size.

Posted by AdamB on March 8, 2004 at 12:28 PM (PDT)

45

Has anyone tried this for teaching? I wonder how the volume pans out in a large room full of 30 noisy brats.

Posted by snoogly on March 17, 2004 at 4:06 PM (PDT)

46

The Apple Store says this product
"Support[s] audio output to home stereo systems (cable sold separately)"

Anyone have any more details? Looks like it would have to be done via the headphone jack rather than a direct line out, unless there is s dock connector to phono cable available.

Posted by devon miles on March 24, 2004 at 8:22 AM (PDT)

47

I was amazed at the sound coming out of this sucker... I do have questions, though...

1. Does anybody know what the battery life is when "on" but not playing music? The reason I ask is that I tried using the iPod/inMotion combination as an alarm clock. The iPod's alarm wakes it up at the appropriate time. However, the inMotion does not have such a feature. If it consumed minimal power when not playing music (like a trickle standby state) I could run it on batteries overnight without worrying about exhausting the batteries. Anyone know or test this yet?

2. The plastic bridge span that joins the two speaker sides together and doubles as a rest for the iPod while docked transmits the sound vibration quite efficiently to the iPod itself. This acts kind of like a piano sounding board, which leads to the the obvious question... What effect will this have on reliability of the hard drive? I have been trying to devise a micro-spacer that holdes the back of the iPod away from the inMotion to dampen vibration, but the only thing that works so far is my finger <g>. Anyone thought about this?

Thanks.

Posted by Chas Hulme on March 24, 2004 at 4:27 PM (PDT)

48

I bought the inMotion this weekend. It looks and runs great for a while. But after playing several songs, I got problem, the sound suddenly decrease automatically, and the volume control doesn't work anymore. Then I paused my iPod, and turned off the speakers for minutes, then turn on both again, it works well and volume control came back again, BUT several minutes later (even one song isn't finished!), same problem happened again! Does anyone have same problem? or you know what's wrong with it, Please HELP. or shall I return it. Thanks in advance!

Posted by Wei Wang on March 28, 2004 at 1:57 AM (PDT)

49

Well, since they dont charge off the batteries and that was the main reason i was going to but them, i am now out of options. I dont want the belkin battery pack, because it is expensive and looks bad on the back of the Pod.

Posted by mobileemp on April 1, 2004 at 3:08 PM (PDT)

50

I just received the inmotion speakers and really like them. The size and looks are great and the sound is okay. If you are not looking to imitate really fine stereo sound then these are for you. I listen to alot of audio in the car on my ipod and often want to finish the books at home and not with headphones. the inmotion are great for this. WE are cruising this summer and will take them along to listen to tunes in our cabin.

I got a great deal on the speakers on Buy.com $104.00 and free shipping. This is an unbeatable prive and they arrived 4 days after ordering.

Posted by Freddi McCouan on April 18, 2004 at 2:33 PM (PDT)

51

Has anyone tried using a wireless remote with these speakers??? I would like to be able to control the volume from the couch while the iPod/speakers are on the shelf.

Posted by mym on April 27, 2004 at 9:24 PM (PDT)

52

iPodder: As a final response on the Creature v inMotion v Monster issue, we remain thoroughly convinced that for the vast majority of users it's fair to compare similarly (or lower) priced options that deliver superior sound. Readers should have the "bigger" picture when choosing audio equipment, and it surely does no harm to point out that if pure portability isn't as important to a user as audio quality, the Creatures will outperform inMotions that were twice the price. As time has gone on, the street price of the inMotions has been falling to what we consider a more reasonable $100 level, changing this equation quite a bit in favor of the inMotions. But at the time we wrote the review, the premium you paid for greater portability was in our view a bit excessive.

And similarly, there's no harm in saying that the Creatures (and other speakers) dramatically outshine the very mediocre Monster speakers, which may be small but produce comparatively terrible sound quality. Again, the difference in price at the point of publication was such that we felt it appropriate to highlight various pricing, performance, and portability options for our readers.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz on May 5, 2004 at 6:42 AM (PDT)

53

Mym - You can't control volume from a distance with a wireless remote on the inMotions, one of the major gripes in my original review.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz on May 5, 2004 at 6:43 AM (PDT)

54

Has anyone came across and solved the docking problem with InMotion speakers. I am running XP and itunes doesn't see the iPod, but when it does when I just use the docking station.

Posted by Mark on May 24, 2004 at 1:27 AM (PDT)

55

I'm going to be studying in London next fall. I have a 20 gb Ipod that I love and do not wish to be without. My question is this. Can you power the speakers with the firewire/ac adapter? If so, one should be able to use the worldtravel adapter from apple with the speakers. If this isn't possible, are there any other options? (and someone ought to tell alect to look into this!) thanks.

Posted by Matt on May 24, 2004 at 4:11 PM (PDT)

56

I received th inMotion as a birthday gift and have LOVED using it! It's light, very portable, small...and matches the iPod perfectly. I use it with my 3G and my husbands 1G and it works great with both. The sound is amazing from such a little set of speakers, too.

Posted by kdavies in Georgia on June 15, 2004 at 6:14 AM (PDT)

57

I tried the Altec inMotion, Creative TravelSound and Sony SRS-T88... from a pure sound quality view, the Creative TravelSound came out way ahead... amazing little thing. The Sony's were awful - like a cheap toy radio.

Posted by Chris Huelsbeck on June 15, 2004 at 1:21 PM (PDT)

58

I tried the Altec inMotion, Creative TravelSound and Sony SRS-T88... from a pure sound quality view, the Creative TravelSound came out way ahead... amazing little thing. The Sony's were awful - like a cheap toy radio.

Posted by Chris Huelsbeck on June 15, 2004 at 1:23 PM (PDT)

59

I have owned the inmotions for a long time now, I remember being able to sync it before I updated my itunes, but now whenever I try to sync, itunes comes up with an error and then does not allow me to stop the ipod so when I disconnect, I have to do a restore. I tried this a few times now and same thing everytime. Works fine with a normal dock.

Posted by Vince on June 22, 2004 at 10:36 PM (PDT)

60

I love my inmotion speakers. The sound is good and the portability is fantastic. I agree with one of the other comments about a carrying case for the ipod with all of it's accessories. I have become an accessory junkie and need to be able to carry many of them when I travel. Maybe I'll design one myself.

Posted by fredly47 in South Forida on June 26, 2004 at 11:22 AM (PDT)

Page 3 of 5 pages  <  1 2 3 4 5 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.