Apple 3G iPod 15GB | iLounge

Reviews

1

I'm a bit shocked that you haven't talked about the very annoying tick/pop between tracks.

If you haven't heard this yet, rip some classical CD you might have around, and listen to track transitions on that CD -- there's a very audible, annoying 'pop'.

Apparently older iPods didn't have this issue. I'm having this with a new 30 GB model that arrived yesterday. I believe it's a firmware problem. I hope Apple addresses it soon.

Posted by Marcelo P. Lima in Miami on May 6, 2003 at 6:38 AM (PDT)

2

Uh, when you can DOUBLE the capacity of an iPod for a another hundred dollars over the price of the 15 gig, that doesn't sound like "splurging", that sounds like smart money.

Posted by John in USA on May 6, 2003 at 6:54 AM (PDT)

3

I agree that the touch buttons are at least questionable. I hate them. You can no longer use the ipod by "feel", ie if it's in your pocket. You have to be looking directly at it to make sure you don't accidentaly touch a wrong button. A big disappointment.

Posted by David in Chicago on May 6, 2003 at 7:03 AM (PDT)

4

We would like to reiterate: the MusicMatch software is a national disgrace. Whats more, if you have a question, they will only answer within 48 hours via email. I can now fully use MM software through my own trial and error efforts.

As Stanley Chan says in the above article: the world literally awaits Apples implementation of iTunes for Windows.

And...this new iPod is supersensitive to the touch. It needs desensitizing bigtime.

Pete Saybolt

Posted by Pete Saybolt in Baltimore, MD on May 6, 2003 at 7:14 AM (PDT)

5

The iPods are great, all of them... all versions...

Now that that's out of the way, I too am very annoyed with the audible "pop" or tick or crackle in between songs. I've encoded my entire music collection at 128 AAC (making the transition from 192 mp3) and I wasn't sure where the blame should be placed. But if others are having the same issue, hopefully Apple will recognize it and fix it with a software update.

I have the 30 gig... and I think upgrading to it for another $100 was a smart move, but I was tempted to buy the 15 simple because of the size.

Thanks for the informative review (and comments).

Posted by cny730 on May 6, 2003 at 7:39 AM (PDT)

6

Does the new iPod have the ability to upload photos directly from a digital camera?

Posted by Jamie Winkler in Chicago, IL on May 6, 2003 at 8:12 AM (PDT)

7

i upgraded to the 30gb from the 1str gen. 5 gb. comparing the 2 side by side, they're nearly the same dimensions, tho the 30 seems a bit smaller only because of the rounded edges, and maybe just a bit lighter.
i've also noticed the popping/ticking on the 30, and think that it's a 3rd gen issue. having begun ripping my cds to aac after placing my order (no small task -- nearly 600), i'd swap out the old mp3s from the 5 with the new aac versions and did NOT notice that popping when listening back. i'll definitely be posting to apple about that bug.
that annoyance asuide, the aac format is outstanding. there's a noticeable difference (to me, leastwise) between even 200+ kbps encoded mp3 and 128 aac, and aac wins.

Posted by speedyhed on May 6, 2003 at 8:19 AM (PDT)

8

about the popping noises--i think it's actually a problem with the itunes software. if you rip your mp3's with toast I havn't noticed the popping noise.

Posted by tim on May 6, 2003 at 8:42 AM (PDT)

9

just reading that comment there, on the specs page for the new ipods, there is an option saying "Clicker on or off" doesent that mean u can turn the tick/pop noise off ??

Posted by indiedude in Glasgow, Scotland on May 6, 2003 at 8:58 AM (PDT)

10

i believe the "Clicker" is refering to the "click sounds" you get when moving around the UI. turn them on or off.

Posted by 2000NB18T on May 6, 2003 at 9:13 AM (PDT)

11

ahh rite, gotcha

Posted by indiedude in Glasgow, Scotland on May 6, 2003 at 9:16 AM (PDT)

12

Has anyone hooked up their iPod to their car stereo? I know that there's the Belkin FM Transmitter. Does it work well? Are there other options?

Posted by Richard on May 6, 2003 at 11:06 AM (PDT)

13

I purchased and have been using the Belkin FM Transmitter along with my new iPod. Most of the time (maybe 90%) it works great. Ofcourse the sound isn't crystal clear, but I don't expect much from a transmitter. Occasionally there would be a faint, high-pitched beep, when there is an interfering radio station.

Posted by Donna on May 6, 2003 at 11:42 AM (PDT)

14

I bought the Belkin FM transmitter on the weekend (seems like the only thing that currently works with the new iPods...). It was pretty awful around Buffalo (major interference /noise / fading out, etc.), but as I drove towards Toronto it cleared up and was great for the majority of the trip. I guess it totally depends on where you're at. It includes 4 station settings, which I switched several times during the "noisy" periods and they all seemed about the same.

Posted by Brad on May 6, 2003 at 11:55 AM (PDT)

15

I'm the owner of an original 5GB. I think Apple is moving away from the whole point of the iPod in the first place - it's simplicity. I guess they did it so simple the first time, they just have to add to it. The remote (on the headphone cord) on the second generation seemed a bit ridiculous. Isn't the iPod just that - a remote? And now the touch buttons? I agree with the post above - I use my iPod probably 90 percent of the time just by "feel."

I'm glad I own the 5GB. I'm a bit dissapointed where Apple is heading with it, but it's still a great product.

Maybe I'm just a bit jealous...

Posted by Ryan in Ottawa on May 6, 2003 at 12:23 PM (PDT)

16

I thought I was the only one experiencing the popping problem between/when switching tracks. It's not the ripping--it's happening on files encoded with Lame, as well as the internal iTunes encoder. What's more, it never happened on the exact same files on my 20GB. That leads me to believe that it is, in fact, a problem with the firmware. It's a minor annoyance, but one that I hope is resolved in the next release.

Posted by Aaron in Phoenix, AZ on May 6, 2003 at 1:25 PM (PDT)

17

I just learned of a Griffin Technology product called "iTrip" which is another version of an FM transmitter. It has 100 frequencies to choose from. Has anyone had experience with this product? Does it support the brand new 15 GB iPod?

Posted by Richard on May 6, 2003 at 2:32 PM (PDT)

18

I have to say that I love the new look and feel of the ipod! I owned the 10GB and just upgraded to the 15GB. It's smaller and easier to hold. I just wish I could get a case for it before it gets scratched up! I hate the one Apple provides where you can't run the devise without pulling it out or using the remote. Does anyone know where to find a more functional one?

Posted by Rick in Oklahoma City on May 6, 2003 at 3:48 PM (PDT)

19

richard no it dose not because the itrip uses friewire and since aplle move it to the bottom it will not work sorry

Posted by Phill in Texas on May 6, 2003 at 4:07 PM (PDT)

20

firewire

Posted by Phill in Texas on May 6, 2003 at 4:07 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 17 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.