Apple 3G iPod 15GB | iLounge

Reviews

61

I'd like to jog long distances with my 15gb ipod... does anyone know a good case with an arm band for this purpose?

Posted by lauren in ny on May 15, 2003 at 4:21 PM (PDT)

62

The best cases for athletics are the ones made by Marware. I have the SportSuit convertible for my generation-1 iPod (5GB). They already have models for the new iPod.

As an update to my battery tests I have found that I could play 112 tracks before the battery dies if the lights are not on. At an average of 3.5 minutes per track, that would be 6.5 hours. Given that many songs are more than 3.5 minutes, it is safe to say that you could expect 7 hours from the iPod. While this is several hours short of the generation-1 iPod, it is still quite respectable and probably more than many equivalent systems of that size . . . . .Right, there are not equivalent systems.

I may be jaded from owning one of the first iPods with its unique design, but the new one does not fill me with the awe and excitement I experienced when I held my first iPod. Even so, the new iPod is really a miracle of industrial design. The button placement is growing on me, the base-mount-dock system is a delight to work with, it feels great to hold, and I can get about 75% of my CD collection on the 30GB model.

Posted by Paul in Houghton, MI on May 15, 2003 at 5:30 PM (PDT)

63

BTW, Griffin Technology says it is currently working on a new iTrip for the new generation of iPods and will have it ready in approx. 90 days. To reiterate a previous post...the current iTrip receives it's power from the headphone jack and not the firewire port. It uses the a 'firewire like' protrusion to anchor itself to the iPod.

Posted by david in nyc on May 16, 2003 at 7:39 PM (PDT)

64

Sucess at last!
Some important lessons learned that may help other Windows iPod owners. 1)I discovered that The firewire controller with Texas Instruments chipset does not work well with the iPod (found this out on another forum posting) as soon as I replaced my fire wire port to one with the VIA chipset life was great. 2)MusicMatch (MM) is great for organizing, playing, manipulating, mp3s and ripping CDs;however it absolutely sucks if you intend to use it as a tool to "sync" your iPod. MM is sluggish, has a difficult time recognizing the iPod is connected and takes a considerable length of time to sync your music. Get EphPod, it's free, provides great documentation on installation and configuration. EphPod will also decrease your sync time by 30% or more. Note: You do not need MacOpener with EphPod if you have the iPod made for Mac and Windows so don't bother downloading it. The latest version of EphPod for Windows is 2.60f. 3)It's okay for your iPod to continuously show a screen stating "do not disconnect" while you are synching with your PC. I have found that the only time your standard menus appear are when the iPod has been "ejected" from the PC or when it is physically disconnected from the docking station. 4)Do not ever disengage the iPod from the docking station without first "ejecting" it from your PC by double clicking on the eject hardware symbol on the bottom right corner of your task bar. If you do this you risk corrupting the drive and will be forced to perform a reset to correct the problem. Hope this helps fellow Win iPod owners.

Posted by Max in Orlando on May 16, 2003 at 11:36 PM (PDT)

65

The new iTrip should have even better sound because the lower connector bypasses the amplifier on its way to the line out.

Posted by Paul in Houghton, MI on May 17, 2003 at 6:41 PM (PDT)

66

Does anyone know why on the new 15 gb iPod it shows mulitiple artist listings onscreen even though it doesn't in MusicMatch on PC?

Posted by Rick in Oklahoma on May 18, 2003 at 1:43 PM (PDT)

67

I am visually impaired and I might have a solution for the touch buttons. Try a product called LocDots or Locater Dots. They are round, clear, and easy to apply. It just all depends on whether or not you want to stick something to the surface of such a nice looking device. If interested just type locdots in the google search and it should come up. Also can a user adjust the font size on the display and does the case for the new ipod really protect the unit when in a backpack? This will be my first time with a ipod and I am thinking of the 15 gig. Finally I saw a post about loading photos on the ipod. Has anyone done this yet and if so what were you results?

Gene and Princess

Posted by Gene and Princess in Seattle, WA on May 18, 2003 at 11:54 PM (PDT)

68

Hi, I'm new here and have just been browsing the forums. I noticed some references to FM transmitters in vehicles. Is this the only way to use the ipod in a car, or can you go with the old tape adapter device? I'm asking because I just bought the 15gb ipod, primarily for on road use.
Thanks!

Posted by Don in Wisconsin on May 19, 2003 at 3:31 PM (PDT)

69

"Is this the only way to use the ipod in a car, or can you go with the old tape adapter device? I'm asking because I just bought the 15gb ipod, primarily for on road use. "

Read up on about a zillion posts here and across the net that all talk about all the options for connecting your iPod to your car radio.

Cassette adapters - yes.

Posted by Chess in San Diego on May 19, 2003 at 4:02 PM (PDT)

70

"Is this the only way to use the ipod in a car, or can you go with the old tape adapter device? I'm asking because I just bought the 15gb ipod, primarily for on road use. "

Read up on about a zillion posts here and across the net that all talk about all the options for connecting your iPod to your car radio.

Cassette adapters - yes.

Posted by Chess in San Diego on May 19, 2003 at 4:02 PM (PDT)

71

Alright. A line-out does not bypass the internal opamp (headphone amp), it just bypasses the volume control. If you set the volume at max, it will be at line level (or the line level that the line-out is at, consumer line-level). If the line-out were to come directly out of the DAC, the you would have a very weak signal (the iPod's DAC may have an opamp built in, this comment is assuming it does not.)

Posted by Drew on May 19, 2003 at 7:25 PM (PDT)

72

I plan on buying a 15 gig model within the week, and a few issues concern me. First, is the battery issue that bad? What if I plan to use my ipod mostly at work, and at home connected to speakers as a stereo system. Can I just plug it to the AC adapters? If plugged, will it still consume battery power?

And what if those doomsayers are correct that in 2 years, the battery is dead, will the ipod still work if connected to the ac adapter?

Other than that, I am TOTALLY excited and cant wait to get my hands on it.

Posted by Reorx on May 19, 2003 at 11:17 PM (PDT)

73

I was going to purchase an Ipod, when visiting my local Best Buy, they had a 2nd gen 20 gig model for $299 vs the 3rd gen 15 gig model for $399. Is the 3rd gen worthy of the add'l $100 for 5 less gig? I plan to use it in my car as well as connected to my home stereo. Any thoughts or opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Posted by NoSub on May 20, 2003 at 3:41 AM (PDT)

74

To: NOSUB: The 30GB iPod has very sensitive touch buttons. The 20GB is easier to control and I can say that since Ive had both. But the 30 is lighter. The 20 can be controlled from the case itself which is nice. The buttons surrounding the scroll wheel are far easier to control than the buttons on the newer 30.

But if your heart is set on the 30, here's what to do...and time is of t he essence. Buy the 20 at BB, and take the 4 year service contract. Anything wrong, they just like for like it......BB cannot fix ####. Then wait till theyre out of 20s, take your 20 in and complain that the equalizer does not work. Theyll then switch you t o a comparable iPod, in this case the 30. But make sure you like the 30 first. BB has a 30 day return which should let you at least test the 30.

For CHESS: The xTREMEMAC cassette adapter works quite well in a car, since this is what I now use. However; a line in on the front of the car radio (or rear) is ideally what you want for the best sound. Aiwa and JVC sell such radios. Moreover; the MINI COOPER automobile comes with a LINE IN jack in the front of the radio.

Posted by Pete Saybolt in Baltimore, MD on May 20, 2003 at 4:07 AM (PDT)

75

To: NOSUB: The 30GB iPod has very sensitive touch buttons. The 20GB is easier to control and I can say that since Ive had both. But the 30 is lighter. The 20 can be controlled from the case itself which is nice. The buttons surrounding the scroll wheel are far easier to control than the buttons on the newer 30.

But if your heart is set on the 30, here's what to do...and time is of t he essence. Buy the 20 at BB, and take the 4 year service contract. Anything wrong, they just like for like it......BB cannot fix ####. Then wait till theyre out of 20s, take your 20 in and complain that the equalizer does not work. Theyll then switch you t o a comparable iPod, in this case the 30. But make sure you like the 30 first. BB has a 30 day return which should let you at least test the 30.

For CHESS: The xTREMEMAC cassette adapter works quite well in a car, since this is what I now use. However; a line in on the front of the car radio (or rear) is ideally what you want for the best sound. Aiwa and JVC sell such radios. Moreover; the MINI COOPER automobile comes with a LINE IN jack in the front of the radio.

Posted by Pete Saybolt in Baltimore, MD on May 20, 2003 at 4:07 AM (PDT)

76

To: NOSUB: The 30GB iPod has very sensitive touch buttons. The 20GB is easier to control and I can say that since Ive had both. But the 30 is lighter. The 20 can be controlled from the case itself which is nice. The buttons surrounding the scroll wheel are far easier to control than the buttons on the newer 30.

But if your heart is set on the 30, here's what to do...and time is of t he essence. Buy the 20 at BB, and take the 4 year service contract. Anything wrong, they just like for like it......BB cannot fix ####. Then wait till theyre out of 20s, take your 20 in and complain that the equalizer does not work. Theyll then switch you t o a comparable iPod, in this case the 30. But make sure you like the 30 first. BB has a 30 day return which should let you at least test the 30.

For CHESS: The xTREMEMAC cassette adapter works quite well in a car, since this is what I now use. However; a line in on the front of the car radio (or rear) is ideally what you want for the best sound. Aiwa and JVC sell such radios. Moreover; the MINI COOPER automobile comes with a LINE IN jack in the front of the radio.

Posted by Pete Saybolt in Baltimore, MD on May 20, 2003 at 4:08 AM (PDT)

77

Peter,

Uhhh, I have my ipod hooked up through RCA Jacks via my CD changer control. 100% rock & Roll. I was just responding to the other post who was asking about cassette adapters. I don't even own a cassette player any more.

Posted by Chess in San Diego on May 20, 2003 at 4:55 AM (PDT)

78

Ok. For all of you who say you have trouble with your ipoid on a windows machine, I have the perfect solution for you, that will gauranteed fiz the problem:Get a mac.
Secondly, is the battery life really that bad? I was told Apple originally said 10 hours but that was never quite true and it was always more like 8. And who the heck thinks It only lasts two years?

Posted by Will in MA on May 20, 2003 at 1:09 PM (PDT)

79

I`ve just bought the 15gb ipod in the uk in preference to the Creative Zen. Design, function and form beat the extra 5gb the Zen offered. A few things......1. I find the Musicmatch software supplied, clunky to use and there are some problems recognising whther i`m connected. 2. I suffer with the click / pop between tracks also (similar to a static pop) 3. sound level is set too low. this is a european thing to do with output not being allowed to exceed 100dbs. The problem with this is, i don`t want to have to max out the volume as it distorts (its not the amp clipping as when plugging in to my hi-fi amp there is no distortion) aside from that, any recommends for headphones that work with it?

Posted by mrblister in UK on May 20, 2003 at 2:03 PM (PDT)

80

Does anybody know if the new one skips over songs like the old one does???

-Y

Posted by YG in NE on May 20, 2003 at 5:22 PM (PDT)

Page 4 of 17 pages « First  <  2 3 4 5 6 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.