Apple 4G iPod: New iPod Users’ Review | iLounge

Reviews

121

If you are looking for a cheap 20GB 4G iPod, why not get one for free? This is a completely legit company (read the article in Wired Magazine) that give iPods away free in return for using their advertisers. It is worth the effort to get such a great product for free. Use this link to get started:
Free iPods

Posted by jman on August 23, 2004 at 9:42 AM (PDT)

122

`Use this link to get started'

Avoid this like the plague. These jokers will sign you up for tons of spam and telemarketing and greedy spammers like this dude don't deserve to be allowed to sell their crappy "free" offers on ipodlounge!

Posted by spammers on August 23, 2004 at 10:09 AM (PDT)

123

You forgot to mention that the 4G iPod doesn't come with the Dock Connector Cover.

Posted by jimg on August 24, 2004 at 3:16 PM (PDT)

124

I have had my 20 Gb 4G for five days now. I love it. It is my first iPod and it is incredibly easy to use. The sound quality is wonderful. The iTalk I got with it works well, too.

So far, no problems and no complaints. Another masterful piece of Apple engineering.

Posted by Appledog on August 26, 2004 at 7:12 PM (PDT)

125

The 3G dock will work with 4G ipod but since the 4G ipod is marginally smaller than 3G ipod, you feel your 4G ipod not really secured in the dock.

Posted by crayon on August 28, 2004 at 12:00 AM (PDT)

126

Just bought the 3G 15Gb ipod and I am LOVING it! Had a bit of troubleshooting to do because Windows 2000 didn't recognize the ipod, but that didn't take long to fix.

Posted by Paul on August 28, 2004 at 6:26 PM (PDT)

127

After taking the time of reading all of these tidbits from fellow ipod users and haters i have something to say as a 4g 40gig ipod owner...

There are users who think that the ipod is the best because it looks the best and that is there only reason...I agree that sound quality is just as important as another user said reviewing an ipod and not mentioning sound is like reviewing a restaurant and not mentioning food. Very true, well put. Would you buy basketball sneakers that look great but make you fall from lack of support?How about a car that looks nice but is very unreliable?

Other users say that the ipod is garbage because of its "poor sound quality" I believe people who knock the ipods sound quality have a lack of understanding for effective encoding from cds and other sources or spend too much time monitoring kbps and sig to noise ratios. As a musician who understands how music is supposed to sound, I can confidently say that the ipod sounds very good as tiny digital music player. These users might also note that they wouldnt think of using a device that is VERY USER FRIENDLY THAT LOOKS GOOD AND IS VERY COMPACT that plays music at sub-"music worshiper" levels. Again, would you buy a pair of basketball sneakers that give ankle support but are the ugliest things on the face of the earth(er-hem zen + dell)? Please. Looks count. Would you buy a high performance car that looked like a piece of s***. I find competitors products to be very ugly and at times harder to control and manage properly, which is not to say the ipod doesn't have its quirks.

THE BOTTOM LINE: If you are going to put your money into a top of the line product and are wondering what to pick, everyone knows you want the best OVERALL experience. the ipod blends style, size, performance (battery+sound quality) together to make a good product. People who really want the best quality need to remember that with smaller voltage products come reduced quality. The user that mentioned little things like gapless playback and radio playback need to consider which product has the BEST OVERALL experience. Thanks for reading let me kno if I left something out.

Posted by mikesta21 on September 1, 2004 at 8:33 PM (PDT)

128

I recently bought a new 4g iPod, it looks fantastic so slim, I was used to the controls in 20 minutes and had my first song on it within a further 10 minutes. A few days later I went on a long journey (3hrs) I thought no problem grabbed my pod and off I went but to my amazement the battery was flat 2 hours into the journey. This is a great product but the battery. Tips anyone email .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Posted by Hugo on September 2, 2004 at 10:16 AM (PDT)

129

hey every body here is my opinion aobut the new i pod : it sucks !!!

i baught one of each i pods and have tried hem all the only one that is actually good is the 3g one its simple clean and doesent give a whole load of b**Lox the mini one allways breaks down and the battery lasts for 2mins the mac one sucks cuase i dont have a mac and the 4g one sucks aswell cuase the click wheel allways drops out so im in abit of a confusion becuase there all aibt the same but with just simple looking stuff u and wat even more annoyes me is that every time a new i pod comes out so the companys that make all the accesoreis say ok lets forget about the mini i pod or for example the 3g i pod becuasde we have a new 4g i pod which sucks even more


so the bottom line is i suggest that every one leave these s**ty i pods and jus stick with the 3g i pod the normal simple and sleek i pod cuase all other suck

Posted by roi on September 3, 2004 at 8:42 AM (PDT)

130

Im thinking of buying a 4G ipod (my first) and the only thing holding me back is the fact that i have loads of songs on my pc that are WMA files and from what i've read, ipod doesn't support them. Am i just being silly and/or can anyone reccomend any programs to convert WMA to another file type?! Im currently using Windows media player to put my CD's onto my PC which produces loads of WMA files.

Please help!!!!

Posted by Frank on September 5, 2004 at 3:10 AM (PDT)

131

Hi, i got my ipod today, i have had no problems with it at all and i love it! its my first ipod ever (i have wanted one for ages!) all i have got to work on now is puttin all my music onto it!

Posted by cky2k in england, kent on September 10, 2004 at 1:22 PM (PDT)

132

i just ordered my first ipod, previously using a nomad jukebox. i cant wait to get my hands on, been aching to get one of these for a long time. was just wondering..charging thru thr usb,..not a clue how that works.. u just plug it into ur computer and it charges? that would be brilliant. please let me know

Posted by gman on September 16, 2004 at 11:17 AM (PDT)

133

I was all ready to buy an iPod when the 3G came out, and I postponed b/c I couldn't stand the touch-sensitive buttons -- there's no tactile feedback! I couldn't understand it.

Got my wife a silver mini a few months ago, and the click wheel seemed like the perfect solution -- I agree with the reviewer that it's "the best control device Apple has created yet," although to me the physical clicking sounds are part of that increased usability. So mine's on the way!

One minor quibble -- AAC is NOT a proprietary format, it's part of the MPEG-4 standard. It's only Apple's FairPlay DRM that is added onto the songs you download from iTMS that is proprietary. And the iPod supports unprotected AAC, which has higher quality than MP3 at the same bit-rate, so if you feel like ripping all your CDs you can have your library in that format.

Info about AAC: http://www.apple.com/mpeg4/aac/

Posted by nate on September 17, 2004 at 1:56 PM (PDT)

134

I'm trying to decide if I should get a 3g or the new 4g Ipod. I've look at both 40gb models at CompUSA - and lean more toward the 3G - due to the fact that it's (slightly less expensive, comes with more acessories, and in my opinion - looks better) I didn't like the 4G's wheel buttons interface - just think how many times you'll press the buttons throughout the lifetime of the unit and if one or more buttons goes kaput - I prefer quieter touch sensitive controls and even better the 3G package comes with the remote.

* just my thoughts, anyone else agree?

Posted by Grey on September 18, 2004 at 7:39 AM (PDT)

135

I have heard that the IPOD has problems with digital rights magagement. Meaning that if you download illegaly which I don't do your IPOD will not play the music. I was just wondering if this is true.

Posted by Nick on September 20, 2004 at 8:45 AM (PDT)

136

I am on my 3rd 20G ipod in the last month, everytime I use the ipod while running it locks up. Typically it will happen 20-30 minutes into the run then it will stay locked up for another two or three hours. Has anyone heard anything about this? I have been back to the retail store I purchased it from and they are no help. I love the ipod size and design, but if you cannot use it while exercising... then what good is it?

Posted by Scott on September 22, 2004 at 3:53 AM (PDT)

137

I got my 20gig iPod 4G in late july not to long after they were released. There are just a few minor things that i don't like about the 4G.

1. The click wheel doesn't light up.

I am using it alot in my car, so at night the click wheel is very hard to see.


I know that the 3G had light up buttons and it was very easy to see them in the dark.

2. The click wheel gets dirty very quickly.

I also use mine at school so I am constantly trying to find songs, I have noticed that the gray click wheel has become dirty from all the use. It is very hard to remove.

Other than these little things, its a great product, I would choose an iPod over a Dell DJ anytime.

Posted by Brian on September 23, 2004 at 9:31 PM (PDT)

138

i got the g4 ipod a week ago, i got a faulty usb wire, i never owned an ipod before, so i thought it wasn't conencting for some different reason, until i figured out that it was from the usb wire, went back to virgin megastore in kuwait "where i got it from" and replace the usb wire
otherwise, it's amazing. go for it

Posted by Ram on September 24, 2004 at 6:34 AM (PDT)

139

I love the new iPod I owned the older 3G 15 GB one and found the buttons were a little sensitive for me. I could see if you have it in a dock on your desk they would be more useful but for walking with it in your pocket it is much better. I also use the iTrip which works fine withe the 4G iPod. I have had the battery last over 12 hours with the click wheel off and the eq off. As for the grey click wheel I think its great. Another feature that I really like is it automatically pauses when you unplug the headphones.

Posted by Dennis Prance on September 27, 2004 at 8:19 AM (PDT)

140

These units still suffer from the song-skipping defect. If the iPod is in motion at all, even gentle rolling motion, it will (80 or 90 percent of the time) skip the selected song and play the next one in the playlist.

This error occurs during almost all car usage. The defect is acknowledged and yet unfixed now for three generations. Totally unacceptable.

Posted by Palmer Woodrow on September 29, 2004 at 8:50 AM (PDT)

Page 7 of 8 pages « First  <  5 6 7 8 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.