Apple 4G iPod: New iPod Users’ Review | iLounge

Reviews

141

I recieved a 4g 20gb ipod for my b'day not long ago, i charged it to full, put all of my music on it and listened to it for about an hour before the click wheel stopped working. i found that if i fiddled with the hold button the click wheel would work again for a short amount of time.

I took the ipod back the next day and the nice people at the apple store that it was purchased from gave me a new one no questions asked. however i had the same problem with my new ipod. the click wheel stopped scrolling.

i have now taken this second ipod back again and had a technician check it out and they are convinced that there is a serious problem with the last few ipods they have had in.

they are ordering me in another one which should arrive in a few days. it seems that there are quite a few problems with the ipods for their expensive price. i hope that anyone considering buying an ipod takes this into consideration.

by the way i'm not trying to pay out on apple or ipods - i loved the ipod for the short time it was working and i'm looking forward to gettin a replacement that works.

Posted by David on October 4, 2004 at 11:09 PM (PDT)

142

I have just bought a new 4G 20GB. Having listened to it through high quality headphones (Grado)- which the Pod surprisingly drives OK - it seems to be that the sound quality is not as good as on my 2G 20GB. The 2G has more weight in bass and warmth whereas I find the 4G sounds rather too "digital". The equalizers are all set to "off". Secondly, the volume on the 2G goes higher than on the 4G. Has anyone else noticed this? I am considering selling the 4G and keeping my old 2G - Am I imagining things?

Posted by Lin on October 13, 2004 at 5:53 PM (PDT)

143

Anyone know if the 4gen Ipod can be used as a portable hard driive exactly like the 3 g iPods

Posted by Arashid on October 14, 2004 at 6:07 AM (PDT)

144

Ref Battery Life: I bought a Minolta digital camera with Lithium batteries which started out with really short battery life. I had got up to having four sets of batteries (for use in rotation) when suddenly one set seemed to double it's life over-night. All have subsequently improved, even to the point of still working having been unused for a month or so. I wonder if the variable reports on iPod batteries are arising from similar experiences?

Posted by Oaks on October 16, 2004 at 7:40 AM (PDT)

145

can u chande the font on the 20

Posted by Eric on October 16, 2004 at 2:56 PM (PDT)

146

a question for those who know or heard.
like when cell phone companies came up with color screens,does anyone think that the iPod would ever be upgraded to a color screen?By When?

Posted by pablo on October 16, 2004 at 3:45 PM (PDT)

147

The Grey Click Wheel doesnt bother me, it looks nice..

Posted by Naota on October 18, 2004 at 4:03 PM (PDT)

148

These ipods are awesome. They are small and durable. But why pay full price. Go to this website and get one at a big discount, and its legal which is the best part.

http://www.freeiPods.com/default.aspx?referer=10868939

Posted by Jon on October 24, 2004 at 7:34 AM (PDT)

149

I >heart< my 4G 20Gb iPod! It's easy and fun to use, and very simple, clean and classy (in my opinion) in style and design. I don't notice a major difference in the quality of music between my CD's and the iPod. My only beef with Apple is the cheesy earbuds they provide with the product. I just purchased a pair of $10 Sony earbuds for MUCH better results.

Posted by 1PodHead on October 26, 2004 at 4:09 AM (PDT)

150

I >heart< my 4G 20Gb iPod! It's easy and fun to use, and very simple, clean and classy (in my opinion) in style and design. I don't notice a major difference in the quality of music between my CD's and the iPod. My only beef with Apple is the cheesy earbuds they provide with the product. I just purchased a pair of $10 Sony earbuds for MUCH better results.

Posted by 1PodHead on October 26, 2004 at 4:22 AM (PDT)

151

Just got my 40Gb 4G. Its' actually lookin like just over 37Gb..anyone else notice this? Is it "just the way it is" or am I missing something only a missing 3Gb seems quite a lot just to part of an Os. Baffled, but I'm sure there's a logical explanation.

Posted by Ioan Huws on October 27, 2004 at 12:34 PM (PDT)

152

I actually enjoy the blue backlight compared to the black one. It seems a little "perkier" to the eye.

Posted by f0r3v3r00 in Kansas on December 27, 2004 at 6:06 PM (PDT)

153

After some crook on Ebay ripped me off, I was finally re-imbursed my money, so I just bought a 20 gig IPod from Best Buy... being my first MP3 player, I obviously like it a lot more than lugging around 300 cds.

One thing I noticed... I left the protective plastic on my click-wheel, and it wasn't as responsive when I had finally removed it. (Yes, I'm a dork)

Posted by Anthony Jason in Boston, Ma on March 18, 2005 at 10:17 AM (PDT)

154

My girlfriend got the Ipod mini just before they made the 6 gig ones and then they revamped the 4 gigs as well, I don't like that the newer ones don't come with a firewire cable or a charger, I mean they dropped the price but in the end you do pay for it because you have to get a charger unless you only plan on charging it through the computer. Besides that the Mins are cool light small and very reasonably priced. I just think that they need to make a black one or do a Vans scheme and make a checkerboard styled one.

Posted by dlroto in md on April 4, 2005 at 8:51 AM (PDT)

155

I have this ipod for a while and its great battery bout 13 hrs still and it continues to serve me well and I love this ipod.

Posted by Ray447ipod on February 14, 2006 at 12:28 AM (PDT)

Page 8 of 8 pages « First  <  6 7 8

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.