Apple 4G iPod: New iPod Users’ Review | iLounge

Reviews

61

It is much easier to use with th enew click wheel and i love the new blue backlight, it is so easy to read.

Posted by Chris Hood on July 29, 2004 at 12:53 AM (PDT)

62

i like ipod very much. It is to good to listen to music

Posted by tek pun on July 29, 2004 at 3:16 AM (PDT)

63

DJMac -

You CAN use all the G3 accessories with a G4 ipod - at least all the ones I've tried. (the dock and adapter). The cases don't work for the buttons, but they keep it from getting scratched.

I think it looks neat. My only problem was...20gb or 40gb?

Posted by cordria on July 29, 2004 at 9:42 AM (PDT)

64

Is your recommendation to grab the 3G iPods changed by this?
http://www.time.com/time/gadget/20040728/

"But you should know that internally the new iPod is a ground-up reconstruction, and its really compelling applications — the ones that very well might get the goat of anyone unable or unwilling to upgrade — are still secret. All that Apple is saying is that there's more to this than what's being publicized."

Posted by Stephen W. Carson on July 29, 2004 at 1:23 PM (PDT)

65

It's a shame the 4th generation ipods don't come in a variety of colors. I was really hoping they would. A silver one would look so much nicer next to a powerbook. Enough of this white phase already.

Posted by zymonkey in New York on July 29, 2004 at 5:37 PM (PDT)

66

how do you reboot the new clickwheel ipod? ru

Posted by r ullyett on July 30, 2004 at 3:22 AM (PDT)

67

Can anyone tell me if I will be able to use an ipod as a portable hard disk to transfer files from my old pc (has usb port) to my new powerbbok??

Posted by bob on July 30, 2004 at 4:40 AM (PDT)

68

I've been considering getting an IPod for quite some time. Recently I was alarmed when I read something about IPod only allowing legally downloaded music from ITunes to be played on the IPod. I have tons of music which I've downloaded (in mp3 format) and am concerned they won't be able to play on the IPod. Is there any truth to this statement?

Posted by ThinkingIPod on July 30, 2004 at 7:57 AM (PDT)

69

Just got a new 4G 20GB last week - my first Pod. So far very impressed with form factor, speedy firewire downloading, and sound quality. If you're affiliated with a school, take advantage of the nice $269 discounted price on Apple's Education store.

The stock ear buds sound a lot better than I thought they would, but the Sony EX71s are on their way (at Amazon for $32). As mentioned by a previous reviewer, it would be nice if there was a manual EQ, but at least there's a wide range of pre-sets. I've found the Hip Hop and R&B settings to provide the fullest, richest sound for all genres of music so far. Loudness seems to lack punch and Bass Boost sounds a little muddy.

Love the clickwheel and the blue screen! Never thought much of the 3G design which is why I waited. It's still on it's first charge, but I juiced it up to 100% out of the box and after using it for just 15 minutes to download some playlists and play a handful of songs, the indicator is already down one notch (out of 4 or 5). Being a Pod newbie, is this normal? Replaceable batteries would be nice. A friend of mine is still using her 2G after two years and says it still carries a decent charge.

Great gadget, great site! smile

Posted by Alan on July 30, 2004 at 9:05 AM (PDT)

70

You are getting a low battery life because you are using a lossless format, which causes the harddrive to constantly be working.

You should get about 5 more hours if they were all in mp3 format

Posted by Leo on July 30, 2004 at 11:06 AM (PDT)

71

I am somewhat disapointed with the sound quality of the new IPod remixed 20g, I play the same mp3s using the Sony MZ-N1 minidisc player and results are far better.

Posted by Michel Castonguay on July 31, 2004 at 1:03 AM (PDT)

72

I purchsed my IPOD on Apple's website for $369.00 (educational discount) and it was shipped from China. I haven't noticed any audio problems as mentioned in previous postings (..still holding my breath). The click wheel took a little getting used to, but now I like it much better than the 3G 30GB model I have.

I do have one major complaint from Apple. Why can't you build an IPod that will not SCRATCH soooooooo easily? I am afraid to take my new IPod out of the house until I can get a descent IPod Wrap to protect the screen and casing. I am surprised that apple hasn't changed the materials used yet, since this is a MAJOR complaint from previous IPod owners.

If anyone knows of any sites that sell good IPod protection/covers, let me know!

Overall, I love my IPod! Ever since I purchased my first one, a 3G, 1.5 years ago, I haven't listened to my car raido since! I use it everyday and I couldn't live without it!

Posted by Paul Squyres on July 31, 2004 at 4:39 AM (PDT)

73

I Still cannot figure it out. New Ipod or Zen Touch. They are both kind of equally priced. They both have the same memory. Creative has a 97s/n while apple does not. Creative is bulky while Apple is not. Apple has more features( contacts, address book, games, and notes) while Creative doesn't. I am so confused. Does anybody own a Creative Zen Touch? How do you like it if you do own one? Does it b eat the Ipod? HELP PLEASE!!!

Posted by soccerkid656 on July 31, 2004 at 4:40 AM (PDT)

74

hi. i've never used an mp3 player or minidisc player with a rechargeable battery system. i have always used a disc-man, but i'm getting tired of it, and so far i'm most interested in the ipod. One concern i have at the moment is recharging. can you just plug it into a wall without the usb cable? also, and most importantly, if i want to travel to europe will i be able to recharge it without using a computer? an ipod seems great, but if i need to dig up the old discman for traveling (precisely a situation in which the ipod would seem most ideal) then it seems very pointless to invest in the first place. if you have any suggestions on how i could deal with this concern, as in refering me to another mp3 playback system that would be greatly appreciated

Posted by funkyfoley on July 31, 2004 at 10:30 AM (PDT)

75

Kudos to BradPDX & DJMac. A technical and English review about the sound quality of ipod. I agree 100% with both of them. Bass does not equal quality and the ipod sounds better then any other player out there by audiophiles due to it's neutral output. I'm not using Apple's buds as they only sound OK to me. Bought a better pair from Sony and loved it since. Users needs to keep in mind that mp3 is in fact a compressed format that compromises sound quality. With WAV, I can't tell the difference between the CD and ipod. I have no EQ on my home stereo as well. Not even treble or bass adjustment, just direct.

Posted by Stanford on July 31, 2004 at 11:39 AM (PDT)

76

I'd like to hear more about the music format/availibility issue. Maybe it's not really related to iPod exactly but what can you put on the ipod and what won't go? Any MP3 song regardless of origin? Any cd ripped by any software, yes or no? can I load all my old napster downloads too? Talking about music hear... Does itunes block any kind of format?
Thanks

Posted by c.holmstrom on July 31, 2004 at 4:12 PM (PDT)

77

Oh yeah, and "do you have to keep everything you put on your iPod, on the computer too?" Can you rip it, load it and delete from the computer? (to save hard drive space for us engineers who need it for work)

Posted by c.holmstrom on July 31, 2004 at 4:21 PM (PDT)

78

Owned my iPod for two days and the click wheel stopped working, anyone else had this problem. I am sending it back to Apple on Mon, but it is annoying...

Posted by Andrew on July 31, 2004 at 6:01 PM (PDT)

79

i have just ordered my first ipod, a 4g 20gb with engraving.i should have gone for the 40gb but never mind.
i want to buy a dock for the little baby, where can i acquire a cheap one for the 4g

also i ordered it a while back but apple put back shipping, think there is any chance i could phone and complain and get some free stuff e.g. a dock!?!?

Posted by wecallitfall in uk on August 1, 2004 at 12:47 AM (PDT)

80

can i change my ipod that has been used for the newer version

Posted by tinkipod on August 1, 2004 at 7:43 AM (PDT)

Page 4 of 8 pages « First  <  2 3 4 5 6 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.