Apple 4G iPod: New iPod Users’ Review | iLounge

Reviews

81

which IPod would you buy if you were to buy any? The 3G, 4G, or mini-ipod (the 20G, 40G, or the new min one). Let me know which you would buy and why.

Posted by m. on August 1, 2004 at 9:05 AM (PDT)

82

Just a couple comments. I love the device. I am terribly disappointed in how Apple is maintaining quality and support now days... My first iPod had to go in after 6 months for repeatedly skipping. It was "refurbished"...only to crap out after 13 months use - and 1 month past the 12 month warranty...(they don't honor 12 months from the repair date). To have it repaired is $50 less than a new one. A bit of a jip in my opinion - especially for such an expensive product to begin with. If Lexus handled their cars the same way - they wouldn't have a market.
Now I have the new 4th gen 40g iPod - and IT TOO is now resetting itself repeatedly. It worked fine UNTIL I started syncing addresses and calendar - two of the selling points.

BTW, I have had to return a new iBook after FOUR crashes, including the well publicized screen failure.

Apples designers are fabulous, I think - What happens in production and quality control is going to eventually impact sales.

Posted by bc on August 1, 2004 at 9:15 AM (PDT)

83

I desperately want to buy a 4G ipod, but no body will sell me one...... :-(

Posted by obe1k on August 1, 2004 at 9:44 AM (PDT)

84

Yeah great.
Mine just arrived and is being sent back. HD does not spin, just starts and stops.
Been through all the checks.

Thanks apple.

Posted by nic on August 1, 2004 at 10:34 PM (PDT)

85

One thing thats not been mentioned by Apple is the fact that the new Ipod has a lower maximum volume than the 3G. That will be one factor extending the battery life. I use mine when I'm riding my motorbike and the volume is only just load enough on the 4G. By choice I'd have a 3G for the volume and the controls are better on the 3G.

Posted by 6nt on August 2, 2004 at 1:56 AM (PDT)

86

i have no idea whether to get the 3G or the 4G. help.

Posted by peter on August 2, 2004 at 4:15 PM (PDT)

87

i'm glad that someone else had the sticky goo problem, how should i clean my ipod???

Posted by chase smith in chillicothe, oh on August 2, 2004 at 8:45 PM (PDT)

88

i'm glad that someone else had the sticky goo problem, how should i clean my ipod???

Posted by chase smith in chillicothe, oh on August 2, 2004 at 8:45 PM (PDT)

89

I am going to receive my 4G ipod (my first) in the next few days. Has it got a seperate mains lead so that i can charge it up on holiday?
thanx

Posted by DAVE on August 3, 2004 at 4:02 AM (PDT)

90

Can anyone tell me how long it took them to receive their 4th gen iPods from day of ordering from the Apple website?....I ordered when theyw ere first available on the 19/07/04 (Just over 2 weeks ago now) but STILL not iPod? Is this normal folks?

Posted by Richard on August 3, 2004 at 11:06 AM (PDT)

91

Can anyone tell me how long it took them to receive their 4th gen iPods from day of ordering from the Apple website?....I ordered when theyw ere first available on the 19/07/04 (Just over 2 weeks ago now) but STILL not iPod? Is this normal folks?

Posted by Richard on August 3, 2004 at 11:06 AM (PDT)

92

Wow...I had a 3G iPod but it broke within my 30 day warranty, so I exchanged it for a 4G 20 gig iPod, and I love it. Ive been keeping the backlight on and the battery life is much longer than my 3G was. Ive listened to it for hours and it hasnt run out yet. Wow, apple did a great job, Im loving it!!

Posted by Kerry on August 3, 2004 at 6:08 PM (PDT)

93

ALthough some may miss the old seperate buttons, the clickwheel has one big advantage.... Its quite easy to use, even when you have the ipod in a full cover holster. Through the material - as there is no way to miss the right click - and the buttons are not sensor buttons anymore.

Kai

Posted by Kai on August 4, 2004 at 4:41 AM (PDT)

94

Adam, i think if you look on the apple site it covers the battery issues, in brief, given times for battery life is based on 128 encoding, and by using the lossless encoder (with the resulting large sized files) means the hard drive has to spin up more often to fill the cache, sucking up more power, hence less play time!! they also do not recommend draining the battery completely as this is suppposedly bad for the battery. (the ipod battery supposedly doesn't have the memory effect therefore draining it should not effect overall performance in a good way)

just got my 4G last night!! so have no personal experience with battery life yet, all this is based on reading info.

Posted by sophie on August 4, 2004 at 5:42 PM (PDT)

95

I have owned a 2G 20gig Ipod, then a 3G 10gig and now swiched for a 4G 20 gig. I changed for several reasons, some obvious like the battery life, some not so obvious like the clickwheel and the USB charging possibility. As a former user of an touchwheel Ipod (2G) I have always hated the 3G touch control that forced me to use the lock switch in most situations. I like the clickwheel because I can change track and adjuste volume even if the Ipod is in my jeans pocket or in my jacket. I can touch the wheel through my clothes and still can easily find the right place to click for FF or RW or pause without looking at the pod or handling it. Which is a great thing if you are driving your scooter in the traffic.
I haven't enough experience yet to talk about the battery performance (I bought the new version only 2 days ago) but something that I noticed almost immediately is an improved sound quality over its predecessors. I used to be an audiophile but now I don't have much time to sit on the sofa in front of my expensive stereo set, instead I am forced to listen to my music through an mp3 player. Digital compressed music is poor if compared to uncompressed cd audio performed through a decent stereo set ($ 7,000 and up). However, I have learned not to think to Ipod audio performance as a limit in absolute terms. It is portable, it has room for thousands of songs and I listen to it with its earbuds while in the street. It's just great for this kind of use! However, I believe Apple engineers have changed something in the audio reproduction, surprisingly. I noticed almost immediately a substantial (at least for my ears used to listen in a critic manner) improvement in details. I can now ear subtle sounds never noticed before, that were drowned in the music mud. Instruments are separated and distinguished now from each other. Music is also more "compelling", more... musical. High frequencies seem improved more than deep bass (at least through the earbuds). Stereo separation and perspective remain inalterated though.
I actually was searching in this forum to check whther other listeners shared my impressions and instead found queries about musical quality of the new Ipod. Hope this will help you even though, as someone already wrote, these are MY impressions and anybody that care about music reproduction quality should listen to an item (speakers, amps, cd player, and even mp3 players) before buyng it. It's your money.

Cheers!

Posted by Dino on August 5, 2004 at 4:59 AM (PDT)

96

I just got my new 4G to replace my 3G due to a lack of space. I like the new click wheel although I think the 3G iPod clearly looks better. The new 4G seems to work with all of my old stuff ie. dock etc, however it seems a little looser in it i guess due to its slightly thinner size. I can't wait until more 3rd party cases come out. Has anybody seen any good ones so far?

Posted by Aaron on August 5, 2004 at 8:56 AM (PDT)

97

I ordered mine on July 28th and it came Aug 4th. I paid for the expediated shipping though. I don't like waiting grin

Posted by Aaron on August 5, 2004 at 9:00 AM (PDT)

98

In response to Adam's short battery life, the likely culprit is your choice of encoding. Although those Apple Lossless encoded tracks sound great, they require the iPod to spin up the hard drive much more often than a smaller file size resulting from, for example, MP4 encoding. The iPod buffer must constantly re-fill its cache with, as you noted, huge files. This has a direct impact on battery life. For example, my 256kbs MP4 files make the hard drive spin up about two or three times each song; I can only imagine how much an album of Apple Lossless-encoded songs would work the hard drive.

If you can live with slightly reduced fidelity (I honestly think few people can discern enough difference to make it noticeable), I would recommend that you re-encode your albums in a less dense format type. Save the old files and play around with iTunes. I think you can find a happy medium and much greater battery life.
d

Posted by danno in Atlanta, GA on August 5, 2004 at 9:24 AM (PDT)

99

The 4g Ipod continues the tradition of apple being not only the supierior computer company in the land but also the best mp3 player out there. No one including sony and rio can hold a candle to apple. So if you dont want the best dont buy apple.

Posted by tony on August 5, 2004 at 3:52 PM (PDT)

100

Well I finally got my 4g iPod and I can say I am not dissappointed! I had doubts over the new gray click wheel but I love it...The click wheel isn't as gray as it looks in some of the pictures a slightly lighter shade. I also thought it was sticker like as some has said but the texture and feel is very unlike sticker like!

Also as some people don't like the new blue screen you can adjust the contrast so it is possible to have black and white again or more blue if you like smile

...Time to get one guys.

Posted by Richard on August 8, 2004 at 2:42 AM (PDT)

Page 5 of 8 pages « First  <  3 4 5 6 7 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.