Apple 4G iPod: Power Users’ Review | iLounge

Reviews

161

In response to those of you saying that anyone bashing the 4G is just jealous, I could say that you're just insecure of your 4G in comparison to the 3G. We all have iPods, we have no reason to be bashing each other like this. We all have different opinions of the interface.

I believe that while the single circle interface is definitely classic, the 3G just is a better implementation. Having no moving parts just makes the thing feel oh so spiffy. i've played around with the click wheel iPods (both mini and 4G) plenty in the apple store, and have not been impressed, especially by the center button not being touch-sensitive. I might be able to deal with the side buttons being clicky if the center button were not. As it is though there are just too many moving parts.

And as far as me being jealous - if I were truly jealous of those of you that own 4G's, why would I have jumped up and bought a 3G as soon as I saw the new 4G's had a click wheel? Why did I not buy a mini already? That's right, I don't like moving parts.

There will be a day when we have a backlit, touch wheel with touch sensitive buttons embedded in it... that day just isn't this month.

Posted by ibizagirl in Seattle on August 9, 2004 at 3:59 PM (PDT)

162

I have had had two 3g 20GB ipods both which havent worked properly. I am going to return my second 3g 20GB ipod this week and i was going to get the new 4g ipod but after this review im not so sure. Also who cares about how the packages are laid out. The ipod dock you dont need anyway the ipod remote is the worst mp3 remote ive seen

Posted by Imran123 on August 10, 2004 at 7:55 AM (PDT)

163

Re: mario's comment "Once it's fallen asleep, it makes a loud "pop" sound through the headphones when you click play to wake it." I'm a first time ipod user and i've only had my 4G 40G for a week, and i've got exactly the same problem - every time i have to wake it up i get the loud popping sound which is very horrible and it also happens when i take off "hold" - slide the switch over. I thought this was just a flaw i had to put up with, but now i'm going to contact apple and see what they say about it...

Posted by kitten on August 10, 2004 at 5:31 PM (PDT)

164

just read comment - I LOVE the idea of a chrome click wheel, It would get really really dirty tho, if the back of my ipod is anything to go by, i spend most of the time polishing off finger prints - can't wait for the 4G skins!!!

Posted by kitten on August 10, 2004 at 5:34 PM (PDT)

165

I use my G3 with a USB 1.1 port and really don't see and glaring shortfalls in transfer speeds. When I asked customer service agents at the Apple store if the G4 would work with USB 1.1 I got conflicting answers. One customer service person said no, not at all. Another said maybe, but it would be agonizingly slow. Does anyone have a definitive answer? Will a G4 work with USB 1.1?

Posted by Wpsantan on August 11, 2004 at 3:14 AM (PDT)

166

does the itrip work with the new 4g ipods? whenever i try to use it the sound is very faint and i cant hear the music being broadcasted, why could this be?

Posted by scott on August 11, 2004 at 4:16 PM (PDT)

167

I think the new 4G ipod has hardly any improvements except the battery.Apple i think have rushed into making a new 4G ipod which isnt that great because of the success of the 3G. I think they should of waited for another six monthes before realsing th 4G. Also i think the new ipod wasnt marketed well so no one knew about it till it got released.

Posted by Imran123 on August 12, 2004 at 1:34 AM (PDT)

168

Grrr....now I hate myself for buying a 15GB 3rd Gen iPod in mid-June, even though I got it as an open-box deal for $70 off, at $230. Now you can get a 20GB iPod, with the great clickwheel, slightly thinner...for $300!! AHHHH! I CAN'T TAKE IT ANYMORE!

I'm going to go to a corner and cry now :'(

Posted by DarkWombat on August 12, 2004 at 5:30 PM (PDT)

169

The variable speed playback has major shortcomings that could use more attention.

> It ONLY works with audiobooks purchased from iTunes and Audible.com. These files have some automatic 'audiobook' flag associated with them. These are the only files impacted by the variable speed.

> You therefore can't rip an audiobook or recording and play it with variable speed. That means any lectures, other spoken word titles, audiobooks bought or rented, are stuck in 1x.

> If this is really just a flag ('audiobook') then it seems either shortsigted, greedy or cruel. Maybe all three.

> The 1.25x playback sounds pretty crummy. There some weird other decompression going on that makes it a very chunky listen. After a few minutes it is really intollerable, defeating the purpose in the first place.

> Having only one speed up 1.25x and down .75x seems skimpy. How much more complex would it be to add a few more options.

At this stage this feature DOES NOT any added value to the avid audiobook listener or person using the ipod as a lecture recorder. One hopes there is a decent firmware and iTunes upgrade to correct these things.

Posted by Eric Antonow on August 12, 2004 at 5:47 PM (PDT)

170

Yeah, I can't believe they are marketing the Ipod at "average joes" *shutter* All I know is that I wanted the option of adding diamonds and some sort of Po-Mo art picture to the back.. I guess I'll just have to settle for a PETA sticker~

Geez.. Lines? "This Ipod doesn't go with my eyes, do you have one in black?" Tech and Art should not mix! Ohh, and I think I'll get the new one... maybe add a tacky sticker to reduce the artistic value of the thing..

Posted by Courtney White on August 12, 2004 at 6:59 PM (PDT)

171

itsanipod: "I was wondering if you could update the review, checking if Smart Playlists using the "playlist" and/or "grouping" fields on the G4 can update independently of iTunes?
As you might know already, using those fields on a G3 Smart Playlist required syncing to update the playlist."

I'd like to know this too -- do SPLs based on the "Playlist is/is not" feature refresh w/o syncing, under 4G/3.0 software?

Posted by offline on August 13, 2004 at 8:57 PM (PDT)

172

Well, I finally got a look at the 4g ipod. I like the feel of the click wheel, but I was less impressed with the fact that the metal wheel was not uniform all the way around. It was raised on the right side and flush in the left. For the link of money Apple is asking for the Ipod, it should have better quality regarding overall workmanship. In regards to the blue tent of the display, all I can say is that it is much better then previous generations. I am visually impaired and felt the new display had much better contrast and readability in general. The new ipod has the potential to be the best ipod yet if apple gets on top of the gaps in its quality contral.

Thanks Gene

Posted by Gene on August 13, 2004 at 11:04 PM (PDT)

173

I just got the 20GB version and just discovered one flaw. When lean the pod so that I look at the screen from under or from the side (in normal light conditions) it becomes all rainbowy, or at least you can see different colours. I have seen this phenomenon on various screens but since i'm a iPod first time user I wonder if it is a common thing with the iPod screen. Anyone to my rescue?

Posted by Adam on August 16, 2004 at 7:02 AM (PDT)

174

I bought my 20gb 3G just weeks before the release of the 4G. And when i heard i was really upset(mostly at myself for not taking into consideration the new one coming out) But i have to say i am very pleased.
The touch wheel is awesome. My friend has a house on the water and he gets sand in his mini all the time. the size difference is practically unnoticable. I don't hate the look of the new one and would love the extra batery life. But i couldn't live without the docking bay or case. I could do without the remote though. It makes the cable so long. Plus i have a feeling i'll be upgrating to some nicer heatphones soon, but i love the maching white ones. so overall taking into consideration price and everything else i'm happy with my 3G.

Posted by Torre on August 17, 2004 at 5:28 PM (PDT)

175

When will new iskin come out for iPod 4g

Posted by julian on August 17, 2004 at 9:05 PM (PDT)

176

Hi! Just bought three 4G 40gb Ipods for my kids. Admittedly, I haven’t had much time on them since my kids hogged them – but I have to tell you, as a first time Ipod purchaser, the box presentation and compartmentalization was quite different than any other, and once I started working on them, the Ipods just felt good in the hand as well as being quite maneuverable with the single hand --- I just love the click wheel (as to the color, I thought the Ipods looked minimalistically classy– not ostentatious.) We played one of the Ipods in the car with the monster cable fm tuner and the sound was fine! Rendered useless the CD player in the car….

Now, I just have to wait for school to start in September – I may be able to get my hands on my daughter’s Ipod when she is in school….

Thanks for letting a novice post …. Love this site!


Posted by Lauren on August 18, 2004 at 9:32 AM (PDT)

177

I bought a 3G about two weeks before my dad did. My dad's order got held up and he received the 4G. My 3G has the Shuffle Feature and Blue Backlight. I also work an 8 hour day with my Ipod playing non-stop through earphones. I go home in 15 minutes and my battery is at the halfway point. Did I luck out and get a 3G with the 4G features?

Posted by jerryman on August 18, 2004 at 11:40 AM (PDT)

178

Belkin Digital Camera Link does NOT work with the G4 iPod 40 GB version. After frustration with my unit, I went to the Apple store, whether the Genius tried several with the same result. When plugged in, we at first got a single green led (good connection), which quickly turned to red (bad). Belkin later confirmed by email that the device does not work with the G4 40gb version.

I got a Delkin USB Bridge, which works fine, though it does not use iPod's software to show "rolls" of pictures loaded.

Posted by Brian Greig on August 23, 2004 at 2:45 AM (PDT)

179

i bought a 20gb 3rd gen ipod the othe rday then i had to return it becasue it was faulty. now ive asked for a 4gen one. is this a bad mobve PLEASE help

Posted by Ryan on August 24, 2004 at 1:20 PM (PDT)

180

i was wondering i have a 3G 40gb ipod that recently was fixed by apple a week ago and is it worth getting a new 4g ipod. keep in mind i am only 15.

Posted by supafly on August 25, 2004 at 12:55 PM (PDT)

Page 9 of 11 pages « First  <  7 8 9 10 11 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.