Apple AirPort Express with AirTunes | iLounge

Reviews

61

I'll be getting AE (when it arrives in Europe) for two reasons:

(1) As a mobile wireless basestation. This will be great in hotels, and also when I go to visit my parents, and parents-in-law, as I'll be able to use their DSL connections on my powerbook, wirelessly. Which will make holidays a whole lot more bearable... wink

(2) To extend my WLAN at home.

To be honest, the AirTunes side of things isn't such a big deal, as I can just plug in my powerbook or my iPod to my stereo.

Someone asked about solutions to allow remote control of a PC in another room to your speakers. If you have a bluetooth phone and your PC is bluetooth enabled then just use your phone as a remote. I do this all the time, it's great (try Salling Clicker if you're using a Mac).

Posted by mintcake on July 19, 2004 at 2:51 AM (PDT)

62

I purchased my Airport Express as an accesssory to my classic clamshell iBook (revision B series, RAM hotrodded to 320MB, running Panther 10.3.4).
All I had to do was plug it in, jack in the RJ45 from my LinkSys router, and fire up the iBook - it detected the network, asked if I wanted to connect, and that was it - no software needed, no fuss, no muss - in fact, I'm on it as I post this.
Definitely a hearty well done and thumbs up for this one. grin

Posted by Maddoktor2 on July 20, 2004 at 10:45 AM (PDT)

63

Well, Since no one answered my question I guess I'll answer my own. It was:

"I have the same question as nick.. I want to be able to pump music from my wired G4 desktop, through the wired network to an older Apple 802.11b grey airport, out of the old airport wirelessly and over to the new airport express connected to a stereo. Possible, or do I have to replace my grey airport with a new, white airport 802.11g airport?"

The answer, though it took me a long time to get there, is yes it works with the old airport! I have my new airport express plugged into the stereo (I'm not using the printer function or ethernet to DSL or cable modem from the AE) and I can play music from my wired-only G4 desktop to the AE via an antique grey airport that is connected to my wired LAN in bridged mode. I had to use a function available in the Airport Utility called "allow airtunes over ethernet" and I told the AE to connect to an existing wireless network. It seems to work great. I can't extend my old grey airport network but I can connect the AE to it like any other client.

To Hass who had a similar question other than the fact that you're using a proxim network instead of a legacy airport, you have the same setup that I do. Assuming your AE will talk to your Proxim I guess it should work too.

Posted by Ken on July 20, 2004 at 4:29 PM (PDT)

64

Answer to “Davd” and “windog”

"An error occurred when trying to access the wireless networking sub system" -

You probably don't have the latest version of the Wireless Zero Configuration service from Microsoft. Check out this link http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=108049

to make sure you have the latest critical updates and XP updates check your system here: http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/

Posted by Danny on July 21, 2004 at 9:03 AM (PDT)

65

Addition to the Danny message:

Another possible reason is a XP SP2 RC2 or later installed on your computers. The Windows version of the Assistant does not support unreleased Service Packs.

Posted by Andrei on July 21, 2004 at 9:25 AM (PDT)

66

Your problems connecting AE to an existing router network is fairly typical even among other router systems because both are trying to be routers. What I do with my d-link is set them in access point mode where they are simply nodes and not switches generating IP addresses. Can AE do that?

I must really gripe about your price point comparison. It simply makes no sense to say that something is more expensive than a lesser product. Duh! Of course it will be, that is why there are ranges of products. You have to compare equivalent products with equivalent capabilities. Since there is no comparative product available, the price must be accepted without comment. Until a competing product arrives, you either pay the price or do not. Personally, I think that although $120 - 130 might seem expensive, it is infact quite good value. I currently carry a d-link 2000 wireless access point around with the requisite cables and power supplies. That cost about $100 when it came out only does one thing. The AE not only serves this role as a distributer of hotel ethernet, but also my portable Canon printer, and this is all in a package the size of my powerbook AC unit. The price of that kind of design cannot be ignored. It is lightening my load and increasing my options

Posted by Paul on July 21, 2004 at 1:24 PM (PDT)

67

I am sure you geeks have seen this before. For those folks looking for wireless, remote control, high audio component WITH ITunes shuffling and information on the screen:

http://www.rokulabs.com/products/soundbridge/index.php

ANyone has this gem please comment since I am just about to plunk dollars on this baby for the kitchen

Posted by marc on July 22, 2004 at 4:45 AM (PDT)

68

folks, would much appreciate if anyone could help. I am trying to get my AirPort Express to work with Windows but continue to get the error message which tells me to "allow Windows to manage wireless networks". From there, I cant get the setup utility to find or recognzie the AirPort Express. Can anyone help? How do I tell Windows to manage my exiwsting wireless network?

Posted by david on July 22, 2004 at 1:19 PM (PDT)

69

David –

From the start menu: go to “Settings” -> “Network Connections” -> “wireless Network connection” -> on the general tab click “properties” -> select “Wireless network” tab and make sure “Use Windows to configure my wireless network settings” is checked.

Hope that helps

Posted by Danny on July 22, 2004 at 8:35 PM (PDT)

70

I'm not sure this has been addressed, but the lag at startup isn't the only one thats been reported. I've seen posts elsewhere complaining of unexplained loss of the stream and I've had the same happening to me. The AE gets its connection from one of the ethernet ports on a Linksys B band router that has its wireless function disabled. I'm pretty sure its not interference from any of the usual suspects (2.4ghz phones, microwaves, etc). It almost seems like there is a buffer that is either too small, or that the stream is somehow interrupted. BTW, if it makes any difference, I'm sending the music from an aluminum PB. Any Ideas?
thanks

Posted by Saleem on July 26, 2004 at 7:52 PM (PDT)

71

Is there any way to listen on my main computer to iTunes and simultaneously send the signal to the AE, so in effect I could be listening to the same song in different parts of my house??


Also, installed software on my wired XP PC first, then installed software and AE on my wireless XP PC, and then it showed up in iTunes on my wired PC (as well as iTunes on my laptop). I assume this is because XP needs to recognize the AE network wirelessly on a wireless machine before your wired machine will recognize it thru your network.

Posted by Brice on July 27, 2004 at 8:41 PM (PDT)

72

No luck at all in getting this set up on my PC. I can't get anything but the blinking amber light and admin. utility software is useless until you get a green light and can configure the base station. Anyone know any good threads that will walk a PC XP user through the setup process?

Posted by matt on July 29, 2004 at 7:06 AM (PDT)

73

I just got my Airport Express today (which shipped mightly fast, since it was ordered July 19th and wasn't due in till Aug 16th) and I'm kinda sad since my cable internet connection won't be activated until next week. But, I still wanted to test out AirTunes, and since I use an Airport card in my Powerbook G4 DVI, I wanted to let y'all know that the 802.11b Airport card is quite able to stream music to the Express and into speakers. After the initial two second delay for the encryption thingy, my song began and streamed perfectly. I didn't try it out with a huge 30 mb file, but I wouldn't anticipate it being a huge problem. Just thought y'all would like to know! Love it, can't wait for my internet to get hooked up!

Posted by RollerMog in Kingsville, Texas on July 29, 2004 at 10:08 AM (PDT)

74

I just got my Airport Express today (which shipped mightly fast, since it was ordered July 19th and wasn't due in till Aug 16th) and I'm kinda sad since my cable internet connection won't be activated until next week. But, I still wanted to test out AirTunes, and since I use an Airport card in my Powerbook G4 DVI, I wanted to let y'all know that the 802.11b Airport card is quite able to stream music to the Express and into speakers. After the initial two second delay for the encryption thingy, my song began and streamed perfectly. I didn't try it out with a huge 30 mb file, but I wouldn't anticipate it being a huge problem. Just thought y'all would like to know! Love it, can't wait for my internet to get hooked up!

Posted by RollerMog in Kingsville, Texas on July 29, 2004 at 12:29 PM (PDT)

75

beefbox,

No. I did not mean to imply that wireless hub features were an afterthought. Only that the differentiating feature of this product is it's ability to be a streaming music receiver. Apple already makes wireless hubs, so I believe the primary purpose of this product was to provide wireless music streaming. I don't think Apple's product planners said, "hey, let's make a real small wireless hub" and then someone later suggested adding music streaming. I think it probably happened the other way around.

Jeremy's comment implied that the music streaming was a secondary feature which is why he felt compelled to compare the product to other wireless hubs instead of streaming music receivers. I just think that's backwards.

Posted by calstraycat on July 30, 2004 at 10:27 AM (PDT)

76

I have a wired ethernet network that consists of 3 Windows PCs. They are all connected and share everything through a HUB. The ADSL modem connects to the HUB for internet sharing.

Now, the question is: Can i connect a Powerbook + AirPort Express to share the internet+files with the Powerbook???

I would connect the APExpress to the HUB, and use the Powerbook in another room. Its like addin wireless capabilities to my wired network. Is this possible?

Thank!!

Posted by Landitus on July 31, 2004 at 3:32 PM (PDT)

77

I have an older I-Mac. Will the AE act in lieu of an Airport Card? i.e. can I connect wirelessly to my Linksys router which is connected to a DSL modem, by connecting my I-Mac to the AE with an ethernet cable?

Posted by Richard on August 3, 2004 at 2:13 AM (PDT)

78

"Is 802.11b (i.e, the plain-vanilla AirPort card) enough to handle the bandwidth of Apple Lossless?"

Can someone please answer this question for us? I for one REALLY need to know the answer and can't find out anywhere.

Posted by Kelvin on August 6, 2004 at 2:19 AM (PDT)

79

too bad this airport express only plays from i tunes. this is the worst idea ever. i just bought one of these things and i'm returning it. its way too troublesome, 'airtunes' is flawed pretty bad the range is poor and i cant stream movies or audio from anything other than i tunes. a cable is more versatile, it's better designed.

Posted by smarter than stupid apple on August 10, 2004 at 3:24 PM (PDT)

80

Good review, covers the positives and negatives well, I thought. I just got my AX up and running last night, and the part I didn't know to do was that I had to physically connect it to my PC via ethernet before I could configure it to see my wireless network (had to call Apple tech support to learn this). Once I did that, I moved it to my living room and it streamed iTunes perfectly. I run a Linksys 'G' router, and the AX is about 30 ft. away. So far, no dropouts.

Posted by Jeff on August 13, 2004 at 7:59 AM (PDT)

Page 4 of 5 pages « First  <  2 3 4 5 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.