Apple Color 4G iPod 20/60GB Review | iLounge

Reviews

1

My 5g U2 iPod is on its way. Its gonna rock so much. Hey, is the U2 iPod gonna be thicker to? Would it still fit in a 20gb dock?


Oh, by the way. I think you misspelled "all" in one sentence. I didnt see which one.

Posted by Rascal_King on June 30, 2005 at 12:31 AM (PDT)

2

why is apple abandoning the firewire standard which they helped create. firewire is way better than usb.

Posted by podskater on June 30, 2005 at 2:06 AM (PDT)

3

Two possibly dumb questions:

Q. Though the new thickness is very small, will I need a new case, or will my 4G 20gb iSkin stretch to fit the new 20gb iPod color screen? It is a very stretchy case, thats why I ask.

Q. I'm assuming that the wall charger is USB 2.0 compatable (whereas I have to use the included firewire cable for my wall charger)?

Either way, i'm certainly going to return the now discontinued 20gb monochrome display that I just bought, and hold on to my store credit and buy a color display when it is in stock locally! Thank you iPodlounge for being the first to let me know about this new lineup!!

Posted by pinkninky on June 30, 2005 at 2:24 AM (PDT)

4

I don't think the term 5G is deserved. Taking a 30GB and dropping it to 20GB is not a generation jump. Neither is dropping the price.

Unless there is a big reason you want to call these 5Gs?

Posted by Eriamjh on June 30, 2005 at 4:24 AM (PDT)

5

Can anyone report as to whether this iPod has the audio quality issues that the *old* iPod photo's suffered? In particular the iPp's were said to have difficulty with high-fidelity works such as piano solos or similar.

I'm in the market for a new iPod, but not if they've still got these audio issues. If they do, then Apple has just killed off the only decent-sounding, full-sized iPod - the 4G.

Posted by jamesd in Australia on June 30, 2005 at 4:56 AM (PDT)

6

The comment on case compatiblity is misleading. I know that for people with 20g 4g Vaja cases, they'll need to buy a new case to fit a "5g" 20g iPod. But Vaja cases are handmade to fit. I would think many other cases will still fit the 20g just fine, if not make for a tighter fit.

Posted by Morvran on June 30, 2005 at 5:04 AM (PDT)

7

I just don`t get why iPodLounge is calling these a 5G.
All the people i know agree this is NOT a 5G we've all been waiting for.

I think it only confuses people.

I`m still waiting for 5G to replace my good old 15gig 3G.

Posted by Unbeliever on June 30, 2005 at 7:01 AM (PDT)

8

After a firmware upgrade my photo 60 is exactly the same as the "new" model. IMO, the "5G" moniker is both unjustified and undesirable.

Posted by Spad on June 30, 2005 at 9:05 AM (PDT)

9

I think they address this as 5G (I consider this 5G) because it's a change in some aspect of the normal iPod-- the 2G and 4G were mainly only changes in the wheel, and this one is a change in the screen.

Posted by anonms on June 30, 2005 at 9:16 AM (PDT)

10

is there any reason for me to return my newly bought ipod 30 gb photo as i bought it a week ago is there any reason that i should get the new 20 or 60 instead cause aparently the 20 gb is the same as the 30 in terms of bulk but 30 ofcourse is bigger but is there a better firm ware update or anything big that i should consider changing my ipod

plz reply asap as times running out thanks

Posted by amad on June 30, 2005 at 10:23 AM (PDT)

11

It is too bad that Apple took away the ability of Smart Playlists to Live Update on the Ipod without resyncing to Itunes.

Owners or 3G Ipods now have more capabilities and features than 4G Ipod owners. This latest firmware upgrade removed this valuable feature from all 4G Ipods, and I am sure it is also disabled on the new Color Pods as well.

This feature used to allow songs to be automatically removed from a playlist based on play date or play count once you played them, and was the only way you could manage a playlist so you did not hear the same song twice.

It is a shame that Apple is taking usefull features away. It is, after all, an MP3 Player, and managing and playing music and playlists should be the most important function of it.

Posted by BuzzardBait on June 30, 2005 at 10:40 AM (PDT)

12

I just ordered a 60 gig IPod Photo from Circuit city and they have it listed as "IPod (60GB)
Part Number: M9830LL/A". This is the same as the new 5th Gen on the Apple site.

I am hoping that I am getting the 5th Gen as opposed to the 4th gen. Can anyone clarify?

Posted by throwrocks on June 30, 2005 at 10:52 AM (PDT)

13

Pinkninky: Because of the added 0.06" thickness of the new 20GB iPod, the best fitting case will be one made for the now discontinued 30GB iPod photo, rather than the previous generation 20GB iPod. Silicone cases for the 20GB iPod will stretch to fit, but alignment of the holes will not necessarily be perfect. Also, the included power adapter is a USB adapter, and will work with the included USB cable.

Amad: Keep your 30.

Regarding the "5G" designation: this is the fifth distinct product to be called "iPod." Don't worry or get too worked up over this - Apple is not going to stop making new (and more revolutionary) iPod hardware, but this name change strongly suggests that whatever comes next will be the "iPod [xxxxx]," not the "iPod."

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on June 30, 2005 at 11:32 AM (PDT)

14

I agree with other users that this may not be deemed a "Gen 5 iPod". Sure, they added a color screen, made it thicker, and added battery life, so maby it does deserve the title. We could also call it "Gen 4C" for Generation 4 Color.

Now that I think about it, this is a redesign of the gen 4, and is much different.

Posted by P4ipod on June 30, 2005 at 11:44 AM (PDT)

15

I realize this question may become annoying within the next 14 days, but any advice would be greatly appreciated.

My younger sister and I bought 20GB ipods from Circuit City within the last 14 days (we have until Sunday, July 3rd to return them). Now that the new "5G" ipods have been announced, i'm having a small bit of buyer's remorse.

My question is, objectively speaking, is the increased battery life in the new "5G" substantial enough to warrant a return of a recently purchased 4G?

We’re not really concerned with the color screen as we just want it for music. Also, I'm bearing in mind that the new ipod is slightly thicker. Plus, I should point out that Circuit City gave each of us $30.00 gift cards when we bought them, which ultimately means we bought them at $270.00, as opposed to "5G" cost of $300.00 (I'm assuming they're not offering same promotion for the new ipods).

In the end, I really just want to run this by my sister before Sunday to see what she wants to do. $300 to her means a whole lot more than it does to me, and I just want to make sure she gets a good deal. Again, any advice will be appreciated.

Posted by newipod05 on June 30, 2005 at 12:15 PM (PDT)

16

Is the screen the same on these as it is on the first iPod photos? I have one of the older ones on order.

Posted by klwdallas in Dallas, TX on June 30, 2005 at 12:25 PM (PDT)

17

5th gen my arse! these are stil 4th gen im my eyes. i bought my 4th gen 20 gig about 10 months ago and i feel the use i have got out of it outweighs the benefits of a the coula screen but i feel for people who bought one a few months ago, especially those with their names engraved on them

Posted by craigowen89 on June 30, 2005 at 1:23 PM (PDT)

18

newipod05, you should just keep the ipods you have since you are not concerned with color screen. Go to circuit city and get a price match as they are now selling your 4g ipods for 269.00 (your bonus gift card has nothing to do with the price you paid).
So after the price match you will have new ipods for for a total of 239.00!

Posted by dukka on June 30, 2005 at 2:41 PM (PDT)

19

the "big reason" for calling these 5G is the price drop + addition of a color screen. any questions?

Posted by the_commanche on June 30, 2005 at 3:12 PM (PDT)

20

Well if you go that route the_commanche, then a simple price drop should mark a whole new gen, no?

Since iPod Photo was the same as these 20/60 so-called 5G. Same battery life, sam screen, same interface.

I'm still waiting for a real 5G. iPL can call these whatever they want.

Posted by Unbeliever on June 30, 2005 at 3:26 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 3 pages  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.