Apple Color 4G iPod 20/60GB Review | iLounge

Reviews

21

I think the real reason it's being called the 5g is because it seems to be all apple is gonna release this year in terms of new full fledged ipods, I think that all colour screen ipods(original 30/40/60 photos) can now be deemed 5g ipods, people were never sure but this seems to be it, it was just a long transition into a new generation.

Posted by Enigma on June 30, 2005 at 3:44 PM (PDT)

22

As far as cases go, all of Speck's cases should still fit.

Posted by anonms on June 30, 2005 at 10:11 PM (PDT)

23

How did you test the battery life ? Switch the damn thing on and just look at it for 17 hours ? Listen to the same track continuously for 17 hours ? Details please....

Posted by Karl Hungus on July 1, 2005 at 1:17 AM (PDT)

24

Am I the only one here who thinks that going from a 30GB to a 20GB model, charging basically the same price and calling it an upgrade is questionable?

Also your statement about compatibility leaves out an important fact. People should know that the 60GB Ipod has the poorest 3rd party support of all ipods. You will greatly limit the amount of cases you can buy, forget about armsbands, and watch out for accessories with a dock. If there is one thing I regret about my 60GB model its the lack of compatibility that it has.


And finally I think you conclusion was more about looking for something/anything positive to say than anything else. I realize this is a site devoted to marketing/promoting/celebrating Ipods, but the price drop for the 60GB model is the only thing of note IMHO. The 20GB model going color is more about losing a thinner lighter model and 10GB vs how much "better" it now is. If I didn't need the space I'd ditch my 60GB Ipod Photo for for an "older" 20GB 4G in a heartbeat.

Posted by mesostinky on July 1, 2005 at 7:01 AM (PDT)

25

quick question, is there a physcial weight or width difference in the 20GB and 30GB colored screened ipods?

Posted by BlueSIm on July 1, 2005 at 7:20 AM (PDT)

26

Wow. I 'm glad I bought the 30 gig Photo back in March. I'm half way or less through ripping my CD's (most at 160, a very few higher or lossless), I'm keeping a new podcast novel, "Earthcore" (decent story, entetaining) on board, and I have a couple hundred ipod/tv format photos on board. I'm up to about 10 gigs. I can see most of 30 gigs getting used up by year's end, definitely more than 20 gigs. Sure I could not store everything on my ipod, but it makes management easier if I just automaticly update, and it's not like the extra data weighs more... Personally, 30 gigs is the right size.

Posted by MotoTrojan on July 1, 2005 at 7:57 AM (PDT)

27

Karl (great Lebowski reference): Our recent battery tests always use the same formula, which we've detailed in past articles - iPod set on 50% volume level, standard earbuds attached, randomized (shuffle songs) playback chosen on large library of songs with varying bitrates and lengths, no equalizers turned on, very minimal use of backlight (when unit turns on, has settings applied). It's essentially a test of maximum continuous playtime.

Meso: "Questionable" is a fair word, but it doesn't change the fact that today's "iPods" are significantly better than last year's, both in features and in value. It's a measure of the relentless advancement of the family that some people would today roll their eyes at a $399, color 60GB iPod when only last year Apple was selling a black-and-white 40GB iPod at the same price. Ditto on today's $299 iPod. Premium features at an affordable price. That's a win for consumers.

Regarding the 60GB iPod, "greatly limit" is a fairly significant overstatement. We've tested the majority of cases that have been released for the various iPods, and very few companies have passed on supporting the 60GB model. The bigger question - and one that has dogged all full-sized iPods since the release of the iPod mini, and the iPod shuffle - is whether people really want to exercise wearing something with the footprint of any larger iPod.

Also, we're not a site devoted to marketing iPods. If we thought that these iPods were unimpressive, we'd say so.

Blue: They're the same.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on July 1, 2005 at 9:43 AM (PDT)

28

Just to be clear: the 20 (regular and U2) is still thinner than the 60 (and 30) models.

Too bad it's slightly thicker than the old 20, but not much--and you get extra battery life.

Plus there's always the Mini... can't wait for a color screen in that.

Posted by Nagromme on July 1, 2005 at 11:04 AM (PDT)

29

If we can agree that the iPod photo was not included in the generations of the iPod, as the shuffle, and mini aren't either, then the new iPod is a generation ahead of the 4G monochromatic iPod, and therefore would be 5G.

I know that Apple has said that it is still a 4G iPod, but I disagree.

Posted by Impulse29 in Kemptville, Canada on July 1, 2005 at 1:52 PM (PDT)

30

Impulse,

If Apple considers their latest products still part of the 4G model, who is anyone to argue with that?

Manufacturers are constantly updating and upgrading their products, and the generation type still remains intact. Automobiles are the most obvious example. Cars are constantly getting upgades, some quite significant, and yet the manufacturer still considers them the same generation design. Apple is certainly entitled to do the same (which BTW do I agree with).

Posted by flatline response on July 1, 2005 at 4:39 PM (PDT)

31

Well as much as I don't want to argue, I think that adding the photo ability to the standard iPod, which doesn't only mean changing the screen to colour, but also the port, chips, and the dock. If adding a touchwheel to the iPod was enough for G1 to G2, then I think that making another line of iPod, the photo, the normal iPod, it should be a new generation.

Analogies can be helpful, but only in the same context. Although Apple and car manufacturers both make products, they are in totally different fields. iPod's upgrades are in the form of firmware upgrades which do not mean a new generation.

Would you be implying that Apple would have to change the button layout/ button functions to be a new generation (as it has been for all previous iPods)?

Posted by Impulse29 in Kemptville, Canada on July 1, 2005 at 5:28 PM (PDT)

32

Why this got an A and the 30G photo got an A- I don't know. Personally, I'd rather pay an extra $50 Aus to get 10Gig more and have it a tiny bit thicker then have a 20G.

I agree with MotoTrojan, 30g is the right size. Also note that in australia, the "new" 20g has bumped the price up $30 to AU$449 where 1 month ago, AU$499 would have got you an extra 10Gig.

I'm just happy I've got my 30G photo, my iPod of choice of any iPod to date.

Posted by Jibbons on July 1, 2005 at 8:28 PM (PDT)

33

Impluse29, I think Apple will just change the design but retain the wheel-- it's an excellent design and it doesn't really need any changing.

Posted by anonms on July 1, 2005 at 10:37 PM (PDT)

34

STOP CALLING THEM 5G's!!!

Posted by JeremytheIndian on July 2, 2005 at 4:26 PM (PDT)

35

i love this new upgrade. but as soon as the real 5g comes out... who knows what will happen to these? will apple discontinue this once the 5g comes out this year?

Posted by zerophase on July 2, 2005 at 5:02 PM (PDT)

36

I think apple is going to pull four new ones for us on the 5G debut. I think apple will... smile

1. give us iTunes 5,
2. I heard apple placed a bunch of orders of 80GB drives (double platter) and the 40gb and the 60gb (will be single plater) making it the size of the 20GB, so perhaps the 5G iPod (XXSomthingXX) will be a 80GB,
3. I think a 3G 8GB mini (color screen maybe)
4. 2G Shuffle with LCD in 2GB and 4GB

I sure wish apple would make a PDA... But pretty much I think apple is doing a pricing game for a reason I have a feeling that apple is doing the 20BG for $299/ 60GB $399 so people will say "hey for $100 more I can triple my size " thus Dumping the old dual plater 60GB and for the new 5g Apple will give us a slim 40GB/60GB and add the 80GB

I noticed this when the iPhoto was offered in a 30GB. My assumtion was that apple had a bunch of 30GB drives from the rare 3G 30GB that didn't sell as much

Plus I hope that for the %G the battery is 20hrs or more. my Ipod moves with me alot, from school to the car to work and back it looks at 2 to 3 full charges a day just to stay juiced up with me.

Posted by bmxing85 on July 2, 2005 at 10:55 PM (PDT)

37

P.S. Apple please Kill the U2 model. it was cool but it got old (fast). Perhaps offer a artist ed. for the mini too.
P.P.S. Just to throw it out there, Perhaps with the Gorillaz ad, you could of done a "Feel Good IncPod" smile or something new like that, I would of bought the ipod with some Gorillaz stuffon it, since the Freak'n Demon Days CD won't rip in iTunes, or even open on my computer for that matter (What is up with that? Wasted $15 on a useless piece of plastic)

Posted by bmxing85 on July 2, 2005 at 11:06 PM (PDT)

38

why is apple abandoning the firewire standard which they helped create. firewire is way better than usb.

By podskater on 06.30.05 at 02:06 AM

APple ain't abandoning it. Firewire cables bought from Apple still work fine. 98% of iPod owners are PC users, who don't have a clue about Firewire, and wouldn't use their FW cable.

YOU CAN STILL BUY A FIREWIRE CABLE!

Posted by iPod Dance in VA on July 2, 2005 at 11:42 PM (PDT)

39

"Analogies can be helpful, but only in the same context. Although Apple and car manufacturers both make products, they are in totally different fields. iPod’s upgrades are in the form of firmware upgrades which do not mean a new generation."

Impulse,

However different, they both are still consumer products; that's the context. Both can and do encounter modifications that summarily change the performance of each product over its entire lifespan cycle. In the case of the 4G, how should adding a color screen and picture capabilities not be any different than adding a turbocharger or boring out the cylinder displacement for, say, a Type 996 Porsche 911 (conveniently forgetting that we are currently in the age of the Type 997).

Both improve the usability/performance of the product over the lesser/earlier siblings of the respective product, yet as different as the original 4G is from a color 4G, they can easily be seen as the same design generation/model, just in the same way as a late run GT3 was to the first 1998 911, since to Porsche and us followers they're still both Type 996 models even though they perform, look and even DRIVE very differently.

As for what I would deem significant enough of a change to move on to another generation/model labeling for an iPod: first of all, it's not MY call. But if I WERE to be the one to decide, I'd say it had to be a fundamental change in the execution and function of the iPod to warrant such distinction. Monochrome to color and JPG displays ain't it to me; that to me is an upgrade improvement, not some fundamental difference in how I use the iPod, especially given that the original iPod Photo was previously considered as a 4G derivative.

But wired to wireless, or audio to audio+video, or something that profound in changing the nature of the iPod...THAT I would consider profound enough to warrant a change. As for revising the outside appearance: that to me is not as important in determining a model change as it often is to others, but if Apple were to beef up that cheapo, noise-making headphone jack on the 4G (at least it is on my 40GB with headphone cords using a metal base to their plugs), I MIGHT consider that ALONE worthy enough for a generation change. (Listening, Apple?). Regardless, as I said before it's not for me or even you to say anyways.

And besides, regardless of any anologies you deem inappropriate, Apple and their product planners still have already spoken: 4G the new photos are.

Posted by flatline response on July 3, 2005 at 1:53 AM (PDT)

40

"is there any reason for me to return my newly bought ipod 30 gb photo as i bought it a week ago is there any reason that i should get the new 20 or 60 instead cause aparently the 20 gb is the same as the 30 in terms of bulk but 30 ofcourse is bigger but is there a better firm ware update or anything big that i should consider changing my ipod

plz reply asap as times running out thanks
By amad on 06.30.05 at 09:23 AM"

There is no need to exchange from a 30gb to a 20gb. u just need to go to apple.com/ipod and look for the new update v.1.2 . this update will make it the same as the new ipod color 20gb by adding the new features such as Podcast. aside from that, there is nothing new about the new color iPods. I have a 30gb iPod Photo, perfect size, but the new ipods take away from the fact that u can say u have a ipod photo vs the person who had the black and white ipod. o well.

Posted by Striker_Fox on July 3, 2005 at 12:14 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.