Apple Computer iPod 5G with Video (30GB/60GB) | iLounge

Reviews

41

Just wanted everyone to know that I am already on my 2nd 60GB Black 5G iPod and it seems as though this one doesn't show the Large Battery icon when plugged into a USB2 port either. The first 5G came in the mail this past wed and exibited 2 dead pixels and wouldn't take a charge (fyi it came formatted as a Windows iPod.) Took it to the Soho Apple store yesterday and they confirmed (with an AC adapter) that in fact it was bad and replaced it immediately. Got home made sure the firmware was up to date, plugged it into my USB2 Adaptec card equipped Powermac G4 and then went to bed. When I got up to leave for work this morning I noticed that there was still "no large battery charging icon" in the center of the screen so then I ejected it, waited 20 sec plugged it back in, waited a few minutes and still NOTHING!!!!! Brought it to work with me and plugged it into one of our BRAND NEW Dual 2.3GHZ Powermac G5's USB2 ports and still NOTHING!!! It might in fact be receiving a charge to some degree but there is no LARGE battery icon to confirm that. One last thing this one came with a few fine scratches after I peeled the plastic off of it but NO dead pixels...really disapointed that I am already on my 2nd 5G iPod in the same week that might need to get replaced again. What do you guys think I should do (besides call Apple and get stuck on the phone for 2 hours?)

Posted by 520 Films in NYC on October 21, 2005 at 8:00 AM (PDT)

42

hoho, please stop with the caps.

To have firewire support you need to have a costly and clunky part inside the ipod. Most people don't use firewire, so it got left out in order to make the ipods thin.

USB2.0 is not that slow, the only people that suffer from this are the mac users who have no USB2.0 support. But it is for the greater good.

The top port I suspect I know why it was removed. Apple created a "made for ipod" program and upped the percentage they get from each accessory sold to 10%. (a market that is growing and worth hundreds of millions of dollars)

It's a business move that virtually guarantees they profit in a big way from the ipod economy they created.

Posted by webby on October 21, 2005 at 8:16 AM (PDT)

43

520 films,

milk it for all its worth

keep going back (although ist a pain) till you get a good one,

thats what i did with the 4G.

sooner or latter you'll get a good one.

(but keep it going in the replacment time period or you'll just get screwed)

P.S. dont bother with the phone

Posted by Apple_iPod on October 21, 2005 at 10:43 AM (PDT)

44

I happen to have a Zen Vision and I disagree with several of the review's comparisons. The 3.7 inch, 640 X 480 screen on the Zen, does not "shimmer" and is, in fact, far superior to the Apple's display. Try viewing a widescreen movie on the iPod vs. the Zen. The Zen also outputs up to 480i composite making video output to a TV screen far superior to the iPod. I've also connected the "tv out" (which is on the Zen unit itself, not the dock) to the "video in" on a portable DVD player and the display quality is excellent. The Zen acting as a high quality "video vault" is a very handy feature indeed.
Audio output is superior on the Zen. I've done very careful A-B comparisons using various models of Sennheisers. The Zen has an FM radio and, as mentioned, user-replaceable battery packs.
The one advantage of the IPod is a 60 GB hard disk, that part is true. The Zen has a very easy to use interface, though again, I'd give the scroll wheel interface on the iPod the edge on ease of use. If I would give a number rating, the iPod would come in at a 7 and the Zen would be an 8.

Posted by jimguy05 on October 21, 2005 at 12:28 PM (PDT)

45

No belt clip...

Posted by :3 on October 21, 2005 at 5:23 PM (PDT)

46

i like to snowboard/skateboard and ive been a lifetime apple user and i had a previous 20gb 4g when the lcd screen shatterd..it kindaf penetrated through..anyways..so i recently go a 4gb black nano and a week later the new ipod came out with videos...so what i might do is return the nano so that i can get the 30gb ipod for 30 bucks extra...that way i can watch all my video clips of me snowboarding on it...also i dont know if i should snowboard with it because i heard the ipod is like a hard drive and that if u shake it it skips so its not good for snowboarding IM CONFUSED WITH THAT! CAN I SNOWBOARD WITH MY NEW IPOD?
thankyou

Posted by snwbrdr on October 21, 2005 at 5:28 PM (PDT)

47

People keep saying the 3G came with way more accessories - keep in mind that it was also much more expensive? When I bought my 3G 20g it was over $600CAD (that was only 6 months before the 4G came out), when I bought my 4G 20g it was over $450CAD, and now the 5G 30g will cost me around $420CAD, which isn't too bad. I could've gotten a dock for $50 when I bought the 4g and $30 for a case and it'd still be cheaper than the 3g and I think those two accessories were the only difference.

Posted by cutehinano on October 21, 2005 at 5:28 PM (PDT)

48

@$20 Films

Um.... if its charging you should see a lightning bolt symbol on the battery in the top right corner. If you want to get the Big battery symbol. While the iPod is plugged in Just hold Play for a few secs to power down your ipod. Then the Large Icon should pop up.

Posted by s0ymilk on October 21, 2005 at 5:57 PM (PDT)

49

Enough with all the talk about video! smile How about more info on the photo side of things. If I have photos synced to a 4G iPod photo, will iTunes resample them from my iPhoto library up to the resolution of the 5G iPod? Or will the 5G just scale the photos up to it's screen resolution. More importantly, if I'm syncing both a 4G iPod photo and a 5G iPod (with video), will iTunes have to keep two versions of all my photos, or will one iPod have to scale the photos to display on the screen? If iTunes has to resample my iPhoto library every time I switch between the 4G and 5G that would really suck! Finally, 5G photos look better on the iPod's screen, but what about on a TV?

Posted by ender on October 21, 2005 at 8:56 PM (PDT)

50

Does the video out on the iPod to t.v. look good???
Does iTunes scale down video resolution for iPod viewing? Or do you have to do it manually?

Posted by sno_cat219 on October 21, 2005 at 10:04 PM (PDT)

51

wow..great review!

just a question..do you have to download videos from itunes or can you upload your own stuff?...i don't really get it.

thanks!
first time ipod user!

Posted by cube on October 21, 2005 at 10:37 PM (PDT)

52

Jeremy,

Good to see that some of the audio problems have been addressed.

What about stuttering though. As you probably known both the 2G mini and the Nano stutters badly when playing back problem tracks encoded with LAME VBR.

Does the 5G iPod STUTTER?

Posted by sehested in Denmark on October 22, 2005 at 12:20 AM (PDT)

53

Heh,
i was listening to the ilaunge ipod podcast- i think it is very critical and very reasonable!
yes you can use your stuff, i have 70 movies on my hard drive and i have used Xilisoft Video Converter to convert from normal video formats to Quiqe time.
i have ordered it and i am prepared for it with all my movies. i think the screen is not that small and it is very and i think it will be comfortable to use. If you think about it, if your really bored you will watch anything to keep you alive.
the resolution on the ipod is very packed, which is great its because it has around the same as a regular tv (not home sinima-lol).
also the cool new RAM card 64mb which is 2X as used to be 32mb. Which means will search faster and play videos without skipping and slow going.
i also think the flash memory speed has been also increased.

i ordered black 60GB - good luck with yours!

i trust the ipod i have the 15GB 3rd gen and i was using it for almost 2 and half years and never crashed!

Sorry for spelling mistakes I am not English.

Posted by arsenij on October 22, 2005 at 5:08 AM (PDT)

54

Great review hats off to jeremy
although the 5g ipod is great and all the battery life for videos really isnt that great and nor is the screen size for watching videos as far as watching movies goes im gonna stcik to my psp and psp video 9 conversion software its easy and affective the quality is great and its pretty portable i have a 2 hour bus ride home and i get to watch a movie on each ride it is the best past time if i dont feel like watching a movie then i pull out my burnout legends
im not really trying to bad mouth the ipod though its great i love my 30gb photo and i dont really see i point to upgrade it to the 5g ipod. to end this comment for video stick to the psp but for music ipod is the way to go

Posted by amad on October 22, 2005 at 11:12 PM (PDT)

55

Snwbrdr, yes you can snowboard with a 5G iPod, yes it has a hard drive, just as your old 20GB 4G iPod had a hard drive, so if you skated and snowboarded with that and never had any troubles, you should be fine. In theory, the hard drive does have the potential to skip, but it would have to be shaken/bashed constantly for a good 25-30 minutes, so it's not really ever going to happen. I ski with my 20GB 4G and have never had any problems, even when I've fallen on or close to where it is (would hate to stack on a rail onto my iPod though), but I always keep it in a case. Hope that answers your query.

Posted by Nuke666 in Melbourne, Austalia on October 22, 2005 at 11:19 PM (PDT)

56

Okay, help me out people...

I was very excited to get my 5G iPod two days ago, but I cannot get the thing to play video! I have not tried any of the videos iTunes had to offer; I have been using my own files converted with Total Video Converter which already had a "video iPod" setting for its conversions. It plays them *sometimes*, but rarely - it's very moody! Usually the screen just goes blank and after a minute it goes back to the menu, like, "Yeah, I know what you're telling me to do, but I don't feel like it - choose something else". It has only played two video files successfully, and will not play them again no matter how I beg and plead.

The comments here seem to be mostly from people who don't have the video iPod (yet), but if anybody does have one and has been playing their own converted files, I'd be interested to know if they had any problems. I kinda want to take this one back anyway - I wanted a black one but neither Best Buy or the Apple store had the 60gb in yet.

The files i'm trying to play are about 28-42 minutes long. The two files it did play successfully were about 35 minutes, while it would not play a 6-minute one. If that means anything. But I'm thinking if it played them once it should play them twice...

Thanks in advance for any help at all...

Posted by CountessCoolout on October 23, 2005 at 10:35 AM (PDT)

57

I am using Itunes at the moment to manage my music files and playlists which I got together with Quicktime 7 and I think its a great program!!.

I do not have an Ipod and will be planning to get the Ipod(5g) soon. So when I do get the Ipod must I uninstall itunes and install everything from the cd that comes with the ipod package or can I just install the ipod drivers and then sync my ipod straight to the version of itunes that I got with Quicktime 7?

Please someone reply for I do not want to lose all my playlists and the songs which I have renamed in itunes. Thanks alot.

Posted by breakdown090447500 on October 23, 2005 at 7:20 PM (PDT)

58

As I recall, this is not intended to be "the" video iPod. Sure it has video capabilities, but Apple never intended this iPod to be a fully working video iPod. Besides why complain, it has support for one of the best codecs, which create's great resolution and small file size's.

Posted by Clowdx on October 23, 2005 at 10:51 PM (PDT)

59

>get ANGRY, REALLY ANGRY!!! THEY TOOK OUT
>TOP-MOUNTING ACCESSORY PORT SO YOU CANT CHARGE
>WHILE YOU HAVE YOUR iTRIP ON THE IPOD!!!

Not true. The new iTrip for doc connector has a mini-USB port that can be used for charging at the same time.

Posted by Countach on October 23, 2005 at 11:50 PM (PDT)

60

Good review, balanced and informative. One slight correction though, the Belkin Digital Camera Link doesn't use Firewire, it Hosts the iPods via USB 1.1. We don't know what changes were made in the 5G to remove this compatibility.

http://www.infinitedatastorage.com/products02.cfm?itemID=19

Posted by Doog_K on October 24, 2005 at 4:12 AM (PDT)

Page 3 of 7 pages  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.