Apple Computer iPod nano Tubes | iLounge

Reviews

1

The bottom needs to be open for use with the lanyard earphones. And the lanyard earphones are (IMHO) an essential item for the nano.

Posted by Countach on October 24, 2005 at 11:55 PM (PDT)

2

A bottom flap could have accomplished that.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on October 27, 2005 at 1:14 PM (PDT)

3

i usually agree with the reviews iLounge comes up with - but this one was WAY off the mark. I have had many ipods and many ipod cases. This is BY FAR the best one I have ever had. The feel of the rubber is excellent. The click wheel coverage is PERFECT. You say it's negative because there is no screen protector? Apple ships the nano with a full-cover plastic screen protector - just cut it off at the screen and leave the top piece on the screen! Thats what I did. Also you say the bottom ports aren't covered and thats why you rate it low. There is silicon that extends past the bottom of the nano - the only way to scratch the bottom part is to actually stick something in there. The isn't even much to do damage to on the bottom anyways.

I thought this review was good, but the reasons for a B+ are very poor. I'm not just an apple lover here - but these things are the best case for an iPod I have ever seen

Posted by iluvthsgam on October 31, 2005 at 10:45 AM (PDT)

4

Totally agree with iluvethsgam... a bottom flap would be pointless.

So if there was a bottom flap it could only be closed when nothing is plugged in - therefore you'd assume most of the time that the ipod wouldn't be in use right?. Real handy to have the bottom nice and protected when its not in use sitting on a desk or whereever, unless of course you prefer to rest your ipod on an upright fork!

A great product with a nice variety of colours to suit the majority of people's tastes.

Posted by Ben Stevy on November 4, 2005 at 6:00 AM (PDT)

5

My nano has the covers from boxwave, which are pretty much excellent. For christmas today I got the ipod nano tubes, which when paired with the protectors, are absolutely awesome. excellent protection. totally good looking. feels wonderful. doesnt get scratched, dusty, etc. its beautiful. I can see how without a similar type clear protector -which I highly recommend- it wouldnt do very good protecting it, esp. the screen. but WITH it, well, theyre perfect together. with this type of pairing in mind I give it an A++

Posted by ask on December 25, 2005 at 12:53 PM (PDT)

6

uhm iluvthsgam ...

You are entitled to your opinion, but, you are wrong.

i usually agree with the reviews iLounge comes up with - but this one was WAY off the mark. I have had many ipods and many ipod cases.
yeah, iLounge has reviewed several hundred cases and every iPod that has ever existed ...

You say it’s negative because there is no screen protector? Apple ships the nano with a full-cover plastic screen protector - just cut it off at the screen and leave the top piece on the screen!
Apple does not ship the nano with a screen protector. It ships it with a plastic slip case to prevent damage through postage and handling, like almost every other piece of electronics ... it is not a screen protector, so don't just cut it off.

Thats what I did.
Props to you champ.

Also you say the bottom ports aren’t covered and thats why you rate it low. There is silicon that extends past the bottom of the nano - the only way to scratch the bottom part is to actually stick something in there. The isn’t even much to do damage to on the bottom anyways.
Are you kidding?! Nothing to scratch? Well, if you haven't noticed, the only way to get information into the nano is by the dock connector ... which is on the bottom. Even dust can get in there and corrupt it, which is one of the reasons Apple previously shipped iPods with dock connector plugs ... also if anything gets crammed in the headphone port .. bye bye music.

I thought this review was good, but the reasons for a B+ are very poor. I’m not just an apple lover here - but these things are the best case for an iPod I have ever seen
Thanks for your input, but ... you dont really have any facts to back up your 'best case' claim, except for your opinion and your experience, which in this case seem rather limited.

Posted by freddyg on December 29, 2005 at 11:02 PM (PDT)

7

This is a brillinat protector for the nano. Classy (as expected from Apple), functional and feels perfect. A bottom protector would have been a pain and corrcetly Apple left the lower part open.

Posted by medic on January 1, 2006 at 1:30 AM (PDT)

8

It definitely needs a screen protector. This is the critical portion of the iPod that, if scratched, affects the functionality of the device. There are different solutions, I just used the transparent plastic sticker that is placed on the front face of the iPod; not the Do Not Copy Music packaging. I have not cut off the small tab used to ease the removal of the sticker. Another alternative is to use saran wrap. You can easily apply it flush with the nano screen so there are no air bubbles or wrinkles. However, it needs to be replaced every week and has some glare in sunlight. I do not blame who ever ignored the fact that the bottom of the nano is exposed. I think a silicon flap would be annoyance for the headphone jack whereas; a flap for the dock connector port would make sense. I believe the main reason it is exposed is to use Apple’s lanyard headphone accessories. The hold switch protector is a wonderful idea though; I have heard stories of it ripping after constant use and long nails. The click-wheel cover is the best advantage over other cases. The indentations remind me of my late 3rd generation iPod’s touch-wheel. Priced at $30 for five colorful silicon cases, the nano tubes are a reasonable buy. If you are worried about the bottom you can get an iSkin Duo for the nano (comes with screen protector) however, it will add about 1 mm of bulk to the nano. If you do not like silicon cases because of the strong attraction to lint and dust, you could look into flip cases such as Belkin, Incase’s Neoprene Sleeve, or hard cases such as Agent 18 Shield. These all have their pros and cons. The choice is really up to the consumer.

Posted by Nishiaro on April 20, 2006 at 9:15 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.