Apple Computer iPod Radio Remote | iLounge

Reviews

41

I have a question, does the radio remote work with phones? Such as the Moto-SLVR

Posted by rissa on April 22, 2006 at 11:03 AM (PDT)

42

i bought this product for my 1.5 year old 20G iPod. i updated to the lastest iPod software but still cannot get "Radio" to show up on any of the menus and so cannot get the FM tuner to work. any suggestions?

Posted by ipodQ on June 4, 2006 at 4:17 PM (PDT)

43

ipodQ you live in a dream - this is not for a 4G iPod (you didn't read the review?!

You can hear from both the original headphone jack nad the remote one (both music and radio)

Posted by LinkTree in IL on June 23, 2006 at 7:16 AM (PDT)

44

I've had two of these things die on me.

In both cases the radio stopped appearing in my menu and the remote stopped functioning except for the volume control, which completely overrode the iPod's own volume control.

I held onto my first one longer and the speakers started cutting out as well.

Pretty awful failure rate so far. The two Geniuses I dealt with on these have each had only one unit come back.

Anyone else had/ heard of these problems?

Posted by jwdoom on September 30, 2006 at 11:45 PM (PDT)

45

i just bought one today and i can't believe the quality. i think it was designed to work in the U.S. because in my basement it gets stations that are fuzzy upstairs clearly.

Posted by anti-luddite on October 20, 2006 at 7:59 PM (PDT)

46

What about the RDS display problem? Is someone going to fix it?

When I first bought the radio control, the Ipod version was on 1.0 and now is on 1.3!
The problem still remains. I live in Europe and I want to choose the way I see RDS Messages (without the need to change it to "USA").

Posted by RadioDJ105 on November 7, 2006 at 7:34 AM (PDT)

47

Let me describe to you, for one moe time where the problem is...


First as you all know, when you connect the radio remote, it let’s you choose between the next three...
1.Europe. When you can receive between 87.5 and 108)
2.America. When you can receive between 87,5 and 107.9 but only in steps of 200 KHz (for example 97.7=> 97.9=> 98.1 etc).
3.Japan. Where you can receive between 76.0 and 89.9 MHz.

In Greece, I own an RDS encoder (in my radio station) and I’ve noticed that the RDS is not working well (on my I-pod).

Here I will explain to you, what exactly happens. First I must say to you that I personally programmed the RDS Encoder I own. This RDS encoder allows me to send two messages on the radio of our listeners. The first one, is a message that all the receives can see! The second one is called “Radio Text” and only some receivers can “see” it. This second message (the “radio text”) is always a scrolled message.

Look here what happens with my I-pod!

1. When I choose “Europe” as my location, I can receive my radio station. I can also receive the Rds message. The problem I have, is that I ONLY RECEIVE the “Radio Text” message that my encoder sends to the receivers. Of course this message is scrolled in the display of my I-pod. In Greece, this message is not the desired message that most radio station transmit
2. When I choose “America” as my location, I can receive my radio station (thank God, we transmit on 97.9 and not at 98.0 MHz), and I can see on the display the "first message" as it should be. This is the message that all the listeners can see and this is the type of RDS message, that all the Greeks radios transmit!

What I suggest to the program team for the next software update is to let the user determine about the “area system of the RDS”. In other words... Here in Greece, we use (mostly) the same protocol as they use in the States. With the only diferrence that here the radios don't transmit only on "odd" numbers of frequencies...

Posted by RadioDJ105 on November 7, 2006 at 7:49 AM (PDT)

48

1. Does anyone know if the Griffin iFM (white/silver w/o the dock connector) could be modified for use as a standalone FM receiver? I realize that part of the mod would have to be getting dc power to it. Anybody know what would be necessary and how to connect it up?

Posted by eevery on February 11, 2007 at 1:11 PM (PDT)

49

I loved this when I first got it but I ended up with the same problem as JWdoom above -- The radio gradually stopped showing up on the menu. At first it would work about half the time if I reset the ipod and plugged the radio remote back in but it eventually stopped working alltogether. Is it crazy to expect a $50 accessory to last more than a few months?

Posted by karaweav on May 18, 2007 at 1:15 PM (PDT)

Page 3 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.